Customer Reviews for

The Emperor of Nihon-Ja (Ranger's Apprentice Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 893 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(748)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Not the last book

I emailed John a while back. He mentioned this was not going to be the last book. He still has a couple more that he's working on which will be coming out.

posted by Preceding_Chaos on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

HOPE!!!!

I hope ur right plz plz make a sequel to 10

posted by 13664512 on October 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 906 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not the last book

    I emailed John a while back. He mentioned this was not going to be the last book. He still has a couple more that he's working on which will be coming out.

    40 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding from Beginning to the Ending

    This is one of the best of the Ranger's Apprentice Series. Oh, I hope it isn't the last one. After reading 10 of these books, the characters feel like my relatives...ones I like to visit as opposed to those I'd prefer not to see often. Horace has gotten himself into a mess as usual. He was sent by King Duncan to find out some helpful information from the Emperor of Nihon-Ja. He even becomes friends with the Emperor. Just as Horace is about to return to Araluen, the Emperor is attacked by a man who wants to murder him and become the new emperor and certainly not a nice one. Horace finds himself right in the middle of mess. He has to stay and protect his friend the Emperor and help him defeat his enemy. Horace has been missing and Halt, Will, Alyss, and Evanlyn..aka...Princess Cassandra are sent to find him. They find him in the middle of what could become a war. The plot is slower than Flanagan's last two books but it has to be. The characters are stuck in one place due to the weather. The young ones are more mature and experienced in this book. Halt offers his wise advice but the young ones especially Will come up with some clever ways to make things work. I must admit that I did mess the usual bantering between Halt, Will, and Horace. There is some in the book of course but not as much. Their bantering back and forth makes these books so much fun to read. The ending is good. The last paragraph in the last chapter just made me laugh!! It made the book well worth reading. If you are a fan, read this book. If you aren't a fan, you will start reading the whole series. I do so hope it isn't the last time I will read about my friends, but if it is Mr. Flanagan I must say it has been a journey well worth reading!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story

    Great story with colorful characters and a fast moving plot. It kept the kids entertained for hours. Days later, they were still talking about it.

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Very good book. Great plot, great characters.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    yay!!!!!!

    he is aparently on book 14 in austrailia. i wish his books came out sooner. cant wait to read it!!!!!!!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely LOVED it! A MUST read!!! Excellent!

    John Flanagan fails to amaze me. He is a very talented author. There are very few series I would read to the very end if they had more than five books. Until now, the only author series I've read that have been longer than five books are Harry Potter and the first twelve books of The Secrets of Droon. My point? For me to read a series for this long and be willing to read more, the author has to be pretty darn good.

    The Emperor of Nihon-Ja was great! I absolutely loved the drama between Evalyn and Alyss! It was really awesome when they had to work together without anyone else's supervision. This book focused a little bit on everyone, which I liked and didn't like at the same time. I miss the story having more of an emphasis on Will like in the fifth or sixth books. At the same time though, I liked how the story had a more even focus on everyone. Will is so blind when it comes to girls; it makes me laugh. But that's part of his character.

    As you can imagine, there's a big battle at the end of the book. One of the best parts about the battle is that fact that Will leads it. He's the commander. Yes, he has help and stuff but he's the kind of like the master mind behind it. In previous battles, we've seen how Rangers usually stand back and pull the strings during a battle. Instead of Halt doing this, Will did. He was like the leader of the group at that point, protecting the Emperor. He's like a mini Halt. I love it!

    The writing was, as usual, spectacular. Flanagan can really write a battle scene! He's done a great job staying true to the characters all this time. The banter between them all is as enjoyable as ever and is always one of my favorite elements of the book. I really do hope this isn't the last book in the series.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    highly recommended-acction, history and adventure great fun.

    the emperor of nihon-ja is a fast and furious adventure, with a bit history woven in. read and injoy, join the adventure.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    good as ever

    It is always sad to read the last book in a series. Bit it was good adventure. this book did not let down any. Horace is in fareast learn of different sword fighting style and becomes good friend and admire of The Emperor. When he is overtaken his throne by arisaka and his lies. Horace decides to flee with some of the emperor followers when a messenger comes letting theemperor know. Evelyn hears that Horace is missing and she comes to find will and halt who are in another country to help mediate peace treaty between two countries. So Will,Holt,Princess evelyn,alysa and others go to find out what happened to horace and stay to help fight for the emperor and the common people who are loyal. Its fun book. I enjoyed it and fans of the series will like it too

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Very good book! I have read it :)

    This book has already comd upin Denmark and i have read it but this isn't the last battle i can say. It's just the last battle in Nihon-Ya if it should be the last something? But i can say it's top recommended and it's relly good, and i think personally he should keep go on writing just send my questions if you want. :)

    Good job, Flanagan :)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    This is kiki to whoever put out the miove idae.

    Sure it would make a graet miove.Exsepte they would toldly mess it up!!!!Anyway ILOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!~bye!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Whyyyyyy!!!!!1

    I heard this is the last book in the novel. I'm gonna buy it today........... -crosses fingers- hopefully Alyss and Will get married, if not................. Awwwww
    Btw you could totally tell Alyss hates evelyn ( i don't think i spelled that right)
    I was waiting for the nerdy guy to come back on I don't know why but i like his personality.... so I'm all happy.... -end rly long paragraph-

    P.S GET THE BOOKS I RECOMMENDED THEY ARE SO GREAT if you like this book you'll love the 1 i picked

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    My Rating And Review

    If I could I would bive this a 6, the plot is amazing and the charecters refreshing; wheter or not they are new characters or returning friends; i finished the royal ranger and found it disipionting. So why did I love it? Because ive gotten to know the charecters so well, and I was clinging to whatever new material the series had left. I read the Royal Ranger 3 times because of that. I dearly hope that the series that inspired me to get into reading does not end now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Toch here: people that jut talk!!!

    This is a revew section, not facebook!!!! If you are going to talk to someone get there $$%#%-ing phone number and call there &#$@&-house!! GET OFF YOUR NOOK!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    The Ranger's Apprentice

    This series is amazing check it out!!!


    ( GO DOWN )

























    These are pants
    ?

    •_- wink
    -_• wink

    [•_•]
    [ ] •_• think outside the box


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Im a poet. Did you know it?

    This flower
    Gives me power
    To face the day
    And sing Hurray
    Fore evermore

    Please dont pout
    Just sing and shout
    And not have a care in the world

    Cats play with yarn
    Cows live in barns
    That cake sure was yummy
    But now theres fat in my tummy
    And i feel like i might burst

    Party all night long
    Then sing yourself a song
    So you can fall asleep(or you could read my poetry)

    Peace out poets! -NCH

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed entire series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Hg dsghadhfmnba

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    PS.
    Does anyone know if John Flanagan is working on any more books? If u do, post it here!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Anonymous

    [} - - - - - - Run! Wait what?! — — — — {)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    AWSOME

    Best seris ever this is better then harry potter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 906 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46