Customer Reviews for

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep (Emily Windsnap Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

If you like fantasy/adventure books that you can barely put down and keep you on the edge of your seat then I recommend that you read this article and then read this book. I pretty sure that you'll fall in love with this series like me.

This book was extremly good. It was excitning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The words were very descriptive and left a clear image in my mind. It was one of those books that you want to own so you can read it again and again. I liked that the characters seemed rea...
This book was extremly good. It was excitning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The words were very descriptive and left a clear image in my mind. It was one of those books that you want to own so you can read it again and again. I liked that the characters seemed real (minus there magical powers of course) but you could really feel strongly towards the characters. This is definatly a "read for fun" book, unless moral lessons were trying to be taught. Another reason I like this book was because of the detail. It was just a perfect blend. There wasn't to much detail so that you got destracted from what was happening by long, detailed descriptions. I would say that anyone can read this book as long as they like fantasy and wouldn't mind reading the first book in the series. Thanks for reading this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Catlover101 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

O.K......................

The first Emily Windsnap book was awsome! So of course I just had to read this one. It was all right. I like that Emily gets captured it shows that the world of mermaids can be dangerous. It was hard to get through.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like fantasy/adventure books that you can barely put down and keep you on the edge of your seat then I recommend that you read this article and then read this book. I pretty sure that you'll fall in love with this series like me.

    This book was extremly good. It was excitning and kept me on the edge of my seat. The words were very descriptive and left a clear image in my mind. It was one of those books that you want to own so you can read it again and again. I liked that the characters seemed real (minus there magical powers of course) but you could really feel strongly towards the characters. This is definatly a "read for fun" book, unless moral lessons were trying to be taught. Another reason I like this book was because of the detail. It was just a perfect blend. There wasn't to much detail so that you got destracted from what was happening by long, detailed descriptions. I would say that anyone can read this book as long as they like fantasy and wouldn't mind reading the first book in the series. Thanks for reading this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Emily acrotstic poem

    E nchanting
    M any exiting parts
    I nteresting
    L ovely
    Y es there are more books

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Swishy

    This was an awsome Sequal! I loved how she brought back a familiar character and the reminded dangers of being a mermaid. I also loved the setting!

    20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Looking for a GREAT book?

    By:Angela Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep is about a girl named Emily who moves with her father and mother to the Bermuda triangle were she can hide her secret life. Her secret life is that she is half human and half mermaid! One day when Emily goes see her best friend Shona, Emily notices Shona with other friends. Emily then thinks that Shona does not want to be her best friend anymore Then Emily tries to fit in by doing something dangerous! This ends up getting the whole area around her in trouble! The real problem is that Emily can not fix this problem until she deals with the conflict with herself and her friend Shona! When she tries to deal with the conflict she gets stopped by someone she hoped to never see ever again. To add on to that Emily is also very worried that this person that she never wanted to see again will do something absolutely horrible to her! The author describes the book with two literary elements which are character and conflict. One example of character is when the author wrote in the book, ¿Sometimes I¿m a mermaid sometimes I¿m a girl.¿ This quote explains how her character looks. From this quote, the author describes Emily as a mermaid when in water, and a human when on land! In this book the quote will be found on page 9. Another example of character from the book is, ¿Then I turned to Shona and smiled.¿ When someone first reads these quotes they can tell that Emily is a cheerful person! They can especially tell this from this quote which is on page 218! The second literary element is conflict. The first conflict from the story is person vs. society. The quote for this is, ¿I swam frantically though the dark tunnels.¿ This is person vs. society because she would not be swimming if the people all around her were not mad at her! This quote is on page 93. The next conflict is person vs. person. This quote is ¿No! Dad, they¿ll want to know everything. They¿ll make you tell them it was all my fault!¿ This is a person vs. person because they¿re both mad at each other! The pervious quote can be found on page 109. Character and conflict are the two elements the author expresses most in the story! The book Emily Windsanp and the Monster from the Deep was a fantastic book! I love this book not only because it is fiction, but because it is a page turning novel! Also you get to hear two points of view of the story! In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this book from ages 7-13!

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Great Reads

    This was very fun for me to read!! I reccomend it to all girls who are in for an exciting adventure in the ocean. This may be a fantasy, but it felt as if you were there!!Definitly consider this book!!!! Also try to read The Tail of Emily Windsnap!!! They were both great!!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Best book ever

    I was in my reading class and I started to read this book and
    My class was correcting papers and I didn't know because I was so fascinated and and in love with the book that I didn't relise what we were doing!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    I loved it

    It's a great fictional story for ages 10 -12. It keeps you engaged and on the edge. READ it it's a fun cool book!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    O.K......................

    The first Emily Windsnap book was awsome! So of course I just had to read this one. It was all right. I like that Emily gets captured it shows that the world of mermaids can be dangerous. It was hard to get through.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    This is a great book for reading assignments.

    Assigned reading for every night during the week. This book is excellent for that. A twelve year old girl finds out she's half mermaid and embarks on an adventure to find her merman father. He is locked away in an underwater prison for marrying a human. She learns alot about herself, and how brave she is along the way.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    cowgirl

    i love the emily windsnap series

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    AMAZING

    This book is the kind of oh-my-gosh-i-love-this-and-i-cant-put-it-down type of book. If you like fantasys this really is the book that you should read. And I LOVE the covers of liz kessler's book. theyre amazing

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Mermaids rock

    Does anyone wish they were a mermaid?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Emily winsnap books are awesome

    I absolutly LOVE this book!!! Its so exiting. If your bored or something read this book. This is pretty much all ages. Exept if you dont like mermaids, dont read this book. I read untill i fell asleep because i couldnt wait to see what happened.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    BEST.BOOK.EVER

    Before i read this i thought most of the books about mermaids were all dumb and childish, but tnis series is truely AMAZING!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Hello

    This book was really enyertaining i couldnt stop reading it!!! I loved this book.



    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Best book ever

    I love to read the series! I've read this one twice! It is very suspencing i couldn't put it done

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Good book

    Awsome book

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    THE BEST BOOK

    I read the firs book, and i loved all of it, i have not read this one though but i plan to. I pan to read the whold series. If you are looking for a good book to rea, and are a girl, because this is about mermaids, anyways, if you need a good book to read, READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Coolest book ever@#$%&!

    I love this book I so crazy I belive in mermaids@#$%&*!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    G

    In the 1st book the dads name is jake in the 2 nd its jack

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 248 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13