Customer Reviews for

Emily Ever After

Average Rating 3
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Loved it!

    This book made me laugh so much I had to stop and explain why I was laughing. I am not much of a reader but this book kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    So metaphor my life

    Growing up in a small town population 1,500 and the moving away to New Orleans. I could relate to this book. The situations were exactly how I felt. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book. I was sucked into the life of Emily Hinton the second i started to read it. It is romantic comical and inspiring. I think the autors did a great job and i can't wait to read thier other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    I loved it!

    Okay, this book probably isn't what most people would except after looking at the cover, which is a ditzy chiclit. And while that may upset some people, it totally excited me! Being Christian, I found myself being able to relate in many ways to emily, and not just because we have the same name. I just couldn't put it down, it is such a feel good book, funny, exciting, inspiring, and I LOVED it! I would recommend this to any girl who is looking for a sweet book and a funny character to wish was real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    We need more books like this!

    I picked up this book thinking: I could use an air-headed book about starting out in the work world. What I got was much more!!! I am so pleased that these women were able to write a book about what it means to be a Christian in the real world -- all the pressures and difficulties trying to figure out where the balance lies. It's not Dickens, but it's wonderful for it's genre. Us single Christian working-girls could use a lot more books like this on the market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Great Great Great!

    I would recommend this book to anyone. I loved it! Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I finally went to bed at 4 in the morning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    I LOVED THIS CHICK LIT AND EMILY TOO!!!!

    I cannot understand how anyone could not fall in love with Emily our sharp witted and 'quirky' heroine from the first. I loved the way she 'lived' and 'showed' her morals and Christianity by being who she was and not a phoney in any way. She comes up against some tough situations for anyone to face and in the end she ties her life together as an extreme growth in character and morals lead her to make some super decisions and life changes. I loved this book and could not put it down!!1 I highly recommend it to everyone. Christian and non alike! I read it in two and a half days! So? Keep your calendar open!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing contemporary tale

    Her Uncle Matthew obtains Emily Hinton a job as assistant to a long time friend Bennett, a publisher at Morrow and Sons, a highly regarded Manhattan publishing firm. Though her parents are concerned that their daughter is moving to the capital of glitz, an excited Emily relocates from Jenks, California (near San Diego)............... In New York, Emily tussles with the looser lifestyle as emulated by her roommate, her boss and her peers at the company. She finds some solace when she works at her Uncle¿s soup kitchen, but notices how his partner Josie loves him though Matthew is unaware of her feelings. Emily struggles between what she believes is right and the hedonistic fun of her new friends and city until she must take a moral stand on a book¿s content knowing it will cost her a job she treasures if she doe. Will Emily do what she believes is the right thing or will she remain silent as a lamb?.................... EMILY AFTER EVER is an intriguing contemporary tale starring a delightful protagonist struggling with the materialistic and often cynical assault on her spiritual beliefs. Emily is a terrific character who originally goes along to belong, but soon has doubts as she is uncomfortable with not being herself. Though her final stand turns too easily as black and white in spite of a revelation about the married Bennett and his ¿girlfriend¿ readers will admire Emily¿s courage to adhering to her beliefs rather than pretending all is well............ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1