BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Emily, Alone

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and insightful

This book was slow because it puts you squarely in the mind of a middle class aging woman. I was especially moved that a male author could capture this phase of motherhood with such insight and compassion. If your parents are 70+ this will give you insights and leave yo...
This book was slow because it puts you squarely in the mind of a middle class aging woman. I was especially moved that a male author could capture this phase of motherhood with such insight and compassion. If your parents are 70+ this will give you insights and leave you uncomfortable but appreciative.

posted by Ched23 on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother!

This was one of the most boring books that I've ever read. Totally mundane. I kept waiting
for the story to get better...go somewhere...do something....nothing...all the way to the end. The only joy I got from it was from the last page because it was finished. I bough...
This was one of the most boring books that I've ever read. Totally mundane. I kept waiting
for the story to get better...go somewhere...do something....nothing...all the way to the end. The only joy I got from it was from the last page because it was finished. I bought the book in Nook form but had I borrowed it from the library or from a friend I never would have continued reading this dribble. Waste of time and money

posted by jfo24 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Quiet, lovely, poignant

    If you like books with hard-driving forward motion, this one isn't for you. But if you find a lot of contemporary fiction thin and too clever by far, and long for a quiet, careful work of literature that resonates with tenderness toward humanity, you will probably enjoy Emily, Alone. Emily Maxwell is 80 and lives alone in Pittsburgh with her aging dog, Rufus, in the house she once shared with her late husband. She's thoughtful, reflective, very much a creature of habit; enjoys listening to classical music on the radio; and has given up driving due to fear. But a small, unexpected event causes Emily to broaden her horizons just a tiny bit, when that had seemed impossible. She's a fully-fledged, sympathetic character, and I loved this rich, slow-moving book. Reading it was like lingering in a warm bath.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Beautiful and insightful

    This book was slow because it puts you squarely in the mind of a middle class aging woman. I was especially moved that a male author could capture this phase of motherhood with such insight and compassion. If your parents are 70+ this will give you insights and leave you uncomfortable but appreciative.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Don't bother!

    This was one of the most boring books that I've ever read. Totally mundane. I kept waiting
    for the story to get better...go somewhere...do something....nothing...all the way to the end. The only joy I got from it was from the last page because it was finished. I bought the book in Nook form but had I borrowed it from the library or from a friend I never would have continued reading this dribble. Waste of time and money

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    loved it.....mostly

    on one hand.... this is a GREAT book. On the other hand, the ending left me wanting something...just don't know what.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    One of my favorite books ever. Why? Because he captures the ev

    One of my favorite books ever. Why? Because he captures the every day life and family interactions of aging Emily and her family so sweetly, poignantly and realistically. My only disappointment was when the book ended. Still hoping for one more about Emily. She reminds me of my own mother and the insights into growing older are amazing. I recommend this book whenever possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How is it that O’Nan can center an entire book around norm

    How is it that O’Nan can center an entire book around normal, day-to-day activities and still make it thought-provoking, poignant and interesting to read? Seriously, the man amazes me. This is absolutely a “quiet” sort of book. There are no huge plot points to shake things up but there is humor, genuine angst and a fondness for these characters that is surprising as much as it is welcoming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved It!

    This is an easy-read and an uplifting novel about a time of life that's often ignored by many authors. The characters are appealing and realistic and I enjoyed the book. I've ordered more of Stewart Nan's novels on the basis of this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Wonderful Character Study

    O'Nan is a master of showing how even everyday events help to define an individual. He creates in Emily a fascinating character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    There is no "sample"...

    There is no "sample" to read, only leading pages. Disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Wc

    I start to kick my legs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Greykit

    Sprint out of a rabbit hole and runs down into another one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Snow

    She knocks Lionkit out, then brings Lionkit back to Bloodclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Clawkit

    Yes you are right. I will help. They may think im still one of them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Caramelkit

    "Greykit and my side. Were rescuing kits." I say quietly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Stealth

    Pads in and grabs Shinekit and Caramelkit by the scruff an pads briskly to 'blood kill' res 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Shinekit

    Musthave been falsr info

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Dawnkit to all

    Read what I said at blood kill result 20! It's important!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Spiritkit, bramblekit

    Spiritkit heads back to her home with bramblekit and lionkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Lionkit

    He nods and heads into the dark, interconnecting hole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Nightpelt

    She went faster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3