Customer Reviews for

Emperor: The Gates of Rome (Emperor Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable deep look at Ancient Rome

The mighty legions of Rome have extended the widening concentric power way beyond the political control of the ruling body, the Senate. Instead, the Generals of the conquering armies rule over the captured lands. The Roman leadership understands the need for a single Ca...
The mighty legions of Rome have extended the widening concentric power way beyond the political control of the ruling body, the Senate. Instead, the Generals of the conquering armies rule over the captured lands. The Roman leadership understands the need for a single Caesar with dictatorial authority to establish order so that the center holds. The current prime competitors for the job are Generals Marius and Sulla, both successful with their annexation campaigns. The Senate vacillates and civil war breaks out between the two legions with Sulla forcing Marius to retreat. However, Sulla returns to Greece to put down a rebellion, which allows Marius to triumphantly enter Rome and order the Senate to do his bidding. Watching his Uncle Marius¿ stratagem is his nephew Gaius who learns one key lesson to trust nobody, even though he allows his beloved childhood best buddy to remain close to him. Though anachronisms even noticed by this Shakespearean-based Ancient Roman buff will upset the purists, historical fiction readers will enjoy this deep look at Rome just before the rise of Julius Caesar. The thrilling story line is loaded with a feel for the Marius-Sulla rivalry and contains an intriguing spin (at least for us tyros) that sets the stage for the next volume. The audience obtains a robust look at key real life persons in their environs several of who could have served as role models for Machiavelli. Genre fans will take much delight with EMPEROR THE GATES OF ROME even those who knew before the climax the final turn of the chariot as Conn Igguldon spins a deep enthralling depiction. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Emperor Series: C. Iggulden more novel than history

The Emperer four part series is action packed and good reading but Iggulden changed the history without benefit. When I read an historical novel, I want to learn something and be entertained.. this went too far.. the facts were changed too much. He makes Caesar and Brut...
The Emperer four part series is action packed and good reading but Iggulden changed the history without benefit. When I read an historical novel, I want to learn something and be entertained.. this went too far.. the facts were changed too much. He makes Caesar and Brutus the same age when they were 15 years apart.. Rome was growing corn 1,500 years before it arrived in Europe.. Caesar's father died fighting when he actually died of a natural cause. It goes on and on and makes me wonder how much of his book is factual at all. Better to read another book to get the true story but, it is entertaining.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read

    I picked up this book while waiting for the train in York, UK. I was pleasantly surprised that once I started reading, I couldn't stop. The characters were all interesting. The story was appealing and very exciting. I loved the book and can't wait to continue with the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Emperor Series: C. Iggulden more novel than history

    The Emperer four part series is action packed and good reading but Iggulden changed the history without benefit. When I read an historical novel, I want to learn something and be entertained.. this went too far.. the facts were changed too much. He makes Caesar and Brutus the same age when they were 15 years apart.. Rome was growing corn 1,500 years before it arrived in Europe.. Caesar's father died fighting when he actually died of a natural cause. It goes on and on and makes me wonder how much of his book is factual at all. Better to read another book to get the true story but, it is entertaining.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable deep look at Ancient Rome

    The mighty legions of Rome have extended the widening concentric power way beyond the political control of the ruling body, the Senate. Instead, the Generals of the conquering armies rule over the captured lands. The Roman leadership understands the need for a single Caesar with dictatorial authority to establish order so that the center holds. The current prime competitors for the job are Generals Marius and Sulla, both successful with their annexation campaigns. The Senate vacillates and civil war breaks out between the two legions with Sulla forcing Marius to retreat. However, Sulla returns to Greece to put down a rebellion, which allows Marius to triumphantly enter Rome and order the Senate to do his bidding. Watching his Uncle Marius¿ stratagem is his nephew Gaius who learns one key lesson to trust nobody, even though he allows his beloved childhood best buddy to remain close to him. Though anachronisms even noticed by this Shakespearean-based Ancient Roman buff will upset the purists, historical fiction readers will enjoy this deep look at Rome just before the rise of Julius Caesar. The thrilling story line is loaded with a feel for the Marius-Sulla rivalry and contains an intriguing spin (at least for us tyros) that sets the stage for the next volume. The audience obtains a robust look at key real life persons in their environs several of who could have served as role models for Machiavelli. Genre fans will take much delight with EMPEROR THE GATES OF ROME even those who knew before the climax the final turn of the chariot as Conn Igguldon spins a deep enthralling depiction. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    awesome

    everything that this authur has written is eagerly read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Good Rome series!

    Initially I chose the book because I had already read this author's series on the life of Genghis Khan. Characters were well developed and likable. Having already read many wonderful series about Rome, I was initially skeptical.

    I enjoyed the author's writing style and the intimate voice of the main character, the young Julius Caesar.

    Those of you who enjoy good historical fiction will no doubt find this book and the other books in the series, a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    It was worth reading. Would recommend.

    I found the book interesting and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Excellent

    A mans man book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Must read!

    I found my summer series! I'm hooked! Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Good story line.

    It a little slow to start and occasionally predictable. Its an easy and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Great for history buffs

    Great way to get into the history immerse yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    O.K. Kind of interesting

    I would say as an avid reader this is a mediocre start to a series. I am not sure I want to continue the series on Caesar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    =)

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    you wont put it down

    this is my second time reading the series. it's one those stories you cant help but get lost in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    great book

    exceptional fictional history, follows the story of Julius Ceasar, learn while being entertained

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Read this book and you will want more from Iggulden

    Although "historical fiction" Iggulden has created a world that helps us better understand Roman times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast paced historical fiction

    A great action packed historical fiction. But unfotunately didn't quite jive with all the fact. However, I still enjoyed the charicters and excitement. I love reading fast paced historical fictions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    A very Entertaining Series

    I read all four books in this series and all were equally entertaining. Of course much of what makes this epic story work is fiction, however, it is somewhat suprising as to how much is based on fact and actual history. All in all, I found this series to be one of the better ones I have ever spent time on. I encourage anyone who has an interest in Ancient Rome, with a little artistic creativity added, to read this series. I very much enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Top-notch Storytelling!!

    This is a rousing tale of ancient Rome, and chronicles the early years of two of its most famous figures. The author brings each scene vividly to life, and shows his historic research through authentic period detail. The historical note at the completion of the novel was appreciated. This is the first in a series of books about Caesar's life. I can't wait to start the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    A Must Read!

    Incredible book! I couldn't put it down. Anyone that loves ancient Rome will love this book. I can't wait to read the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Excellent

    I really liked this book. I am in the middle of the second one currently and it is close to as good as this one. This is a great book and I would recommend it to readers who enjoy historical fiction. This book is pretty much based on Julius Caesar's childhood years but you can tell theres a few parts put in just for the entertainment of the reader. The second one is great too and a friend told me the third is also good. Read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7