Customer Reviews for

Emily and Einstein

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very well written and beautifully paced!

Review by Kate:
For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for t...
Review by Kate:
For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for this story would give it away, I think. If you have read any of the other reviews, you will know what happens (but I won't be the one to tell you!).

I loved Linda Francis Lee's Devil in the Junior League and found it hilarious! This story, however, is a little bit different. It is more poignant, a little sadder, but with a happy ending. Emily is widowed only after four years of marriage. She is devastated, as she thought she had the perfect marriage. However, it turned out the night that her husband was killed in a freak accident on the streets of New York, that he was on his way to divorce her. Emily had no idea that the situation was at this point.the separation.

In her grief, she rescues a dog whom she calls Einstein. There are some very funny antics with Einstein (like the box of Lucky Charms), plus Einstein has issues of his own. He is trying to make sure that Emily moves on in her life, but it is rather difficult for him to do as he is in a dog's body.

Emily works in publishing and has an immediate supervisor who is out only for herself, to include taking credit for Emily's latest find in the book world. Throw on top of this Emily's younger, and flighty, sister who comes to stay with Emily after her husband dies. Her sister needs money, so she tries to convince Emily to buy her book that she is writing on their 'famous' mother, Lillian Barlow, a feminist.

Emily is doing all she can to hold her life together. She is trying not to get sacked at work when they bring in a new president who is known for turning failing businesses around. She is trying to keep her apartment that her husband promised her, but has to fit his mother and lawyer to try to keep it. Emily is also trying to figure out what to do with her younger sister, who seems to want to do anything but write the book she proposed in the first place. Did I mention the hot Navy SEAL who lives upstairs?

This is a story of loss, finding oneself, helping others, a snobbish dog with weird tastes in music, and running a marathon. It was very well written and beautifully paced. There are several twists to the story, as it is written alternately from Emily's and Einstein's view point. Read it, before it's too late! Read it, and learn their story!

Quote: "It is regret that kills, the 'if onlys' that leave the mortal wounds.

In order to live a life truly worth living you had to have strength in the face of adversity, patience when confronted with challenge, and bravery in the face of fear."

posted by RtBBlog on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you are looking for something different....

Quirky little book. I enjoyed it very much. Enjoyable light read. I recommend it!

posted by JudeEwill on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very well written and beautifully paced!

    Review by Kate:
    For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for this story would give it away, I think. If you have read any of the other reviews, you will know what happens (but I won't be the one to tell you!).

    I loved Linda Francis Lee's Devil in the Junior League and found it hilarious! This story, however, is a little bit different. It is more poignant, a little sadder, but with a happy ending. Emily is widowed only after four years of marriage. She is devastated, as she thought she had the perfect marriage. However, it turned out the night that her husband was killed in a freak accident on the streets of New York, that he was on his way to divorce her. Emily had no idea that the situation was at this point.the separation.

    In her grief, she rescues a dog whom she calls Einstein. There are some very funny antics with Einstein (like the box of Lucky Charms), plus Einstein has issues of his own. He is trying to make sure that Emily moves on in her life, but it is rather difficult for him to do as he is in a dog's body.

    Emily works in publishing and has an immediate supervisor who is out only for herself, to include taking credit for Emily's latest find in the book world. Throw on top of this Emily's younger, and flighty, sister who comes to stay with Emily after her husband dies. Her sister needs money, so she tries to convince Emily to buy her book that she is writing on their 'famous' mother, Lillian Barlow, a feminist.

    Emily is doing all she can to hold her life together. She is trying not to get sacked at work when they bring in a new president who is known for turning failing businesses around. She is trying to keep her apartment that her husband promised her, but has to fit his mother and lawyer to try to keep it. Emily is also trying to figure out what to do with her younger sister, who seems to want to do anything but write the book she proposed in the first place. Did I mention the hot Navy SEAL who lives upstairs?

    This is a story of loss, finding oneself, helping others, a snobbish dog with weird tastes in music, and running a marathon. It was very well written and beautifully paced. There are several twists to the story, as it is written alternately from Emily's and Einstein's view point. Read it, before it's too late! Read it, and learn their story!

    Quote: "It is regret that kills, the 'if onlys' that leave the mortal wounds.

    In order to live a life truly worth living you had to have strength in the face of adversity, patience when confronted with challenge, and bravery in the face of fear."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Redemption and Second Chances

    I didn't know what to expect when I bought this book. What I found was a good story about the need for redemption and second chances. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and all of their flaws. The story itself requires a little leap of faith, but it's one you're willing to make to see how the characters evolve. This is an enjoyable read that I would recommend to any book lovers looking to get lost in a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Calling all dog lovers!

    Absolutely loved this book. It was cute! Quick read and I love how the author tells the story from both Emily and einsteins side in different sections. Adorable! And a true story about second chances. I was crying at the end. Maybe because i can relate to the loss of a lover and pet. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are looking for something different....

    Quirky little book. I enjoyed it very much. Enjoyable light read. I recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Great book of second chances!

    This one definitely deserves 4.5 stars. I received an arc of 'Emily and Einstein' from Librarything. This is a wonderful novel of second chances. The main characters are Emily, her husband Sandy and Einstein. I love dog stories and Einstein is one special dog. The book is released on 3/1 and I highly recommend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I loved this!

    Laughed and cried!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    awesome

    This was a wonderful and meaningful read. Highly recimmend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I absolutely loved this book, the beginning was a bit confusing determining what was going on but after the 1st chapter I couldn't put the book down. I would definitely recommend this book, especially for book clubs, there's so much to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved It!

    I read this book in a day. It was such a cute story and I had to find out what happened. It was such an easy book to read and get lost in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Dog books automatically start with 3 stars for me!  Having said

    Dog books automatically start with 3 stars for me!  Having said that, this book was different from others I have read that included chapters written by "the dog".   It is a story of courage, family, tenacity, faith in oneself as well as others, facing your demons, forgiveness and understanding that "it is regret that kills, the 'if onlys' that leave the mortal wounds'.  I loved the premise of this book, the style in which it was written - chapters from a deceased husband,  his young widow, and the dog.  In the end, I added two stars to my rating because this book touched me in many ways, making me laugh, nod with understanding and cry like a child with both pain and joy.  This is the first book I have read by this author but am for sure going to check out others. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Such a fun book!

    This is such a fun book to read. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    INTERESTING CONCEPT

    This book begins like so many others, man and woman in love, with some kind of unknown undercurrent. Ho-hum. But then, first plot twist, man is killed in terrible accident. How he finds himself in the body of scruffy dog named Einstein, loving cared for by his widow is a page turner for those who enjoy being able to suspend reality and savor a bit of romance. This book was chosen by our book club and was considered a winner by all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I thought this book was GREAT!  It was easy to read and easy to

    I thought this book was GREAT!  It was easy to read and easy to follow.  It was touching and entertaining.  
    This was the first book I have read from Linda Francis Lee, and I must say that I am happy that I gave her a shot.  
    Give this one a try!  You will not be disappointed!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    If it were possible to rate more than 5 stars this is the book t

    If it were possible to rate more than 5 stars this is the book that deserves it.  Normally I wouldn't have even thought about reading this book, but after reading a few posts on it decided to read it.   Loved every minute of  reading this book.
    Emily is at a loss, her husband was killed in an accident, her in-laws are trying to evict her and her job is in jeopardy unless she can get her act together.  She ends up adopting Einstein  from the shelter she volunteers at.   Even though she had not intentions of adopting Einstein  but finding out that his is scheduled to be put down since he wasn't adopted out Emily just knows she has to take him home with her.
    Sandy is killed in an accident.  He is given a second chance, a second chance to prove he can achieve greatness.  Imagine his surprise when he wakes up in the body of a dog Einstein and ends up being adopting by his wife.   His second chance comes with conditions he has to help his wife.  How to do this in a dog's body?
    This book in written in the point of views from Emily and Einstein/Sandy.   It's a roller coaster of emotions, funny, heartwarming, thought provoking.  It's a book you will be happy you have read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Better Than I Expected

    After losing her husband, NYC editor Emily Portman loses herself. She tries to bury herself in her work, but finds herself behind on deadlines and at a loss for new ideas. The accidental discovery that her life with her husband, Sandy, was a lie causes Emily to turn to her newly adopted pet for comfort and strength.

    Increasing calls from her in-laws lawyer, the threat of losing of her apartment, and a surprise visit from her irresponsible little sister further complicate Emily's days, and the ruggedly handsome new neighbor muddies her thoughts. And while Emily can't quite put her finger on it, there is definitely something weird going on with her dog, Einstein.

    This book was nothing like what I was expecting, and I'm glad. This was a fresh take on learning to love and trust and I'm glad I took the risk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Emily and Einstien

    Great book to read to inspire, lift your spirits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I am truly enjoying this book.

    the idea is so clever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Enjoyable

    I liked this story very much. It has a good message and ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!

    This book was an amazing read. It captivated me more and more with each page! It had me laughing at Einstein's baser doggie instincts and crying with heartbreak for Emily in her rougher moments. I 100% recommend this book for anyone who wants a good read to curl up on the couch with or anywhere for that matter. It's a story of heartbreak, new love, realizing and living your dreams, and strength through gritty rough times. Definitely read this book. You will not be sorry. Unless you don't read it in which case your missing out big time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    I did the audio version of Emily & Einstein. I believe that


    I did the audio version of Emily & Einstein. I believe that only added to this story.
    While its interesting, quick moving and emotional. Hearing the voices of the the characters, one character in particular, enhanced my enjoyment of this story. Its really not a silly, childish story with animals. Its very grown up, fun and even a little magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7