Customer Reviews for

Emperor: The Gods of War (Emperor Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Awesome

    =)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Love his books!!

    I have read all his Julius Ceaser books and they are never dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Omnia Gallia divisa en partes tres. They told us but then the story begins to get really juicy!

    If you like I spent much of yoour school time hunched over a Latin book, where you had to translate paragraphs, or pages and be prepared to read the text in both Latin.a language no one had heard spoken for 400 years , and English. You might find a quibble or two w/ this book. But not enough to make you stop wishing that this had beem around when you were reading Ceaser's conquests especially. He was his own best publicist, & I think the author here caught thay much bettet than my poor translations ever did. Well worh the time for any history buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Excellent historical fiction

    I truly enjoyed this book. I found the majority of the story to very plausible. If you are interested in Caesar at all, then this series is something that you may want to look into. In the historical notes, Conn Iggulden mentions that he may write the story of what happens after the conspiracy. I sure hope so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Good stuff

    Read all four of the books. Some things are off, but I dont really care, it entertains me. Awesome series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Historical Fiction without the Fiction.

    I have always loved the Emperor book series, and this book was yet another example of his writing abilities, but I can't help but regret that these books are Historical Fictions without the Historical part. Crassus defeated Spartacus not Pompey, and his whole army was defeated at Carrhae not just him and his son. Cato didn't die until 46 BC and in the books he is killed around 73 BC. Brutus never served under Caesar, and was years younger than him. Most importantly, Cicero wasn't even mentioned in the Catilinarian Conspiracy, and he's the man who defeated it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    What a story!!!!!

    I am a historical fiction nave,buff and enthusiast.I love ancient Roman history and all of it`s glory.Anybody that picks up the first book will be impressed with the characters and there roles in this series.The plots and sub-plots are subtle and easy to follow.The battle scenes are excellent.I guaratee you`ll never have an easy time putting this down for the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific ancient historical tale

    In 53 B.C. Commander of Gaul Julius Caesar leads four veteran legions, hardened by the victorious campaign, across the Rubicon. Caesar¿s threat to Rome leads a stunned Pompey to declare him ¿the enemy of Rome¿ in the Senate chambers. However, Pompey also knows that there is nothing in the city to stop Caesar¿s advance. Caesar expects the war with Pompey will prove his toughest but greatest achievement. --- Victory belongs to Caesar but he will one day find the fruits bitter. However, for now he controls Rome and no rival has surfaced since Pompey¿s defeat. He has the exotic Queen Cleopatra of Egypt as a mistress and ponders what next. His long time friend Marcus Brutus brooding over Caesar¿s ambition fears for the future of the Republic. He wonders when Caesar will claim he is the king and begins to plan how to stop the ascent that Brutus feels will ultimately lead to the destruction of Rome. --- The fourth ¿Emperor¿ tale (see THE FIELD OF SWORDS, THE DEATH OF KINGS, and THE GATES OF ROME) is a terrific ancient historical tale that feels in some ways as more of a biographical fictional account of Julius Caesar. The story line brings alive the civil war with Pompey who never expected a Roman legion to attack Rome, Caesar¿s tryst with Cleopatra, his friendship with Brutus throughout his rise to power and his apparent thirst for more. Though Brutus' concerns come across seemingly trivial and lacking conviction and compassion (unlike Shakespeare¿s version), readers will appreciate this fine entry that entertains and grips the audience from start to the Ides of March. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4