Customer Reviews for

Emily and Einstein ($9.99 Ed.)

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very well written and beautifully paced!

Review by Kate:
For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for t...
Review by Kate:
For some reason, I have been putting off reviewing this book that I have given 5 stars! I actually would love to be able to sit down and read it again, it was so good, with a good message, too (see favorite quotes below). However, writing a review for this story would give it away, I think. If you have read any of the other reviews, you will know what happens (but I won't be the one to tell you!).

I loved Linda Francis Lee's Devil in the Junior League and found it hilarious! This story, however, is a little bit different. It is more poignant, a little sadder, but with a happy ending. Emily is widowed only after four years of marriage. She is devastated, as she thought she had the perfect marriage. However, it turned out the night that her husband was killed in a freak accident on the streets of New York, that he was on his way to divorce her. Emily had no idea that the situation was at this point.the separation.

In her grief, she rescues a dog whom she calls Einstein. There are some very funny antics with Einstein (like the box of Lucky Charms), plus Einstein has issues of his own. He is trying to make sure that Emily moves on in her life, but it is rather difficult for him to do as he is in a dog's body.

Emily works in publishing and has an immediate supervisor who is out only for herself, to include taking credit for Emily's latest find in the book world. Throw on top of this Emily's younger, and flighty, sister who comes to stay with Emily after her husband dies. Her sister needs money, so she tries to convince Emily to buy her book that she is writing on their 'famous' mother, Lillian Barlow, a feminist.

Emily is doing all she can to hold her life together. She is trying not to get sacked at work when they bring in a new president who is known for turning failing businesses around. She is trying to keep her apartment that her husband promised her, but has to fit his mother and lawyer to try to keep it. Emily is also trying to figure out what to do with her younger sister, who seems to want to do anything but write the book she proposed in the first place. Did I mention the hot Navy SEAL who lives upstairs?

This is a story of loss, finding oneself, helping others, a snobbish dog with weird tastes in music, and running a marathon. It was very well written and beautifully paced. There are several twists to the story, as it is written alternately from Emily's and Einstein's view point. Read it, before it's too late! Read it, and learn their story!

Quote: "It is regret that kills, the 'if onlys' that leave the mortal wounds.

In order to live a life truly worth living you had to have strength in the face of adversity, patience when confronted with challenge, and bravery in the face of fear."

posted by RtBBlog on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you are looking for something different....

Quirky little book. I enjoyed it very much. Enjoyable light read. I recommend it!

posted by JudeEwill on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Arguet

    ((Yes. Go to "settings", then "social", then "link to facebook twitter and google", then hit "link your account" for google, then hit "need help?", then go to the bottom and tap "google home". If you tap a link and nothing happens, just swipe from the upper-right hand corner to the bottom-left hand corner.)) <br>
    <p>
    He was silent a few moments, thinking. "I think we should wait a little." He said finally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Get a free ticket to Disneyland right now!

    Kiss your foot, tell it "I love you" post this to five other books, then look under your pillow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Very touching and raw story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I loved this!

    Laughed and cried!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    awesome

    This was a wonderful and meaningful read. Highly recimmend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I absolutely loved this book, the beginning was a bit confusing determining what was going on but after the 1st chapter I couldn't put the book down. I would definitely recommend this book, especially for book clubs, there's so much to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I thought this book was GREAT!  It was easy to read and easy to

    I thought this book was GREAT!  It was easy to read and easy to follow.  It was touching and entertaining.  
    This was the first book I have read from Linda Francis Lee, and I must say that I am happy that I gave her a shot.  
    Give this one a try!  You will not be disappointed!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Emily and Einstien

    Great book to read to inspire, lift your spirits!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Lo

    Yo lo

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Wonderful Story!

    This book is a wonderful story of a woman who's life was changed the day her husband was killed in an accident. He returns to her in the form of a dog, and must earn his way to the next phase of eternity. It's funny, sad, loving, makes you mad, makes you cry. Give it a shot, it's a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    fabulous book

    what a fabulous little love story, a story of learning how to love and lose and how to treat people and about the consequences of how you treat people. I loved loved loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant writing, brilliant characters

    In New York City, under a gunmetal gray sky, Sandy Portman walks into his office, takes his messages from his secretary and, unfortunately, doesn't check his voicemail or even take a gander at the message from his wife. Sandy is part of one of the 'old-money' New York families - a historic group who've owned the investment firm of Regal Bay for years. Sandy has always had everything he's ever wanted and if he didn't have it, he found a way to get it. One of those 'things gotten' was his wife, Emily. But now, on this night, he is headed to pick up his wife and ask her for a divorce. Emily is a fantastic lady who is an editor at a publishing house and volunteers her time at the Upper West Side Animal Clinic. As she sits inside on this snowy, frightful evening, Emily feels empowered. Her life is an absolute joy and she's surrounded with a husband who loves her - even though their marriage is, at times, a bit strained. She also lives in the fabulous historic Dakota building in Manhattan, and she has just completed a painting project that gives the place an even more stunning beauty than it had before. She's waiting on her husband to arrive, hoping that Sandy received her message that stated she wouldn't be volunteering tonight at the clinic so he could just head home. But Sandy is out there on that snowy street. The night is god-awful, and he wonders why this strange, wiry-haired little dog is running in the road. When a car accident happens, Sandy is absolutely horrified - especially as he stands above his own body watching himself die. When a little man with white hair appears beside Sandy and tells him he can continue to live - but there's one very big catch - Sandy jumps at it, only to find himself in a very strange body, with a very strange mission. This incredible book is told by two very different points of view - a dog who wants nothing more than to 'speak' with his master; and, a woman who looks back over the past as secrets begin to unfold that reveal the fact that her life was a total lie. The little dog named Einstein who, for some reason, Emily takes home with her after the tragic events of that snowy night, becomes her friend, confidant, protector, and a little beast at times. Add in a new love, a sister who is as 'off-her-rocker' as she can get, and a memoir of a mom who was an outspoken feminist who didn't believe in the power of men, and this book becomes one of the best of 2011. It is no surprise that this incredible, entertaining, heartfelt, charming, and slightly supernatural book comes from the 'pen' of Linda Francis Lee. This author has, again and again, proven herself to be a fantastic storyteller who creates tales that will stick in the minds of readers and fans for generations to come. Quill Says: Brilliant writing, brilliant characters, and a story that truly makes dogs look like a 'woman's best friend.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Must read!

    I admit, I only read the description for this book because there was a cute dog on it! I absolutely loved the book and the characters. It was an uplifting story and will recommend it to anyone who cares to listen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great story

    This book was so unusual and entertaining to read. I often think I learn more from reading fiction than non-fiction, and this book proves that. Full of wisdom, wit, life lessons and love. I will be giving this book for birthdays and holidays for months to come. Highly recommend you read this and when you finish you will be thinking about it for days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    what a great book to read

    i don't know the last time i read a book in less than 2 1/2 days cause thats what i did w/this 1. it was hard to put down. i luv einstein whos a very smart/intelligent dog because @ 1 time he was not only human but emilys husband (now reincarnated 4 a special reason). emily is an e-z goin woman who i see wont give up. w/out einstein her life wouldnt have turned out b n as it did. i must say that her life got better & better as the story went on. only thing i that was sad was at the end ....

    its worth the buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Pleasantly Surprised - A Lovely Read!

    I read a review that indicated that the book was predictable, but I bought it anyway. I am glad I did. It's not just a story about a dog and its owner. (But the dog/owner story is great!) Good novel about second chances, some obvious, some given, others taken. The road(s) to redemption and change take a interesting turns, and the scenery isn't bad. I couldn't wait to finish it, and I just might read it again when I need a pick-me-up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This one makes you think! Very well done.

    I am a big Linda Francis Lee fan. Her previous novels combine romance and humor and are the kind you say-oh that was cute- when you are done reading them. Not so this novel, which makes you think about your preception of people. The premise- wife cheated on, nasty in laws, husband trying for redemption, has been done before. This book, however, took it to another level. Emily has been cheated on, but she was so oblivious to problems in the marriage that you want to give her a good talking to. Sandy, the deceased husband, is so self absorbed you don't feel sorry for his death in the beginning of the book. Sandy's mother is a bit of a stereotype, but in this book it works.

    All of the characters have to grow up and see the reality of the world around them. Emily has a chance to become a person who confronts her problems rather than creating a happy little fantasy world. She gets a second chance for happiness and it's based on a real understanding of her feelings and what the other person is all about. Sandy has to learn that he was so selfish that he caused his own unhappiness and didn't care about causing other's as well. Being reincarnated as a dog is perfect because he was a dog as a human! Appropriately, he becomes more human as a dog than he was as a man. It's a hard lesson for him to learn and he doesn't get it right the first couple of times. And, we learn why the nasty MIL became that way.

    I have to say that this book made me cry. Even though the characters were not totally sympathetic, I found myself rooting for them- even the nasty MIL. The ending was satisfying on many levels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    You will think WTH!!!!! You will laugh out loud!!!! You will cry!!!! This was the most amazing story. Totally off the wall but wish it could really happen. LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's a tale of love, loss and redemption and the cutest little protagonist you ever did see

    Emily Barlow lived in the shadow of her feminist mother and against her mother's beliefs gave love a try. She met and fell in love with handsome Sandy Portman who came complete with wealth and pedigree, then a tragic accident makes her life spiral toward devastation and pretty soon she's questioning the choices she's made.
    Sandy Portman had it all, a wife who adored him a posh Central Park apartment, a job with his family's firm, a family with prestige and the prosperity that came with it. He comes to find out through divine intervention that he is not all that he thinks, and he finds himself given another chance to make things right but little does he know that this chance will come with complications, complications that he may not be able to overcome.
    Linda Francis Lee has this little story to tell, she tells it with humor, with pain and with intense feelings that her readers will experience all of plus a few more as they read this incredibly touching, amazingly thought provoking tale. She tells it with a narrative that mixes whimsy and prose and her plot gives her audience a very It's A Wonderful Lifesque feel to it complete with angels and consequences. But it's her characters that steal the show and they run the gamut from wickedness to pure of heart. Her protagonist Emily is a woman that any female can identify with from any walk of life because we've all at one time or another experienced a form of her pain. Her other star is Einstein, and what a star he is, you have this complex, complicated and huge personality stuffed inside this small wiry dog. And the magic starts the very first time the author relays the dog's thoughts and words and how she got into that perspective is just one part of the mystique of this wonderful story. Her co-stars are a booklover's dream team and they are portrayed in such a way as to really intimate them to you as a reader. It's a love story on so many different levels, it's a romance, it's a coming of age again tale, it's about new beginnings and restitution and about moving on and leaving the past behind. But most of all it's about faith and it's about hope.
    I have to admit that this is my first read by Ms. Lee, but let me assure you it's far from my last. If you love to be entertained but informed at the same time, if you love novels that give life lessons, or if you simply love a story that's filled with remarkable characters and a plot that literally sings, then sink your teeth into this one. It's a must read for all ages the only requirement is that you "believe".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emily and Einstein is an engaging redemption tale

    They seem to live the perfect lives on Manhattan's Upper West Side; few obtain entrance let alone an apartment in the Dakota Building, but his family's old money provided the key. Sandy Portman is a businessman while his lover Emily Barlow is a book editor.

    Their idyllic life together ends in tragedy as Sandy dies after being hit by a car. Even before he is buried, Emily learns her marriage was based on lies. Besides being evicted from the Dakota, she learns the vast duplicity of the husband she cherished. Before she can consider closure, she needs the truth as to who Sandy Portman was. Adopting a mangy dog she names Einstein due to his high intelligence as her companion, Emily begins her odyssey unaware that the mutt at her side is Sandy who cannot move on in the after life without atoning for his sins with his beloved whose soul is shattered further by what she learns about him.

    Emily and Einstein is an engaging redemption tale starring a remorseful spirit-canine and a grieving heroine. The linear story line is fun to follow though lacks any shockers. Mindful of Spielberg's Always, fans will enjoy Sandy's efforts to save Emily's soul from the destruction he caused to her.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4