Customer Reviews for

The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Average Rating 4
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book!

I heard the author on Public Radio and purchased the Nookbook. It is an excellent history of cancer and cancer research that strips away much of the mystery of the disease. I found it compelling and not difficult to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who...
I heard the author on Public Radio and purchased the Nookbook. It is an excellent history of cancer and cancer research that strips away much of the mystery of the disease. I found it compelling and not difficult to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has cancer or knows someone struggling with the disease. This is not a how-to book on comforting those with cancer. This is a book that gives knowledge on how the disease exists in the body and the challenges that lie ahead in defeating it. "The Emperor of All Maladies" not only contains facts but passion in fighting cancer and compassion in treating it. A must read.

posted by Kratz on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

IN DEPTH

This very lengthy history of the dreaded *C* was quite eye opening. I have been an RN since the late 70's,and it'amazing what leaps and bounds have been made during my career This is not always an easy read and sometimes comes across like a textbook, but it really cover...
This very lengthy history of the dreaded *C* was quite eye opening. I have been an RN since the late 70's,and it'amazing what leaps and bounds have been made during my career This is not always an easy read and sometimes comes across like a textbook, but it really covers cancer and its treatment with a highly clinical viewpoint. IKept waiting for the human aspect, but those glimpses were few and far between. Still, very educational

posted by Purr on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book!

    I heard the author on Public Radio and purchased the Nookbook. It is an excellent history of cancer and cancer research that strips away much of the mystery of the disease. I found it compelling and not difficult to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has cancer or knows someone struggling with the disease. This is not a how-to book on comforting those with cancer. This is a book that gives knowledge on how the disease exists in the body and the challenges that lie ahead in defeating it. "The Emperor of All Maladies" not only contains facts but passion in fighting cancer and compassion in treating it. A must read.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Very interesting and well written. May be too long for some.

    As a young physician, it was fascinating to hear about a disease that continues and will continue to haunt the human race. Towards the end, the pathways bit might be too much for a lay reader, but overall this is a fantastic book and will hopefully inspire some to cure cancer or to be at least cured.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    A valuable read for any science student

    As a biology student, I can assure you that this book is fascinating and elegant in every way. The way the author describes cancer pharmaceutics in the most elegant and beautiful way possible. He describes cisplatin as a "winged molecule that descends on DNA interrupting replication. If you are at all interested in the history of genetics or oncology, it is all covered in this book from Sidney Farber's discovery of Aminopterin to Thomas Hunt Morgan's work, to the state and future of cancer biology today. A great read.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    I found this book fascinating!!

    Maybe I loved it because I've been diagnosed with cancer and wanted to know more, but I couldn't put this book down. To me, it read like a who-done-it. It answered so many questions for me -- even questions I didn't know I had until I began reading. It gets very technical at times, but its written so that it is still understandable. Very well done.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    I picked up this book because I was, and I am sure you are, curi

    I picked up this book because I was, and I am sure you are, curious as to the hype surrounding it- I'm sure glad I did! Mukherjee did an excellent job in capturing and sustaining my interest through this chronicle of cancer's history. He was amazing at explaining the biological nitty-gritty details of cancer in a colloquial manner. I appreciate all that I learned from this life changing book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    You will not be disappointed

    You don't have to be a physician or scientist to get into Dr. Mukherjee's excellent biography of cancer. What is fascinating is that he calls this a biography, and as you read the history of this disease, you'll understand why. He treats cancer as if it is a living thing that warrants a biography. He blends history, sociology, psychology, forensic science and good old-fashioned detective work to make a highly readable history of how mankind has been in battle with this disease. He also gives tremendous insight into our modern day war on cancer: what has worked, what has not, and why. The best part of reading The Emperor is the writing style. On every page, Dr. Mukherjee gives an almost poetic description or phrase that makes you realize this man is not just a great doctor, but a great writer as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Anon

    I like this book because, it was refferenced in The Fault in Our Stars by JOHHHNNN GRRREEEEN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Persons who suffer, caregivers, and interested observers will all benefit from the study of the history of this malady that continues until the present day. My own personal condition, Multiple Myeloma, does not receive lots of in depth study but the explanations of all of the symptoms and treatments for the various forms helped me to better understand my treatment progression. This work lets the reader in on the "why" of the present day treatment procedures something every sufferer needs to better understand. Surprisingly easy to read considering the large volume of information.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Cancer Biology

    At the recommendation of an oncologist at tumor board, I decided to buy this book & glad to read this during my semester off from school, before I begin my journey in CA biology. It has given me a new insight on a group of diseases that continues to be a mystery, even as we solve one small piece of this large puzzle. Personally, it left me in awe in how far we have come & more enthralled with oncology than I was before. I very highly recommend this book, it is especially helpful as a cancer registrar, knowing how these drugs came about & how they attack cancer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    The book I needed to have when my young wife was diagnosed with

    The book I needed to have when my young wife was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer three years ago. What informed questions we could have asked!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Very Informative, Very well written!

    I thoroughly enjoyed every page. By reading the book in its entireity the reader has a deep sense of respect, awe, and frustration towards human nature's 'Emperor of all 'Maladies' Well done.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Excellent

    A very interesting read concerning a thousand foot view of the history of cancer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Error pg 108

    "...and his cheeks and nails fell out."
    Perhaps teeth and nails fell out?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    This is a biography of an unlikely subject: cancer. I have a par

    This is a biography of an unlikely subject: cancer. I have a particular interest in this topic as one of my sons is pursuing a PhD in molecular biology and genetics to become a cancer research scientist. This book helped me understand his field. To be perfectly honest, I had to overcome many generations of familial hypochondria to read this book and once I shoved those fears aside, I found the history of  the diseases that make up cancer, its treatments and discoveries very interesting. The author's writing style makes medical and scientific information accessible to the layperson. His colorful descriptions of the doctors and scientists who have played roles in cancer's biography, from ancient Egypt to modern times, make the book engaging. He weaves his own experience as a cancer oncologist into the story and he treats cancer patients who play roles in the book with dignity. I often find Pulitzer prize winning books too high brow or intellectual for entertaining reading, but this is a book I would recommend to anyone who is interested in this subject.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    AMAZING

    One of the most gripping, interesting, and thoughtful books I have read in 2012.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Excellen

    Well written history of cancer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Great Medical History

    Wonderful blending of the scientific hunt for cancer cures, the author's personal experience with cancer patients and the evolution of medical knowledge - both as it relates to cancer but generally as well.

    It explained a lot of the time lag between research and treatment so that even as researchers were discovering tons about the workings of cancer - particularly the genetic components - treatment still consisted of refinements of the brute force chemo, radiation and surgery until well into the 90s for the most part. It's only since then that treatments using the genetic knowledge became available and that continues today.

    Particularly anyone having to make decisions involving treatment - whether professionally, personally or on behalf of loved ones - this is a must-read to put things in perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Well written and very informative

    This book is very well written and highly informative. By the time I finished I had a much better understanding of what cancer is and why it is treated the way it is. The author does this by tracing the long history of cancer and cancer research up to the modern day. I highly recommend this book to anyone that wants to learn more about cancer or just enjoys science related books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    If you've ever wondered about cancer...

    I you've ever wondered about cancer this is a book to read. I study cancer for a living and found this book to be extremely comprehensive and able to illustrate the full scope of cancer and the problem it presents to doctors and researchers. It is great to find a book that is well researched and translates cancer into laymans terms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Fantastic

    Very informative and written so that a non medical person is able to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7