Customer Reviews for

The Emperor of Ocean Park

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved This Book!

I was impressed with" The Emperor of Ocean Park" and have become a fan of Stephen L. Carter. The book was an excellent fusion of mystery, espionage and personal relationships. It included relations between husbands and wives, parents and children, siblings, friends and ...
I was impressed with" The Emperor of Ocean Park" and have become a fan of Stephen L. Carter. The book was an excellent fusion of mystery, espionage and personal relationships. It included relations between husbands and wives, parents and children, siblings, friends and co-workers. It touched upon family secrets, the effects of birth order and sibling rivalry.

"The Emperor of Ocean Park" also included looks at competiveness in the political arena, in the academic circle and in the world of competitive chess. I most enjoyed Stephen L. Carter's depiction of educated, articulate, professional African Americans interacting and challenging all of those worlds. Mr. Carter obviously enjoyed displaying his extensive vocabulary. I sometimes had to run and get my dictionary to get definitions of some of the legal and chess terms that he used.

All in all, it was an excellent mystery with many twists and turns. I have also read his subsequent novels and enjoyed seeing characters from "The Emperor of Ocean Park" reappearing.

posted by Avid-ReaderCM on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ugh!

Unreadable.... I hate to say this, but I just wasn't feeling this book. The prose was so clunky and convoluted, it was mentally exhausting. I didn't finish it.

posted by 1260000 on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved This Book!

    I was impressed with" The Emperor of Ocean Park" and have become a fan of Stephen L. Carter. The book was an excellent fusion of mystery, espionage and personal relationships. It included relations between husbands and wives, parents and children, siblings, friends and co-workers. It touched upon family secrets, the effects of birth order and sibling rivalry.

    "The Emperor of Ocean Park" also included looks at competiveness in the political arena, in the academic circle and in the world of competitive chess. I most enjoyed Stephen L. Carter's depiction of educated, articulate, professional African Americans interacting and challenging all of those worlds. Mr. Carter obviously enjoyed displaying his extensive vocabulary. I sometimes had to run and get my dictionary to get definitions of some of the legal and chess terms that he used.

    All in all, it was an excellent mystery with many twists and turns. I have also read his subsequent novels and enjoyed seeing characters from "The Emperor of Ocean Park" reappearing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Clodyeyes

    Lmfao

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    Stephen L. Carter is a brilliant writer with a unique writing style that draws you in from the very beginning and doesn't let you go. In this book he deals with such topics as the US legal system, how an Ivy League faculty really works and a disintegrating marriage, all while giving the reader an enduring mystery with enough twists to make one's head spin. This book is a must for anybody who's interested in a great thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Ocean of Blood: Chapter 5

    It has been two months since Cyborg Hearts has been captured when she was still known as Pearl Hearts. Blackening Scar continued to send out Cyborg on ki<_>lling assignments. Cyborg's mane and tail has been allowed to grow out, and her intact eye gained a ma<_>nic look to it. Cyborg Hearts was getting tired of being cooped up in a small room, and only being allowed to get out to eat or to ki<_>ll. So she came up with a plan to escape the SEAA. Finally, Cyborg came up with one that just might work.<p>"Time to eat." Blackening Scar said, opening the door. Usually, Cyborg Hearts would fight the black alicorn, but this time she let Blackening drag her. Suspicious, Blackening asked her "Why aren't you struggling?" "I realized it's no use. How could I escape such a high-security building?" Cyborg lied. Blackening Scar laughed "Finally, you had gotten the message through your thick sk<_>ull." Cyborg Hearts responded with just a nod. When they entered the small room, Blackening left her to let her eat while Cobra Ve<_>nom watched her. The tray before Cyborg held gr<_>illed ch<_>icken and ma<_>shed po<_>tatoes, along with a kn<_>ife and fo<_>rk. She spilled food on the floor while she ate, until Cyborg Hearts supposedly sl<_>iced the ch<_>icken on the edge (which was hangling slightly over the edge of the table) "too hard", making it flip over and fall on the floor. "Clean it up!" Ordered Cobra Ve<_>nom. While Cyborg cleaned up the mess, she secretly hid the kn<_>ife under her left robot wing. Because now the food was de<_>emed in<_>edible, Cyborg was escorted back to her room by Cobra while the chefs prepared a new meal. About halfway there, she st<_>abbed Cobra in the ch<_>est with the hidden kn<_>ife. After sl<_>icing off his Cutie Mark and going to her room to get her Cutie Mark collection, Cyborg Hearts made a run for it.<p>The moment Cyborg busted down an iron door, the alarms went off. "DA<_>NGEROUS SUBJECT LOOSE. PLEASE KEEP CALM. WE WILL TAKE IT DOWN." A calm feminine voice said over the in<_>tercom while Cyborg Hearts ran. Decay Tree and another pony tried to stop Cyborg, only for the an<_>onymous pony to get knocked out while Decay was ki<_>lled by Cyborg's kn<_>ife. She pulled out the kn<_>ife and took the unknown pony's gun before Cyborg continued fleeing the building. When Cyborg neared the exit, she was stopped by Blackening Scar. "So, trying to escape, are you?" She snarled. Cyborg Hearts stared into her violet eyes. "Yeah. And you better get out of my way if you know what's good for you." Blackening pulled out a gu<_>n and tried to shoot her with it, but it only hit her right hindleg, unharming Cyborg. Cyborg Hearts retailiated by throwing her knife at Blackening, which em<_>bedded itself in her right foreleg. "You'll get wo<_>rse than that if you try to go after me." Warned Cyborg Hearts. Then she broke down the exit door and flew out, leaving Blackening Scar to scream in anger.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Really good read!

    suspense & smart writing makes for a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Beachstar

    Curls up in her nest and falls asleep.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    A great book

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    Awesome Reading

    I purchased the book based on my favorite author's review, John Grisham. What I enjoyed most was the story line's twists and turns. The characters were often unsuspecting, and I particularly enjoyed the sprinkling of surprise actions and motives. I lose count of those I have either purchased the book for or insisted they add to their collection. <BR/><BR/>Awesome book and author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    An avid reader

    I like serious detailed writing, so I loved this novel. The fact it was a lengthy novel was a plus. He presented real life dialogue & offered excellent humor. I could see his sister the first time he introduced her. His setting pulled me right into the scenery. I'm pleased to know some authors realize all of us are not satisfied with fast paced scenes filled with sex, profanity, & killing. Thumbs up to Mr. Carter for writing a drawn out meaningful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Couldn't put it down

    I was a little intimidated by this book when I saw it because it was a little longer than I had time for. But, I found myself reading this book everywhere! It is excellent. The plot twists keep you wanting more. It is an excellent book for a book club. You will have plenty to discuss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    NEW FAVORITE BOOK

    I absolutely loved this book. I have never written a review, but had to on this one. It was such an awesome book that I read it in 2 1/2 days because I simply couldn't put it down. There were so many layers & unforseen twists to this story but Mr. Carter brilliantly kept them simplified as to not confuse. I love the insight into the Black middle class that is rarely seen. My only complaint is that some of his descriptions were a little too lenghty; they could go on for pages. However, it did not prevent me from being captivated by the characters and the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Loved the Emperor of Ocean Park

    I bought the Emperor in hard cover when it first came out but keep putting off reading it becuase the book was large and awkward to handle. When I finally started reading it I was pleasantly surprised with the insight into the African American middle class. A group I don't often get to read about. Before I could finish the book I found the novel on audio cassette. I bought it and my son and I played it on our morning commute and loved every minute of it. So I will be returning to the hard cover so that I can enjoy the pieces parts that were edited out of the audio version. Steven Carter should write another story focusing in on Addison. I enjoyed this novel much more than those written by more popular mystery authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    A must for anyone who appreciates various African American lifestyles, the game of Chess & John Grisham-type fiction.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Stephen Carter's Work! It was an engaging, insightful, cultural and perspective read. Each of the characters were well developed and introduced at just the right time. It inspired a greater respect for the game of chess and the connection to every life and living. I'm waiting for another fictional work from Mr. Carter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    A real page turner - after the first 100!

    Many stories and many levels in each story. It opened me up to a world I have not seen before - upper class blacks. The action seens were thrilling, the characters well drawn and the law school staff - characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Stunning!

    I enjoyed this book because it was well written and kept me in a state of 'anticipation!' I have always been intrigued by the thinking of other people whom judge everything in their lives by 'color.' The author is much deserving of this and many more stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    One of the best books I ever read

    It's really interesting when you first start reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    The Best

    This book is one of the best book ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    single mom, avid reader

    This was an excellent book. One can defintely tell that the writer is highly educated, as indicated by the verbiage used. I particularly enjoyed the references to chess and how the game is interwoven into the plot. The racism was very overt, and at times, a little annoying. Do we still live in a world where everything has to be defined by what color you are? I didn't think so, but apparently Mr. Carter disagress. It is, however, a very well told, very cerebral story. I enjoyed it immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    Single Mom/Avid reader

    This is an extremely well written book. I love the way the author incorporates chess into the plot of the story, having always enjoyed the game. This is one book that I didn't have figured out. Every time you think you know what's going on and who's behind it all, everything changes. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I think that much of the verbage used would be over most people's heads. It's easy to tell when reading that this man is an Ivy League professor. He really knows his stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Could I have found a better book!!!

    I read this book not knowing what to expect. I had heard about it so long ago that I forgot what it was about. I found myself captivated by the narrator. Stephen Carter does a great job at taking the reader to the inner depths of the main character while providing just enough action to move the story along. He seems to cleverly anticipate the reservations of the reader of this mystery, leading you to buy into things that you ordinarily would not accept. He neatly weaves together several riveting subplots, while covertly pulling you deeper into what can be characterized an a somewhat ridiculous main plot. By the time you realize the utter outrageousness of the plot, it's too late. You have bit the bait and all you can do is allow the rest of the story to reel you in. Not to worry, at the end, you realize that it was a great ride. And even though you find it a little sickening that you enjoyed it so much, you would probably do it all over again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3