Customer Reviews for

The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

another revelation as the clue hunt nears the finish line

And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old siste...
And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old sister Amy Cahill and their au pair Nellie Gomez in China, a country with a population of over one billion people. Dan inadvertently joins Jonah Wizard and we learn more about this character, the Janus branch, and his role in the search for the 39 clues.

I love the relationship between Dan and his sister. We get to see how it is tested once again at this point in the story and how much they care for one another. Two scenes in this book reveal their characters when faced with choices to beat their opponents.

The historical figures that lead us to the next clue are Puyi, China's last emperor, and George Mallory. I really enjoyed the setting of this book, and although the last nail-biting scene was a little far-fetched, it's what marks The 39 Clues as an adventurous roller-coaster ride filled with interesting historical and scientific tidbits. Unlike the other books, this one also contains a message within the book that is conveyed by putting together the 17 words circled throughout the book. They form three sentences.

Two more books left in this series and I am eager to find out how it will all come to a finish. For fans of The 39 Clues this book will not disappoint. It builds up expectation for what will come next . and for the climactic ending, no doubt.

posted by Laura-Fabiani on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

WHO IS HOPE LOST???

Please respond. WHO IS SHE? Hope lost... -is a she - has a best friend - thinks key boards are hard to work with - hates the 39 clues

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Amazing book

    This s a amazing book. It has so many fun things in it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Books

    IT ROCKS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great Series

    This series is awesome!! It seems to have the perfect balance of action and mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    josh

    This series is awesome i like how the series rotates authors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great

    my son loves these books!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great like always

    All the authors who wrote these books are talented writers. Loved every book i read so far and ik im not going to be dissappointed. A must read series. Lots of action in this book. Loved how amy cares for her little bro dan. So cute. Great book. Highly reccomneded.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Great for kids who love puzzles...BUT

    This book keeps my son reading and reading. He likes that each book travels to different countries, but asks me, "Shouldn't these kids be in school?" True. He recognizes the lack of realism in this book and that the danger two kids face is most unlikely, but he does get engaged enough in the book to keep reading and wanting the next book in the series. The only other problem that he sees is that there are 39 books to be read, which to young reader seems endless and disheartening like what's the point of reading because I'll never get to book 39...It's too far away. And here is the other thing, will he be too old to care when Book 39 is created? Will he outgrow the series? The answer is most definitely, "Yes." So,...it's a good read for now to put on the reading log, but was 39 clues, 39 of them a good idea?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    My son loves this series and he gets online and plays the games there as well. He has grown to love reading! He started with this series and is just reading non-stop now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Good, but not as good as previous

    It just seems that when Dan and Amy split up the story stalls. I wanted to get through it so I could keep getting clues, but found myself struggling with some of the chapters, unlike the previous books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Of The Best...

    This eighth installment in the 39 Clues was a fabulous book! In fact, I'd say that this was one of my favorite books in the whole series! Once again, Gordan Korman, who also wrote book two "One False Note," did a great job adding to this series that seems to keep on surprising all of it's readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    clues go deeper

    i cannot wait for the newest 39 clues book. i personally think it might be the best. the climax explodes with madrigals and other family rivals are looking for the ultimate clue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    The sword 0f posiden part 11

    In this part i will be describing the charecters. <br><br><br> [Alex Larson] he is 16 with slightly long brown hair that wont stay down and brown eyes. He had been homeles for 2 years before this story happend. He has a slight tan and normally wears a shirt jeans ad a hoodie. He hes a crush on Sun Toren. Is Megan Larsons older brother and will do anything for his sister <br><br><br> [Megan Larson] she is 15. She has long blond hair she keeps braided over her shoulder. She has eletric blue eyes and has an amazing smile. She is Alex's beloved younger sister. <br><br><br> [Katie Blunt] she is 12 years old and is the youngest of the shadow children. She has red hair thats always in a ponytail and has brown eyes. <br><br><br> [Carson boyd] he has yet to be used in the story but here he is. He has black hair and blue-green eyes. He is 15. <br><br><br> [Sun Toren] she is 14. She has lovely blond hair and lovely blue eyes. Her hair was painted permantly gold while beening held a slave by Gaea. she has a crush on Alex. <br><br><br> and those are your main charecters for the sword of posiden. Next part is at book 9 thanks for reading —&#9787

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-8

    Hey, guys. I've got bad news. I'm going out of the country to France for a month. I don't know if I'll be able to post in that time. Sorry. Next part at 39 clues series #9: Storm Warning. This part will be in Merida's p.o.v. Hope u like! ••••••••••••••••••••••• I had been claimed. I was a little scared at first to look, but when I did my heart skipped a beat. There was a little glowing symbol that looked like smoke." The Mist!", said Agatha," Your a daughter of........ Hecate."" The goddess of the Mist.", said Austin. I was glad I wasn't a daughter of Zeus, then I couldn't be a couple with Jay." Lets take her to Chiron.", Pepper said." Why?", I asked. Jay said," Just because. Chiron needs us." They led me to the Big House. The whole way there I was wondering why everyone was acting so weird. When we got inside, we found Chiron and they told him what happened. •••••••••••••••••••••••••• Sorry my nook has 5% battery left. Bye. Love you all. S.E.A :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    #YOLO

    Wazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    To SK

    Hurry up! Please ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Third here for S.K.

    Love your story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    To storm warning

    His last name is Parker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Here for TTBPJ!!!

    Keep up the great work Jillian!!!!!!! Keep up with my story!! Part 9 is up on book four of sister grimm series!!!!!~ author of The Sorceress' Labyrinth (PS-HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! :D)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    S S.J. here first for TTBPJ!

    Your wrong Jillian Im not sally Jackson!!!!! Not very far from the truth though. I am related to Percy. ~ S.J.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8