Customer Reviews for

The Emperor of Ocean Park

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved This Book!

I was impressed with" The Emperor of Ocean Park" and have become a fan of Stephen L. Carter. The book was an excellent fusion of mystery, espionage and personal relationships. It included relations between husbands and wives, parents and children, siblings, friends and ...
I was impressed with" The Emperor of Ocean Park" and have become a fan of Stephen L. Carter. The book was an excellent fusion of mystery, espionage and personal relationships. It included relations between husbands and wives, parents and children, siblings, friends and co-workers. It touched upon family secrets, the effects of birth order and sibling rivalry.

"The Emperor of Ocean Park" also included looks at competiveness in the political arena, in the academic circle and in the world of competitive chess. I most enjoyed Stephen L. Carter's depiction of educated, articulate, professional African Americans interacting and challenging all of those worlds. Mr. Carter obviously enjoyed displaying his extensive vocabulary. I sometimes had to run and get my dictionary to get definitions of some of the legal and chess terms that he used.

All in all, it was an excellent mystery with many twists and turns. I have also read his subsequent novels and enjoyed seeing characters from "The Emperor of Ocean Park" reappearing.

posted by Avid-ReaderCM on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ugh!

Unreadable.... I hate to say this, but I just wasn't feeling this book. The prose was so clunky and convoluted, it was mentally exhausting. I didn't finish it.

posted by 1260000 on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Ugh!

    Unreadable.... I hate to say this, but I just wasn't feeling this book. The prose was so clunky and convoluted, it was mentally exhausting. I didn't finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Save yourself some money and just read a dictionary.

    I love to read. This book almost changed my mind about reading. It went on and on and on to the point where it became the first book I 've ever given up on. To those who enjoyed the book, you have way more patience than I have, but I consider a good book has to hold your attention. I gave this book a chance, and then I gave this book away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Snore

    Mr. Carter could have said the same thing in half the words. It was too repetive and difficult to remember the large cast of characters. I wouldn't have even minded if the ending were worth the effort, but it was simply disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    I just couldn't get into this book...

    I was excited about reading this book. I bought the book and started reading it while in the airport waiting for my flight. After a 2 hour wait in the airport and a 2 hour flight, I barely read 50 pages. Reading this book was like pulling teeth. Subsequently, I ended up accidently leaving the book on the airplane while trying to gather up my daughter...good riddance!!! Get this book from the library, and save yourself some money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Could Not Get Into It! Too Drawn Out!

    I saw this book on the NYTimes best seller's list and was very excited to read a suspense novel by an African American author. I read some of the negative B&N reviews and thought that I would judge for myself, but after reading about 200 pages, I still could not get into this book. A) The book needs to be heavily edited and re-released. When the suspense is building regarding the murder of the title character, the next chapter should not turn into a five-page irrelevant-to-the-plot retrospective on a certain section of the law school in which the main character has tenor. This causes the reader to lose interest quickly. B) I found the use of 'the darker' and 'the paler' nation irritating. It seems the author did not have faith that readers would be able to differentiate the race of characters through simple descriptive terms like, 'African-American' or 'Caucasian'. C) The main character, although educated, is extremely passive and has no depth to his character whatsoever. He seems to only react off the other characters and not be proactive. For an African American male character to be portrayed this way is a farce and a disservice to his strong Black nature. My book is going back tomorrow. Holla if ya hear me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    wait for the paperback!

    i have to admit, i've decided to quit reading this book after completing only the first 89 pages....& it's taken me 3 days to do that! the book is DRY. it is SLOW. i'm used to a faster paced, action packed legal thriller à la John Grisham/Phillip Margolin genre. give me a book that grabs me from page 1 & keeps on grabbing until its stunning conclusion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Lost between Styles!

    This novel is unreasonably too long and the author appears to be sadly lost bewtween writing styles of Grisham and Ellison. Although he uses the vocabulary skillfully and could serve a linguistic purpose, the ending is too weak and thoughtless, which makes this novel a pale imitation of above mentioned Great Authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Major DIsappointment

    I hardly ever give up on a book, but this one just went on and on without going anywhere. Misha got to be downright depressing after the first few chapters. His relationship with his wife was hollow and unbelievable. All the characters were unrealistic in that they were all so accomplished, powerful, intelligent. Doesn't Misha know someone who takes out the trash? I read over 300 pages and then couldn't take it anymore because almost nothing happened. Where were the editors? Doesn't anyone have the courgage to call this book the clunker that it really is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2002

    'Empirically' speaking, nothing but overhyped, meandering drivel

    I wonder A) why a publisher thought this book was worth $2 million; B) who paid Grisham to plug this book on The Today Show; and C) why some literary reviews (a minority thankfully) are giving this book great press. THE EMPEROR OF OCEAN PARK can't make up its mind whether it wants to be Grisham or Ellison, so it's content to be a pale comparison to either. To the people who say they 'loved' this book, I don't think its glaring weaknesses should even be up for debate. Empirically speaking, the chapters consistently end on corny, cliched notes; the books ending being the penultimate in ridiculous. The dialogue is stilted, the pacing is painfully slow, do NOT believe the hype. At the very least, save this doorstop purchase for the winter months, when you can at least rationalize that you have nothing better to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1