Customer Reviews for

Emergency Laughter

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good times!

I have a Doctor, Nurse, and Special Forces medic in my family and I remember sitting across from them, laughing until I cried at the stories they had to tell us. Reading this book was like bringing all those good times back. The author retells these situations with the ...
I have a Doctor, Nurse, and Special Forces medic in my family and I remember sitting across from them, laughing until I cried at the stories they had to tell us. Reading this book was like bringing all those good times back. The author retells these situations with the right mixture of snark and good humor to make this a seriously *laugh out loud* read. If you need a laugh, you can't go wrong with this one!

posted by peacedanceCR on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Extremely crude language

The first chapter of this book was rather humorous, but by the third or fourth chapter, the cussing was so heavy I stopped reading.

posted by 10484133 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Extremely crude language

    The first chapter of this book was rather humorous, but by the third or fourth chapter, the cussing was so heavy I stopped reading.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I've been in the EMS field for 34 years and this book was a wonderful read!!! I laughed at so many of the stories. It reminded me of some of the antics done by myself and crew members. If you are involved in any type of emergency medical care this is a MUST read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good times!

    I have a Doctor, Nurse, and Special Forces medic in my family and I remember sitting across from them, laughing until I cried at the stories they had to tell us. Reading this book was like bringing all those good times back. The author retells these situations with the right mixture of snark and good humor to make this a seriously *laugh out loud* read. If you need a laugh, you can't go wrong with this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Atom

    I

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Entertaining

    Had me laughing out loud. Non medical members of the family didn't get the humor, but as an RN I could relate to the tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    so true!

    this had me laughing so hard!! I work in an ER and he got it right!! If you can relate to emergency medicine, you will find this extremely funny! If not, you might be a bit shocked!! A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend - Medical professionals or not!

    Cyra demonstrates years of experience in the field of Emergency Medicine. As with many who work extended periods in such a field, he has acquired a sort of 'morbid' humor.

    A clever and witty writer Cyra conveys details clearly and in such a way as to make you feel like you were right there with him; experiencing his highs and lows of everyday life of Emergency Medicine.

    I don't think I have laughed quite so hard, and so consistently, while reading a book in a long, long time. Being a member of the Medical community myself, and having worked in hospitals, I can appreciate certain stories more than most. "Chest Tube Blow Darts" had me crying and cramping from laughter, much to the dismay of my peers who were unfortunate enough to witness me convulsing in fits of giggles in our break room after a LONG, trying, and somewhat delirious night shift...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Belly laugh funny

    Okay, perhaps you need to be slightly warped and be able to see the wild humor in accidents, human foibles and all body functions. I found this book left me giggling in my chair or loudly laughing. True stories with a little creative license by an expert in emergency medicine, and given the initial caveat, an enormously fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Interesting...

    but not as funny as I'd hoped.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Loved it!

    This is a terrific read! Very funny stories. Its a guarenteed laugh out loud book. I nope there will be an Emergency Laughter II.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Great read

    Best book i've read in a long time! Is a sequel in the works?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    FANTASTIC READ!

    Loved this book! As an EMT or really anyone who works in any of the emergency services, I was able to picture each and every scene as I read it. What makes this book so hilariously good is that at some point in your career you can relate to each and everyone thing that happens in this book. One of the best books that I have read in a long time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    I LOVED IT!

    MIKE'S writing style reflects his insight into the intricacies of working in the healthcare profession. As a healthcare worker myself I found myself chuckling at first.....then outright laughing. I LOVE THIS BOOK! I brought it to work to share with my peers. Can't wait for more work from this author! CHARMAYNE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Meghan

    Im sooo happy for u!! Thats great!!:):):):):):):):):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Book has lousy humor

    As a nurse practitioner of trauma, his humor is not funny. I have better war stories of ER patients & staff than he could ever imagine, minus the foul language.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1