Customer Reviews for

Emotional Freedom: Liberate Yourself from Negative Emotions and Transform Your Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    Taking Your Life Back

    If you are one of those people who has your buttons pushed more than you'd care to....this book is for you. If you thought you'd handled your "stuff" because you've talked about it for years, yet - it's still there.....this book is for you. If you're tired of dealing with it...this book is for you. The tail no longer needs to wag the dog. <BR/><BR/>Dr. Judith Orloff helps us understand how important it is to deal with all of our emotions. No need to ignore them or label them good or bad - just a need to acknowledge them and use them as tools of incredible transformation. Tools that will awaken our intuitive powers if only we pay attention.<BR/><BR/>Because she shares her own journey so willingly, you'll realize how common our deepest fears and worries are. And, you'll benefit from the numerous practices throughout the book that will help you listen to yourself, feel what's really going on, and open your heart.<BR/><BR/>Learn how to make the shift...and, let your transformation begin.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thanks Judith! Another Great Book for Me!

    Okay, can all this "look deep into yourself" for the answers to improve your life really work? I've come to know that the answer is "YES!" I've read Judith's two previous books on the subject and have found myself mentally and physically in a much better place than I was I few years ago. However, I'm still grappling with a lot of emotional baggage that likes to interfere with my daily life, but with Judith's new book, Emotional Freedom, she's given me some new insights on how to look at my own problems from a different perspective... which is so desperately needed when you're stuck in your own sh*t. Being an "intellectual" emotional type, my negative self-talk seems to be always on and it chips away at all of the good feelings I have. I like how with her help through this book, I've mapped out a better way to balance my life's emotional stresses. Thanks again Judith!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Helpful Analysis

    I have found Dr. Orloff's style and presentation right "on the button" for the material in this book. The usefulness of this material is so timely in this day and age. There is much to be gained, I feel, by every person because we have to deal with so much and sometimes it is so difficult.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful Information

    Emotional Freedom is an excellent book. I already finished reading it and am now reading it a 2nd time to take notes. I was disappointed when I was done because I liked "sitting" with her. She is personable and helpful. Dr. Orloff's healing powers emanate from the pages. When I finish reading for a while, I feel more peaceful and strengthened. I've had some genuine insights about my Mother who died in 1991 and I think they occurred because of reading this book. Powerful information.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    Thanks for Emotional Freedom

    Judith,

    Thanks for Emotional Freedom!! From my perspective your work is risky, absolutely necessary and directly on target: good for individuals, relationships, families and collectives, globally, today and for generations to follow. Awareness and presence for the self as person and others; shining light on the delusion of a permanent self; acceptance of innate human selfish desire and persistent will to be, to improve, to accumulate, to exist, to become, to grow more and more; and neutralizing negative emotions is a giant step forward for all of us. Simply, just sit and help others.

    Again, thank you for your work: the unifying theme...the four major components of emotions (biology, spirituality, energetic power and psychology) is quite insightful and a marvelous sharing.

    John Edwin DeVore, Ph.D. (Sitting in the Flames, Amazon.com, 2006)

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Awesome book!

    Dr. Orloff's work is so helpful in this time of financial and emotional turmoil. As an intuitive myself, I like the way she connects the mind and body on a very deep level. Her work is very progressive in the field of psychiatry, and she gives us all, great solutions, on how to solve deep emotional issues. This book couldn't have been published at a better time and I really want to thank Judith from the bottom of my heart for touching me in a way that has helped me to get through each day! I will recommend this book to anyone and everyone that I know!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Glad I picked it up!!

    I am so very glad I picked this book up!! As soon as I did I cuoldn't put it down, and it has been such a good tool to get me through the tough "winter blahs" season and has changed my attitude on life going forward~ Thank you!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Glorious Emotional Freedom!

    Using your gut feelings to figure out life and what you should do about it is the hallmark of Dr. Orloff's Intuitive Healing practice. The popular psychiatrist's newest book, Emotional Freedom: Liberate Yourself from Negative Emotions and Transform Your Life teaches her readers how to transform their self-sabotaging tendencies in order to become free to live, to love, to forgive and to progress.

    The charm of Dr. Orloff's works is that she is not a dull writer tossing off clich&#233;s and boring bromides. She shares poignant and sometimes humorous insights into her own world of struggling with emotional issues, letting us know that she's as human as the rest of us. In this book she describes how she tunes in to her intuitive powers so that readers can do the same (see her videos for more examples of this). Intuition lets the author, her clients and readers better grasp what distresses or de-stresses them and what they ought to do to improve the quality of their lives.

    Dr. Orloff's prose is simple to understand, clearly presented in manageable chunks of information and practice instructions. When she explains how to "Reprogram the Biology of Jealousy" on pages 309-314, readers gain high impact insight and Action Step instructions for defeating some high stakes drama. The author explains that "Jealousy and envy are endemic to high school, a Petri dish for these emotional microbes." In a few paragraphs she demonstrates how to bolster self esteem and optimize human biology for bypassing present or long-ago sadness that can last a lifetime.

    The delightful achievements that Orloff and her clientele make by using the very advice she gives to her readers bring smiles to many faces reading her books. In Emotional Freedom, she'll have you grinning in Seven Transformational Steps that can have you facing fear and building courage, facing frustration/disappointment and building patience, facing loneliness and building connections, and more.


    Yocheved Golani, Self-Help Coach

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    A wonderful read, beautifully written, and very useful

    This book is filled with help. Negative emotions are inevitable in life, and for so many of us they are difficult, overwhelming, even debilitating. Dr. Orloff has created a detailed road map out of our emotional traps. There's no one-size-fits-all solution in psychiatry, and knowing this, Dr. Orloff wisely gives us lots of stories, exercises, meditations, many different approaches to getting through a problem, all of which are clear and accessible. There are many self-help books available, but Dr. Orloff is the X factor that makes this one especially good. You feel she's on your side from page one. She's pulling for all her patients--those in her office or those who read her books--to get out there and live their lives to the fullest. I can tell I'll use this book for many years.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you! Thank YOU! Thank You! The aboslutely best written book on psychiatry that I have ever read and HELPED me understand the field and isses.

    Dr. Judith, I would like to thank you for taking the time and expending the energy to create and write this wonderful book on "Emotional Freedom." It is the very first text on the subject that I have read that I can fully relate to dealing with psychiatry. Your terms of emtional vampires are so appropriate. I want to start a home town small group study using your text as the spring board of discussion. So many people can benefit from your insight, humor, guidance and applications of recommended action steps. I don't know if it is because you are also a Capricorn or what. But I can relate so well to your writing style and your ability to express yourself. You have helped confirm that I'm not "crazy", and that there are others that do think like I do and that I'm on the right path. Have you entertained the thought of using the term "quantum psychiatry" to help with the concept of energy?
    Dr. Thomas S. Brodar, D.C., L.C.P. - rural Delphi, IN

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    ...the book Judith Orloff is "here" to write--and we're "here" to read.

    In EMOTIONAL FREEDOM, Dr. Judith Orloff has painstakenly shown all of us how to "liberate yourself from negative emotions and transform your life." Yet, importantly, this isn't just for each of us as individuals; but we have what she calls "a bond with one another, and with the world," which we need to express through love rather than negativity so, as Einstein wrote, we won't fight World War IV with sticks and stones."
    This book is for all of us in another way: everyone will be able to find him or herself and receive extensive and profound guidance, depending on if you are an "empath," as I am, or, for example, "a rock"; and whether you need to transform frustration and disappointment into patience, as I do, or one or more of the other six transformations thoroughly described in the book. I was particularly affected when Judith would always include "the spiritual meaning." Also, while I read, she was right there with me: her true and powerful presence is evident throughout--and is the force that makes the book beautifully readable, understandable, and inspiring.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Amazing Read...

    This is a must have for everyone!! The name says it all... I will definitely be recommending to all my friends and family. This book is a very useful tool that I will use repeatedly for years to come.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    This is a life altering read!!

    After reading Dr. Judith's book I realized there was hope for my very good friend who fights continually for emotional freedom.
    I decided to share this book with her and found that we both received a great deal of information on how to achieve happiness through emotional freedom. For my friend, focusing on the positive has been a challenge and
    for me it has been defining my own space. How fortunate for us to have come across a book that would cater to both our needs. We read together,
    discuss each chapter and creat short term goals based on the information provided. We are achieving our goals of emotional freedom one page at a time. Thank you Dr. Judith.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Can't put this one down!

    Rarely does a book come along that goes beyond simply reading it and putting it on the shelf. Orloff's book, Emotional Freedom is more than a book....it is an essential life tool that I will have at my fingertips for years to come. She provides real strategies that help us to understand and to overcome negative emotions and truly be in control of our own happiness and joy. We often hear the phrase, "it isn't what happens to you, but what you do with what happens to you that matters." Thanks to Judith Orloff we now know HOW to make that truly a real concept in our lives. In today's world there are so many challenges we all face, and as parents they can be truly frightening and overwhelming. It is essential to learn real skills right now to cope with the emotions that come with these challenges. This is the only way to give our kids a strong role model for all of life's twists and turns. In learning to overcome toxic emotions and as Orloff calls them, "emotional vampires", we truly empower ourselves and ultimately our kids to live a life that is more free and filled with joy. I can't think of a better gift to give our kids and it is a commitment that every parent or anyone who has any influence or interactions with kids should make. If we make these changes in our lives and families starting right now, it will truly change the world! So get your copy and start making a real difference in ways that will come back to you and your family a hundred times over. Bravo Judith and thank you!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    A GREAT BOOK TO SUPPORT YOUR EMOTIONS

    I SO ENJOYED AND WAS COMFORTED BY EMOTIONAL FREEDOM. IN THESE CHALLENGING TIMES WE NEED A PRACTICAL ,INFORMATIVE BOOK ON HOW WE CAN DEAL WITH ALL WE ARE FEELING. THIS BOOK WAS EASY TO ABSORB AND THE RECOMMENDED PRACTICES WERE VERY ACCESSABLE. YOU TRULY FELT THAT DR ORLOFF HAD A GENUINE INTEREST IN YOUR WELL-BEING.
    I HAVE TOLD ALL MY FRIENDS ABOUT IT AND RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY!!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Life Changing Beacon

    In these times of loneliness, anxiety, frustration, and depression this book has been a transformational blessing to me. Have you ever caught yourself filled with negative emotions and realized it's almost literally deforming you, plunging you ever further into negativity, killing your self-esteem and confidence, distorting your relationships with others? It seems we're waiting for a single epiphany or strike of success to scoop us out of this darkness. The wonderful revelation of EMOTIONAL FREEDOM is that the luminosity and kernel of success to overcome these things is within us, in our core - in the secret language intuition - and that this can be understood, harnassed and used to change one's everyday relationships, to nurture compassion within and without, to let it win over the negative, blossoming into confidence, empathy, and the liberation to breathe life again. From the Introduction: "You can't achieve total freedom until you learn to take charge of emotions, instead of them running you. This is a radical paradigm shift we all can make, regardless of our present anxieties or past hardships." Many of us are beginning to feel this as a dire necessity and this book comes at just the right time, on the cusp of so many changes and hopes we'd all like transform and materialize into the good. It is a strategy for the victory of change, energy, hope, centeredness. Judith Orloff - in her inimitably palatable writing - is a lyrical, personal, and instructive guide on this journey to a new emotional landscape!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book -- Helpful to All...

    I recommend "Positive Engery" to all my clients, and now I have more tools to offer. Judith Orloff's newest book, "Emotional Freedom" is packed full of specific information that can help people free themselves of the old chains of self-imposed emotional bondage. She offers help, hope and lots of amazingly good advice, along with specific doable techiques. Once you read this book, you will feel empowered to claim your own "Emotional Freedom." Her writeing style is simple and direct and her insights invaluable. I recommend this book highly.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    This book will change lives

    Dr Judith Orloff has written a timely and compelling work that will change lives. In these days of emotional panic and chaos, Emotional Freedom is a treasured gift for strengthening health and wellness. Minutes after reading, I was able to place myself on a new path to disengage from pessimistic and judgmental thinking.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wide-ranging, practical, accessible ... I love this book!

    Judith Orloff MD's book EMOTIONAL FREEDOM is a thrilling vista for me insofar as she tackles the problems I and many people I know struggle with daily: anxiety, lack of patience, lonliness, control freaks, jealosy, low self-esteem, depression and finding a way out via compassion, connecting with others, achieving calm, understanding your dreams, using and trusting intuition (this has already helped me in daily life) and so much more. The depth and sensitivity of this book and its myriad advice is hard for me to summarize in this little space.

    I love the chapter breakdowns (7 transformations that speak to everyone I think) and the sub-chapter tables (which help clarify each point for future reference). My favorite chapter may be the one on Sleep and Dreams. Dealing first with insomnia and then moving onto dreams (which already opens with a beautifully inspiring title: "DREAMS AS OPPORUTUNIES FOR FREEDOM") Dr. Orloff goes into techniques and excercises on how to remember, explore, interpret, transform dreams -- to find the oracle and healing power of dreams within you.

    For me, it's a perfect blend of science, psychology and sprituality, spiced too by Dr. Orloff's anecdotes and humor throughout -- such a pleasure to read and learn from.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    A Practical Guide to Navigating Troubled Times

    Dr. Orloff has assembled a kit of tools that are perfectly tailored for all of us to deal with the turbulent times we find ourselves in now. As she says in lectures and workshops we have a choice about the kind of life we will live and how we will be shaped and influenced by the events and circumstances we encounter each day. Emotional Freedom is a primer on how to deal with people, places and things that ordinarily sap us of our energy and vitality and provides useful "on the court" exercises and processes for embracing all that the universe brings us and learning the lessons we otherwise have avoided time and time again. In the challenging days, weeks, months and years we have before us Emotional Freedom is a written GPS system to inner peace, comfort and joy that will more deeply and profoundly connect us to our world.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6