Customer Reviews for

Emory's Gift

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    An Absolute Treasure, A True Gift

    I was lucky enough to get a hold of an ARC of this amazing book. I was already a fan of A Dog's Purpose, and was nervous to read this because I wondered if I would like it as much as I had loved the other. I shouldn't have bothered to worry as this book is as good, and yet totally different from A Dog's Purpose. Mostly what I am left with is the spiritual profundity of this book's message. Not to plot spoil, but for me, this book is truly a Christian allegory, another way of seeing how messages of complete love and spiritual enlightenment can become complicated in this oh-so-flawed human world. Something about the purity of the animals that Cameron chooses to tell stories with and through helps these universal messages of love he conveys to shine through. And it's funny! And it's sweet...and it's so very romantic, in the kind of real-life flawed and awkward way that makes you believe these characters are as true and real as anyone you've ever met. I devoured this and can't wait for whatever this author has coming up next. I'm a huge fan and I am SO thrilled to have read this! More, Mr. Cameron, more!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Fans of "A Dog's Purpose" May Love This One Even More!

    I was lucky enough to read the blockbuster "A Dog's Purpose" before it became a huge bestseller, and I guess now it's going to be a huge movie from Dreamworks. Because of that, they let me read W. Bruce Cameron's newest novel early, and I have to say, though I'm a huge A Dog's Purpose fan, it's possible I loved this one even more.

    The unexpected plot twists kept me turning pages on this one long after I'd decided to put the book down for the night. I was swept up in the stories of the characters, who are all so realistically drawn I came to feel as if I knew them in real life. This is the story of a father and his son who grapple with the need to move on with their lives after the death of the woman who was holding the family together. A chance encounter with a grizzly bear changes everything-the boy and his father must save the bear, and, in so doing, learn to be a family again.

    Just as A Dog's Purpose was told in the voice of a real dog, Emory's Gift is told in the voice of a real 13-year-old-boy. His take on things is often hilarious (he seems to have a crush on just about every girl in his life) and yet rings utterly true when he faces the challenges of being an eighth grader, with all of its attendant social agonies.

    Bottom line: I laughed many times reading this beautifully written book, but also I cried tears of joy and recognition. This novel is an utter delight.

    Note: The spiritual themes in this book are even deeper and more profound than those in A Dog's Purpose. Cameron is one of the few novelists out there who isn't afraid to talk about big issues, God, the meaning of life, the nature of faith. It's courageous in a literary climate where the big trends are toward everything being depressing, and "dystopian." I like to read a book that uplifts me, and makes me think. Cameron keeps turning them out! This one will satisfy me until the sequel of A Dog's Purpose comes out...can't wait!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Every bit as satisfying as "A Dog's Purpose"

    This book is absolutely fantastic! I was a huge fan of "A Dog's Purpose," written by the same author, and I can say without reservation that this one is every bit as satisfying. I am always nervous when an author I like decides to go in a different direction like this, but "Emory's Gift" is proof in my eyes that this author has more stories to tell. Personally, I'll be reading W. Bruce Cameron novels as long as he writes them.

    As for this book, it was an unexpected treasure. It hooks you from word one, immediately interesting, keeping your interest throughout and leaves you yearning for more. It is the type of book that you'll contemplate re-reading the moment you finish. Like his last one, this book is a joy to read, the characters are very real and easy to connect with, and by the end you'll feel the way you do after a long vacation; it is refreshing and moving, you'll laugh and cry and you'll return to your life with a new and wonderful perspective. It reminds me of the books that first got me hooked on reading as a young man. Novels like "Ender's Game" and "Catcher in the Rye" come to mind. It takes a book of exceptionally high quality and readability to get someone reading at that time of life, and this one is of that caliber, without a doubt. I wish I had a young person to buy it for! Do yourself a favor and buy two copies of "Emory's Gift." One to keep for yourself and one to give away, you won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    BookHounds

    Much like A Dog's Purpose, Emory's Gift explores reincarnation. Shortly after 13-year-old Charlie's mom dies from cancer, he is walking in the woods near his home in Idaho and comes face to face with a cougar. Just when the cougar is ready to pounce, it backs off and Charlie finds himself staring down a grizzly bear. Instead of being attacked, Charlie finds himself making a connection with the bear, which follows him home. The bear sticks around and starts to communicate with Charlie. The story unfolds around their relationship and what happens is nothing short of a leap of faith. The bear has a simple message of faith to deliver which of course causes a commotion in the small town.

    The message of this story, while a bit religious, is something that will fill you with hope. It left me feeling very happy and hopeful. There is a lot of quiet humor in the book as well and the portrayal of Charlie as a teen is just perfect. The page turning moment hit me around page 200. The story just clicked and I became so caught up, I couldn't put it down until I finished it. This is a good clean read and is probably suitable for older teens.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Could not put it down !

    This wonerful book is appropiate for any age and I challenge any reader to stop reading. I stayed up 'til 2 a.m to finish. It is a tender story, with agonizing suspense. Shed a few tears but don't give up. You will love Emory!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    A fairy tale for grownups!

    This is a story about a young boy who is befriended by a grizzly bear. The bear paints a message in the boys barn and an uproar ensues. All of this time, the boy is in eighth grade and living through to horrors of middle school. He has also just lost his mother to cancer, and is in grief about her death.

    Bruce Cameron wrote a gentle story about growing up and learning about life. I didn't realize that I had read his first book, A Dogs Purpose until I got to the end of Emory's Gift. Both are folksy and gentle books in their way.

    I read a LOT - all kinds of books - but it is rare to run into such a heart-felt story with the feeling of a fairy tale about it. This isn't a shoot 'em up book, or a sexy novel, or a mystery, just a sweet story that is about life. A sort of "take a break from reality" book.

    I don't know if you will like it or not. I will just say I loved this book! I would recommend either of this author's books highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    # of Pages in this book

    There are 705 pages in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Just a great book

    I throughly enjoyed this book. As i have a dog purpose, a dogs journey and now the dogs of christmas db michigan, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I have read all three of these wonderful books!  All of them are

    I have read all three of these wonderful books!  All of them are so moving and meaningful, and I am convinced they are true stories. I can't wait for my grandchildren to be old enough to read them and appreciate them, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    This story is heartwarming, funny and touching and though it was a large book I finished way too fast - this is an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Pleasant

    "Emory's Gift" is a very pleasant & heartwarming story. W. Bruce Cameron is one of the better authors, especially with the young adult and animal-inspired genres. I enjoyed this book, as I did his other books, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody & would certainly read any book he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Best Book Ever! :)

    I could not put this book down, every page is exiting and keeps you thinking. I absoulutley loved this book! I recomend this book to anybody because it is SO good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Page Numberd

    There are 705 pages but they are worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Uj

    Uiiuuiyi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I loved this book. I can tell because I think about it often during and after reading it. It was a good story with characters you care about, and it had a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Emory's Gift

    This Is a wonderful story with lots of detail. Two unlikely friends meet when one of them makes a heroek move to save his friend. But it just happens so that the heroic friend is a grizzly bear named Emory!! So an amazing miracle happens to a broken family. An amizing creature has enough love to help a boy and his family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Fanciful morality tale

    This was an easy and engaging read. It might be considered a morality tale or a coming of age story. No matter how it is pigeon holed, W Bruce Cameron's heart is in the right place. His imagination is equally well engaged. I liked "A Dog's Purpose" better but I'm glad I read them both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Best author ever!!!!!!!!

    I am 13 and read a dogs purpouse when i was 12 a xi read emorys gift when i was 12 and i understood all of both of them this is my favorite author and these are my 2 favorite books the books are great for middle schoolers highschoolers and adults i highly recomend reading these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Delightful Story- Top recommendation!

    I found myself asking my husband if he could identify with 13 yr.old Charlie! There is so much to think about in this story but to put those questions in words would spoil the reader's pleasure so I would just say I have highly recommended this book to all my reading friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great story

    Great writing and a book for all ages. Loved "A Dog's Purpose" and this was also a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3