Customer Reviews for

Emily and Einstein

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very well written and beautifully paced!

Review by Kate:
For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for t...
Review by Kate:
For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for this story would give it away, I think. If you have read any of the other reviews, you will know what happens (but I won't be the one to tell you!).

I loved Linda Francis Lee's Devil in the Junior League and found it hilarious! This story, however, is a little bit different. It is more poignant, a little sadder, but with a happy ending. Emily is widowed only after four years of marriage. She is devastated, as she thought she had the perfect marriage. However, it turned out the night that her husband was killed in a freak accident on the streets of New York, that he was on his way to divorce her. Emily had no idea that the situation was at this point.the separation.

In her grief, she rescues a dog whom she calls Einstein. There are some very funny antics with Einstein (like the box of Lucky Charms), plus Einstein has issues of his own. He is trying to make sure that Emily moves on in her life, but it is rather difficult for him to do as he is in a dog's body.

Emily works in publishing and has an immediate supervisor who is out only for herself, to include taking credit for Emily's latest find in the book world. Throw on top of this Emily's younger, and flighty, sister who comes to stay with Emily after her husband dies. Her sister needs money, so she tries to convince Emily to buy her book that she is writing on their 'famous' mother, Lillian Barlow, a feminist.

Emily is doing all she can to hold her life together. She is trying not to get sacked at work when they bring in a new president who is known for turning failing businesses around. She is trying to keep her apartment that her husband promised her, but has to fit his mother and lawyer to try to keep it. Emily is also trying to figure out what to do with her younger sister, who seems to want to do anything but write the book she proposed in the first place. Did I mention the hot Navy SEAL who lives upstairs?

This is a story of loss, finding oneself, helping others, a snobbish dog with weird tastes in music, and running a marathon. It was very well written and beautifully paced. There are several twists to the story, as it is written alternately from Emily's and Einstein's view point. Read it, before it's too late! Read it, and learn their story!

Quote: "It is regret that kills, the 'if onlys' that leave the mortal wounds.

In order to live a life truly worth living you had to have strength in the face of adversity, patience when confronted with challenge, and bravery in the face of fear."

posted by RtBBlog on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you are looking for something different....

Quirky little book. I enjoyed it very much. Enjoyable light read. I recommend it!

posted by JudeEwill on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Loved this book

    A book you can read to yourself to to others. Love, loss, and adoption of a dog. Yes, I had tears at the end, but it is a good end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Wonderful Heartwarming Story

    This was a very heartwarming story, although a little unbelievable at times. The characters were complex and meshed well with the story line and each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    A bit sacrine

    This book was a pleasant if predictable read but pretty sacrine. If you just need a diversion it will do but don't expect to learn much about dogs or anything else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I really loved this story.

    Such wonderful, complicated characters that you can really fall in love with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I loved it.

    If you are a believer/wonderer this is a fun read. Life explained by human and if animals could talk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    I¿m enjoying this book very much. Emily deserves so much more th

    I’m enjoying this book very much. Emily deserves so much more than she has ever received. Sandy deserves so much less, he’s so totally selfish and self-centered in both his existences.
    There are a host of secondary characters that are quite unlikeable, but you can appreciate them for their utter nastiness.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Wonderful

    I loved this book! It' a story about all levels of love & forgiveness. It pulls you into the complexities of love between all the characters in this story. It makes you laugh, cry, feel angry and annoyed, especially at one of the characters. Also I'm a sucker when a dog is involved . Einstein, the dog is snarky & snippy, but emily rescues & loves him anyway, which is a relflection of how emily deals with the devestation in her life & the people she loves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    wow!!!

    Read this in one day, what a great find. Keep the tissues handy as you get to the end...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    I read this book a couple of years ago.  I'm pretty sure I picke

    I read this book a couple of years ago.  I'm pretty sure I picked it up because I am a dog person and loved the cover.  I know, it's not the best way to select reading material, but I'm a sucker for dogs.  This book was hard to put down.  Keep a kleenex handy, too, because some of the insight Emily shares is quite poignant.  Add, of course, to the mix, Einstein and magic is born.  Enjoy this book, people.  A great beach read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Arguet

    ((Yes. Go to "settings", then "social", then "link to facebook twitter and google", then hit "link your account" for google, then hit "need help?", then go to the bottom and tap "google home". If you tap a link and nothing happens, just swipe from the upper-right hand corner to the bottom-left hand corner.)) <br>
    <p>
    He was silent a few moments, thinking. "I think we should wait a little." He said finally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Get a free ticket to Disneyland right now!

    Kiss your foot, tell it "I love you" post this to five other books, then look under your pillow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Very touching and raw story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Reincarnation is not an acceptable belief of my religion

    Nor am i fond of fantasy/paranormal. I think an honest blurb giving genre and combos and age suitable pagecount and if reader sensitive as to language violence and sex would be more honest to its customers and to the authors the publishers seem to be without any respect for the buyer in their blurbs if a fast food would be a twinkie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I loved this!

    Laughed and cried!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    awesome

    This was a wonderful and meaningful read. Highly recimmend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I absolutely loved this book, the beginning was a bit confusing determining what was going on but after the 1st chapter I couldn't put the book down. I would definitely recommend this book, especially for book clubs, there's so much to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Such a fun book!

    This is such a fun book to read. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I thought this book was GREAT!  It was easy to read and easy to

    I thought this book was GREAT!  It was easy to read and easy to follow.  It was touching and entertaining.  
    This was the first book I have read from Linda Francis Lee, and I must say that I am happy that I gave her a shot.  
    Give this one a try!  You will not be disappointed!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Better Than I Expected

    After losing her husband, NYC editor Emily Portman loses herself. She tries to bury herself in her work, but finds herself behind on deadlines and at a loss for new ideas. The accidental discovery that her life with her husband, Sandy, was a lie causes Emily to turn to her newly adopted pet for comfort and strength.

    Increasing calls from her in-laws lawyer, the threat of losing of her apartment, and a surprise visit from her irresponsible little sister further complicate Emily's days, and the ruggedly handsome new neighbor muddies her thoughts. And while Emily can't quite put her finger on it, there is definitely something weird going on with her dog, Einstein.

    This book was nothing like what I was expecting, and I'm glad. This was a fresh take on learning to love and trust and I'm glad I took the risk.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Emily and Einstien

    Great book to read to inspire, lift your spirits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8