Customer Reviews for

Emma

Average Rating 4
( 462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Here be a Knightly lover

While I love Pride and Prejudice the best, Emma is definitely my second favorite of Ausent's works. I prefer the story of the former novel, but other than that I can say that I love, love, absolutely love Emma. As much as I adore Mr. Darcy (Along with every other female...
While I love Pride and Prejudice the best, Emma is definitely my second favorite of Ausent's works. I prefer the story of the former novel, but other than that I can say that I love, love, absolutely love Emma. As much as I adore Mr. Darcy (Along with every other female in the world) it must be confessed that I am madly in love with Mr. Knightly, and I read the entire book just for the scenes he is in. Although Pride and Prejudice can be called perfect, I find the Declaration-of-Love scene in Emma to be much more endearing and wonderful. I find that love of Pride and Prejudice generally has to be shared, since it is such a well known story, even to the most illiterate of people. As Emma is not as ubiquitously loved, I feel like the book has a more exclusive place in my heart, and that makes me love it all the more.

posted by Karigan on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This book is inscrutable.

posted by xx_test on October 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    Here be a Knightly lover

    While I love Pride and Prejudice the best, Emma is definitely my second favorite of Ausent's works. I prefer the story of the former novel, but other than that I can say that I love, love, absolutely love Emma. As much as I adore Mr. Darcy (Along with every other female in the world) it must be confessed that I am madly in love with Mr. Knightly, and I read the entire book just for the scenes he is in. Although Pride and Prejudice can be called perfect, I find the Declaration-of-Love scene in Emma to be much more endearing and wonderful. I find that love of Pride and Prejudice generally has to be shared, since it is such a well known story, even to the most illiterate of people. As Emma is not as ubiquitously loved, I feel like the book has a more exclusive place in my heart, and that makes me love it all the more.

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Emma

    Emma is a hilarious novel which I thoroughly enjoyed. As I escaped into the twists and turns of the social circle in Emma's small town, I found myself laughing, crying, berating characters, and gushing about how much I loved this book. Emma's blindness to what is going on around her in the way of love endears her even more. Emma is beautiful, charming, and what every young lady in those days ought to be. She's a dutiful daughter, and usually very proper, though she has a love of matchmaking, something she really isn't very good at. She encounters very memorable characters and finds herself in the end.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Great Read

    This book is inscrutable.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Need A Book You Can't Put Down?

    Jane Austen is one of the most talented novelists I know of. The first book I read by Austen is Pride and Prejudice, and when I had the opportunity to read another for pleasure as well as academics, I couldn’t pass it up. The novel, Emma, consists of advanced vocabulary and complex word phrasing, but with a dictionary by my side, nothing was in my way.

    Once I picked it up, it was hard to put it back down. In the novel Emma, Emma Woodhouse is the only lady in the house of many men. She therefore makes all the important decisions and has a degree of power and independence. Throughout the life of Emma, there are many situations in which any typical teenage girl can relate to. Emma doesn’t believe in finding her so called soul mate, so she meddles with others’ to help them find theirs. Regardless, she is admired and respected by all. One of the most powerful messages I acquired from this novel is learning that you cannot prevent the inevitable. Whatever road you are on is the one you are meant to take. To get to the man of her dreams, Mr. Knightley, it wasn't quite the simplest road ever. She goes through five weddings, a half-dozen major misunderstandings, and 400 pages pass before she learns of it, but Emma's ending is as happy and triumphant as the close of Pride and Prejudice.

    In the beginning of the book up until about the 250 page mark, the story is somewhat slow, but as Emma discovers that her love matchmaking isn’t quite working out for her, Mr. Knightley’s charm speeds up the book. Although the language is somewhat difficult to interpret, it's worth the read. The story is witty, charming and full of loveable characters. I guarantee that you will have the hardest time putting the book down.

    Although Emma is one of the longer books Jane Austen has written, it is inspirational in every way from beginning to end. It is a comedy of Emma as she learns to find her happily ever after. Emma is, without a doubt, one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I rarely ever have the time to pick up a well written book and read it from front to back, but I can honestly say that this book fulfilled that need; definitely a good book to pick up on a rainy weekend.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    review

    Only first half of book with lots of misprints

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Badly formatted

    Odd characters interspursed with text. Words are mashed up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!!!

    Emma loves matchmaking, but is not very good at it. She is entertaining to read about and this is very romantic. She steers her friend the wrong way, and is all jumbled up at first, but in the end it is fantastic and you will be glad you took the time to read it!! I highly recommend, no faults, and have fun reading this :)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Emma... nothing vexing about her.

    This novel is my favorite by Miss Jane Austen. It is witty and entertaining. Despite what Miss Austen believed about her heroine in this novel, Miss Emma Woodhouse is endearing and well loved by readers.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Stop

    Please stop chatting if you want to chat go txt on your phones

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Witty, Charming, Exciting

    Jane Austen truly expresses her greatest knack for writing in her novel, Emma. Miss Woodhouse's character as well as the characters of Miss Smith, Mr. Knightley, and others show great contrast, yet great coordination and interaction between each other. Emma is definitely a must-read for everyone, from those who hardly ever have time to read to the most dedicated bibliophiles.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good stuff

    I loved Emma. Then again, I also loved Clueless, and guess which one was easier to get through?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Emma

    READER BEWARE! This is one of the best of only 6 amazing completed masterpieces by Jane Austen. Despite being written so long ago Jane Austen¿s work can be as engaging (and even addicting) as any modern novel. Read this treasured title with care as the author will be unable to write another.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE!

    I LOVE EMMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is an exquisite book. I had a very hard time putting it down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Emma

    I understand tanner. Lv u and bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Seashadows bio

    20 moons/white with silver stripes and amber eyes very pretty/no rank/no mate/she-cat/no kits but she dose have 2 sisters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    ⓜ ⓘ ⓢ ⓣ

    Name &#8674 Mist
    <p>
    Gender &#8674 &female
    <p>
    Age &#8674 22 moons
    <p>
    Looks &#8674 she has very light grey fur, and intense, ice-cold blue eyes.
    <p>
    Persona &#8674 she is a cold-hearted killer, and will do anything for her clan.
    <p>
    Crush &#8674 nada
    <p>
    Kits &#8674 -_-
    <p>
    Kin &#8674 no way bruh
    <p>
    Theme Song &#8674 Bad Girl's Club - Falling In Reverse
    <p>
    Siggy &#8674 &#20020 | &#20007 | &#20005 | &#20017

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Tigerkits bio

    Name lookup gender male moons 1 looks gold and white kit with blue eyes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Should I buy Emma?

    I am thinking of buying Emma. Should I? I love Jane Austen Books so I was wondering if this is as good as the other ones?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Yet Another Update to Firesteel's Bio

    Ranfall is back and is still Firesteel's mate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 462 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24