Customer Reviews for

Emma (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 395 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(208)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Here be a Knightly lover

While I love Pride and Prejudice the best, Emma is definitely my second favorite of Ausent's works. I prefer the story of the former novel, but other than that I can say that I love, love, absolutely love Emma. As much as I adore Mr. Darcy (Along with every other female...
While I love Pride and Prejudice the best, Emma is definitely my second favorite of Ausent's works. I prefer the story of the former novel, but other than that I can say that I love, love, absolutely love Emma. As much as I adore Mr. Darcy (Along with every other female in the world) it must be confessed that I am madly in love with Mr. Knightly, and I read the entire book just for the scenes he is in. Although Pride and Prejudice can be called perfect, I find the Declaration-of-Love scene in Emma to be much more endearing and wonderful. I find that love of Pride and Prejudice generally has to be shared, since it is such a well known story, even to the most illiterate of people. As Emma is not as ubiquitously loved, I feel like the book has a more exclusive place in my heart, and that makes me love it all the more.

posted by Karigan on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This book is inscrutable.

posted by xx_test on October 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 448 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Sh<_>&iota<_>&eta<_>&chi<_>'s Biography...

    Name &#8765 Shinx <p> Gender &#8765 T<_>&male<_>m <p> Age &#8765 Ehhhhhh.... <p> Rank &#8765 Ehhhhhh....Warrior.... <p> Persona &#8765 Meet him... <p> Looks &#8765 Half dark grey, half lighter blue. Bottom half is grey, top half is lighter blue. Golden fur around neck, looks kind of like a collar. Golden eyes. <p> Kin &#8765 Ain't nobody got time for that.. <p> Mate &#8765 They say milk is good for your teeth. You know what else is good for your teeth? Staying the hell outta my business... <p> Crush &#8765 Ehhhhhh.... Murbeh... <p> Kits &#8765 Hide yo' kids, hide yo' wife, and hide yo' husbands 'cause dey rapin' everybody out there... xD <p> History &#8765 Shush, punto. Punta. Whatever you prefer... <p> Theme Song &#8765 Coming Down by Five Finger Death Punch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Arashi's Bio!!!!

    &#5678 Ar<_>&alpha<_>shi &#5678
    <p> Name meaning &infin Storm
    <p> Gender &infin T<_>&male<_>m
    <p> Age &infin around 12-13 moons
    <p> Rank &infin Warrior
    <p> Looks &infin Dark blue pelt with swirls of Dark grey, Medium grey, and Light blue, hence the name Storm. His eyes are Golden with small light green Flecks
    <p> Persona &infin Very stubborn, Gets in trouble, Defiant, Terribly afraid of death, and doesnt like to be near it whatso ever, he is close to his sister, even though they compete alot
    <p> Crush &infin nope
    <br> Mate &infin no
    <br> Kits &infin noooo
    <p> Kin &infin His mother is Sunny, His father is Deimos, His sister is Miu
    <p> Other &infin Feel free to ask
    <p> Anthem &infin Numb by Linkin Park, Remedy by Seether, Last resort by Papa Roach

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Solsticepaws bio

    Solstice<p>Female<p>11-15 moons<p>Apprentice<p>meet her<p>too long to tell<p>Bloodclan<p>Hybrid of the kill- dad <p>russet fur with orange tabby stripes and amber eyes<p>No kits<p>no mate<p>i have a crush<p>Nicknames: Soli<p>nit many friends<p>lots of enemies<p>Hell<_>fire- theme song<p>Ask if any questions<p>BYE STALKERS! &#9786

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Spirits bio

    Name: Spirit<p>Gender: &female<p>Age: 16 moons<p>Looks: black fur with white splotches on her back right ear her tail her left eye and her front left paw +which has a black mask tattoo on it+ she also has bright blue eyes<p>Personality: meet her<p>History: long and boring but she was born into the night masks that went innactive than the ZOR now bloodclan <p>Mother: Kaan<p>Father: Nightshade<p>No siblings<p>Godmother: Dismay<p>Signature: &gamma<p>Mate: no<p>Crush: maybe... but you have to ask<p>Kits: no<p>Other: ask dear ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Panthers bio

    Name: ...<p>Gender: &female <p>Age: 21 moons<p>Fur: pitch black with a long fluffy tail and a white fleck on her back<p>Eyes: emerald green<p> Personality: meet her<p>Mate: no<p>Crush: ask if you want to know<p>Kits: No. Just. No<p>History: she was born into a rouge family. Her father was a forcemater and she never met him but knowswho he is. Her mother did protecting her and her siblings from a badger. She and her siblings wandered until they found ashclan. By this time, her younger sister had died of a snake bite. Her and her brothers got into an arguement over wether or not to join and she killed them. She finally found an orphanage and a few days after joining, she was kitnapped. The cats that stole her put her in a cage but left the next day without her. She was almost dead when night and devil bloodclan found her and took her to bloodclan where she was put through intense training. She skipped being an apprentice and became a warrior. during that time she was possessed by the demon(the last of her stepmothers spirit) who is insane and i will make a bio for later<p>Theme Song: Just cant wait to be king<p>Clan: bloodclan<p>Friends: Striking all odf bloodclan<p>Enemies: all good cats<p>Mother: honeyhawk<p>Father: Cheetwo<p>Sister: Lovekit +dead+<p>Brother: Falonkit and Fallenkit +both dead+<p>Stepmother: Arsenic +dead+<p>Symbol: &delta +only in emergencies+<p>Other: ask if you want to know that badly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Halo's Biography

    Name &#8765 Halo <p> Gender &#8765 T<_>&male<_>m <p> Age &#8765 Not sure... <p> Rank &#8765 Warrior <p> Persona &#8765 Snaps very, very easily. Doesn't trust hardly at all. Always thinks cats are suspicious, or lying to him. He can't stand kits at all. Or apprentices. He think they're whiny, etc. <p> Looks &#8765 Fully black; short-furred. Ice blue eyes so light, they almost look clear. He has a long tail. A few scars. <p> Kin <p> Mother - SunnyTooth <p> Father - Raven [Deceased] <br> Sister - LifeRise [Deceased] <br> Brother - Grey [Missing] <p> Mate &#8765 Xena <p> Crush &#8765 Xena <p> Kits &#8765 None of his own... <p> History &#8765 Too long.. <p> Theme Song &#8765 Landslide &#8765 Fleetwood Mac

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Quasi's Biography

    Name &#8765 Quasimoto <p> Nicknames &#8765 Quasi, Q <p> Gender &#8765 T<_>&male<_>m <p> Rank &#8765 Warrior <p> Persona &#8765 Doesn't talk alot; mainly because he sleeps alot. Never really snaps. <p> Looks &#8765 Sand-coloured with brown paws, brown tail-tip, ear tips. Dark green eyes. <p> Kin &#8765 None <p> Mate &#8765 None <p> Crush &#8765 Sort-of... <p> Kits &#8765 None <p> History &#8765 None really.... <p> Theme Song &#8765 Hakuna Matata &#8765 Lion King

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    SunnyTooth's Biography

    Name &#8765 SunnyTooth <p> Nickname &#8765 Sunny <p> Gender &#8765 She-Cat; &female <p> Age &#8765 N/A <p> Rank &#8765 Warrior <p> Persona &#8765 Meet her. <p> Looks &#8765 Dark Ginger Tabby. Forest Green eyes. <p> Kin &#8765 <p> Roen - Father <p> Adopted Mother - LightningStar (Did I get the name right? v.v) <p> Mate &#8765 Nah. <p> Crush &#8765 Sweetie I think I'm over that T-T <p> Kits &#8765 <br> First Litter: <br> Karma (&female) <br> HawkFlare (&male) <br> RavenStrike (&male) <br> DarkSilence (&male) <br> Second Litter: <br> Liferise (&female) [Deceased] <br> Grey [Missing] (&male) <br> Halo (&male) <br> Third Litter: <br> Arashi (&male) [Missing] <br> Miu (&female) [Inactive] <p> History &#8765 Psh. Born as a kittypet. Somehow ended up in SandClan. Then AshClan. Then BloodClan. [There is a full, true, painful, backstory, but I don't feel like typing it all] <p> Theme Songs &#8765 <br> Boulevard of Broken Dreams &#8765 Green Day [I think...] <br> Hurt &#8765 Get Scared <br> Best Friend &#8765 Queen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Irresistible

    | Note: There is probably going to be a lot of One Direction Songs..so, if you don't like them, you don't have to read the lyrics.. | <p> Don't try to make stay <br> Or ask if I'm okay <br> I don't have the answer <br> Don't make me stay the night <br> Or ask if I'm alright <br> I don't have the answer. <p> Heartache doesn't last forever <br> I'll say I'm fine <br> Midnight ain't no time for laughing <br> When you say goodbye. <p> It makes your lips so kissable <br> And your kiss unmissable <br> Your fingertips so touchable <br> And your eyes irresistible. <p> I've tried to ask myself <br> Should I see someone else? <br> I wish I knew the answer. <p> But I know, if I go now, if I leave <br> Then, I'm on my own tonight <br> I'll never know the answer. <p> Midnight doesn't last forever <br> Dark turns to light <br> Heartache flips my world around <br> I'm falling down, down, down, <br> That's why. <p> I find your lips so kissable <br> And your kiss unmissable <br> Your fingertips so touchable <br> And your eyes irresistible <br> (Irresistible) <br> Irresistible <br> (Irresistible) <br> Irresistible <br> (Irresistible) <br> Irresistible <br> (Irresistible). <p> It's in your lips and in your kiss <br> It's in your touch and your fingertips <br> And it's in all the things and other things <br> That make you who you are and your eyes irresistible. <p> It makes your lips so kissable <br> And your kiss unmissable <br> Your fingertips so touchable <br> And your eyes, your eyes, your eyes, <br> Your eyes, your eyes, your eyes <br> Irresistible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Torn | NOT Natalie Imbruglia's Version O.O

    I thought I saw a boy brought to life <br> He was warm, he came around, he was dignified <br> Showed me what it was to cry <br> You couldn't be that boy I adored <br> You don't seem to know or seem to care what your heart is for <br> But I don't know him anymore <p> There's nothing left, I used to cry <br> My conversation has run dry <br> That's what's going on <br> Nothing's fine I'm torn <p> I'm all out of faith <br> This is how I feel <br> I'm cold and I am shamed <br> Lying na<3>ked on the floor <p> Illusion never changed <br> Into something real <br> I'm wide awake and I can see the perfect sky is torn <p> You're a little late <br> I'm already torn (I'm already torn) <p> There's nothing left <br> I used to cry <br> Inspiration has run dry <br> That's what's going on <br> Nothing's fine I'm torn <br> Nothing's fine I'm torn <p> I'm all out of faith <br> This is how I feel <br> I'm cold and I am shamed <br> Lying broken on the floor <p> Illusion never changed <br> Into something real <br> I'm wide awake and I can see the perfect sky is torn <br> You're a little late <br> I'm already torn (I'm already I'm already torn) <br> Torn <br> Oh torn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    To Samael

    "Its a band."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Bones Exposed | Of Mice & Men

    It's like loving a lion that cannot be tamed, <br> I snap at the thought or the sound of your name. <br> Pulling teeth from my stomach, <br> you've been eaten alive. <br> My blood fills your lungs, <br> my soul, your inside. <p> My feet they stand on ashes, <br> from the fires that you've made. <br> Burning bridges, <br> Just to save your face. <p> If I say I wouldn't be hostile, <br> could you say you would do the same? <br> If we're all made a little bit broken, <br> tell me who is to blame? <p> I'm sensing a feeling picking wounds of regret, <br> that left alone there's no scarring I'll dig I'll dig, <br> scratching & itching I'll keep biting my lip, <br> from this pain that I'm feeling, <br> picking wounds of regret <p> A cut cannot heal, <br> unless you leave it alone. <br> I'll open mine daily, <br> leaving bones exposed. <p> If I say I wouldn't be hostile, <br> could you say you would do the same? <br> If we're all made just a little bit broken, <br> tell me who is to blame? <p> Standing on ashes from the fires you've made, <br> burning bridges just to save your face. <p> Wounds of regret. <p> If I say I wouldn't be hostile, <br> could you say you would do the same? <br> If we're all made just a little bit broken, <br> tell me who is to blame? <p> We're broken, imperfect, <br> we were all made the same. <br> We're broken, imperfect, <br> we are all to blame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Moments | Lyrics

    Shut the door <br> Turn the light off <br> I wanna be with you <br> I wanna feel your love <br> I wanna lay beside you <br> I cannot hide this <br> Even though I try <p> Heart beats harder <br> Time escapes me <br> Trembling hands <br> Touch skin <br> It makes this harder <br> And the tears stream down my face <p> If we could only have this life <br> For one more day <br> If we could only turn back time <p> You know I'll be <br> Your life <br> Your voice <br> Your reason to be <br> My love <br> My heart <br> Is breathing for this <br> Moment <br> In time <br> I'll find the words to say <br> Before you leave me today <p> Close the door <br> Throw the key <br> Don't wanna be reminded <br> Don't wanna be seen <br> Don't wanna be without you <br> My judgement's clouded <br> Like tonight's sky <p> Hands are silent <br> Voice is numb <br> Try to scream out my lungs <br> It makes this harder <br> And the tears stream down my face <p> If we could only have this life <br> For one more day <br> If we could only turn back time <p> You know I'll be <br> Your life <br> Your voice <br> Your reason to be <br> My love <br> My heart <br> Is breathing for this <br> Moment <br> In time <br> I'll find the words to say <br> Before you leave me today <p> Flashing lights in my mind <br> Going back to the time <br> Playing games in the street <br> Kicking balls with my feet <p> There's a numb in my toes <br> Standing close to the edge <p> There's a pile of my clothes <br> At the end of your bed <p> As I feel myself fall <br> I make a joke of it all <p> You know I'll be <br> Your life <br> Your voice <br> Your reason to be <b> My love <br> My heart <br> Is breathing for this <br> Moment <br> In time <br> I'll find the words to say <br> Before you leave me today <p> You know I'll be <br> Your life <br> Your voice <br> Your reason to be <br> My love <br> My heart <br> Is breathing for this moment <br> In time <br> I'll find the words to say <br> Before you leave me today <p> (More than likley there is errors, oh well. Suck it up and get over it.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Samael

    ...I thought Of Mice & Men was a Wizards of the Coast RPG?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    ANOTHER Update to Firesteel's Bio

    I am a Senior Warrior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Randomness' Bio

    Name &#8765 Randomness <p> Gender &#8765 She-Cat; &female <p> Age &#8765 28 Moons <p> Rank &#8765 Warrior <p> Persona &#8765 Psh. Meet her. Which isn't hard to do, because I'm probably the most active person in BloodClan T-T <p> Looks &#8765 Pitch black fur; hides her well at night. Three dark, dark brown paws [Two back paws, left front paw] At the very end of her tail, hardly noticeable, is a small spot of white. Her tail is very long; her build is lean. She has green eyes, with tiny flecks of silver in them. <p> Mate &#8765 T-T Not happenin'. It'd take alot. <p> Crush &#8765 Well, T-T Hm, let's think out this.... Thought about it enough yet? <p> Kits &#8765 Talon (&male), Amethyst (&female), Kosmos (&male) [Deceased] <p> History &#8765 Psh... <p> Theme Song &#8765 When Doves Cry &#8765 Prince

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Swift's Epic Bio

    Coming soon... *evil laugh* MUAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Finally, what you've all been waiting for... HYENASILVER'S BIO!

    Apparently people really like it when I write a bio. Whatever.<p>Name: Mr. Dr. Prof. King Baron General L'John Dami-Ayden Afablo Poindexter D'Quinston Sanchez O'McLeAgletson Junior the Fifth. Really.<p>Gender: Batman <p>Age: NEVER ASK A LADY HER- Actually, this is impossible to calculate. But I do appear to be a strong senior warrior, but not old. Just not young. Actually, I probably am old. It doesn't matter. You'll see why.<p>Looks: thick, semilong silver fur with leopard spots: gray outside, inside spot thing is blue-gray. Left eye is shining silver, right is green. Slightly stocky and muscular build. Fur varies from normal messy to downright mangy.<p>Personality: INSAAAYNE. Most of the time. Lots of humor, mostly randomness and sarcasm. When acting sane, very proud-acting about my awesomeness. And still humorous. <p>History: Are you mad?<p>Families: some cats and sh<_>it.<p>Mate is Toxin. Now go away. Bleh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Karma's Biography

    Name &#8765 Karmela <p> Nickname &#8765 Karma <p> Gender &#8765 She-Cat; &female <p> Age &#8765 19 Moons <p> Rank &#8765 Wa- Oh yeah, Queen. Still going on raids, Talon. T-T <p> Persona &#8765 Stubborn, wise, occasionally rude, outgoing <p> Looks &#8765 Dark Ginger & Red Tabby. Forest Green eyes. <p> Kin <p> Sunny - Mother <br> LostSpirit - Father <br> HawkFlare - Brother <br> RavenStrike - Brother <br> DarkSilence - Brother <p> Mate &#8765 Talon <p> Crush &#8765 T-T <p> Kits &#8765 Expecting <p> History &#8765 Difficult. Abandoned several times. Explains why she is naturally a bi<_>tch T-T Died...Came back to life. For what? Talon is the only one she really has. Won't talk to her mother... lost contact with her faher and brothers... <p> Theme Song &#8765 Abra Cadabra [I dunno the Song Artist xD]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Update to Firesteel's Bio

    Family: Look for my update at Hamlet result one.<p>Crush: Randi...don't tell her, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 448 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 23