Customer Reviews for

The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

another revelation as the clue hunt nears the finish line

And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old siste...
And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old sister Amy Cahill and their au pair Nellie Gomez in China, a country with a population of over one billion people. Dan inadvertently joins Jonah Wizard and we learn more about this character, the Janus branch, and his role in the search for the 39 clues.

I love the relationship between Dan and his sister. We get to see how it is tested once again at this point in the story and how much they care for one another. Two scenes in this book reveal their characters when faced with choices to beat their opponents.

The historical figures that lead us to the next clue are Puyi, China's last emperor, and George Mallory. I really enjoyed the setting of this book, and although the last nail-biting scene was a little far-fetched, it's what marks The 39 Clues as an adventurous roller-coaster ride filled with interesting historical and scientific tidbits. Unlike the other books, this one also contains a message within the book that is conveyed by putting together the 17 words circled throughout the book. They form three sentences.

Two more books left in this series and I am eager to find out how it will all come to a finish. For fans of The 39 Clues this book will not disappoint. It builds up expectation for what will come next . and for the climactic ending, no doubt.

posted by Laura-Fabiani on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

WHO IS HOPE LOST???

Please respond. WHO IS SHE? Hope lost... -is a she - has a best friend - thinks key boards are hard to work with - hates the 39 clues

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    another revelation as the clue hunt nears the finish line

    And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old sister Amy Cahill and their au pair Nellie Gomez in China, a country with a population of over one billion people. Dan inadvertently joins Jonah Wizard and we learn more about this character, the Janus branch, and his role in the search for the 39 clues.

    I love the relationship between Dan and his sister. We get to see how it is tested once again at this point in the story and how much they care for one another. Two scenes in this book reveal their characters when faced with choices to beat their opponents.

    The historical figures that lead us to the next clue are Puyi, China's last emperor, and George Mallory. I really enjoyed the setting of this book, and although the last nail-biting scene was a little far-fetched, it's what marks The 39 Clues as an adventurous roller-coaster ride filled with interesting historical and scientific tidbits. Unlike the other books, this one also contains a message within the book that is conveyed by putting together the 17 words circled throughout the book. They form three sentences.

    Two more books left in this series and I am eager to find out how it will all come to a finish. For fans of The 39 Clues this book will not disappoint. It builds up expectation for what will come next . and for the climactic ending, no doubt.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Got it as gift. It was great. loved it.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolute Best series

    This is an absolute thrilling book from beginning to end. The book takes you on an adventure around the world with two children Dan and Amy and their chase to find the 39 clues. The book is the 8th in a set of 10 that take you on a thrilling chase around the world. These books are more for a 4th grade or older reading level. I originally started buying them for my daughter thinking she would like to read them when she got older and so I decided to read them myself. My husband also loves them and we can't wait till the next one comes out. These books remind me of the movie national treasure with all the ways that the clues are all set in history. Definatly a set that you will want to buy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    The awsome book. :)

    Okay well I love this book, it's advetures with a hint of mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Awesome

    Try this book its great

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Awsome book

    This series is awesome! I also like the Alex Rider Series. It is like the same thing though.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Mary

    This book makes you turn the page and keep reading every second of the day so if you havnt bought it yet you should you will love it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    39 Clues ROCK!!!!

    I love the the 39 clues series and all the little events that happen in them. Absolutly THRILLING!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Read most of the series

    Love it. Adventures and mysteries on the cahill's family secret.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Don't knt Don't know

    I have not read it yet but I hear it is good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    I love the39 clues

    It is fantastick it is so real

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2014

    The Cahill family hits China for the next clue in the worldwide

    The Cahill family hits China for the next clue in the worldwide hunt, encountering the famous terracotta warriors. A rift between the siblings ensues and secrets spill out. The Cahills won't ever be the same after realizing a new discovery about what the 39 Clues signify. 

    Not to give away one of the big landmarks in the story, but I absolutely loved the adventure Amy and Dan had after leaving China. (For those of you who have read it >>> The mini-adventure makes me excited to read Korman's trilogy on the same topic, because he seems so knowledgeable of the facts.)

    Definitely a favorite of mine from this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-8

    Hey, guys. I've got bad news. I'm going out of the country to France for a month. I don't know if I'll be able to post in that time. Sorry. Next part at 39 clues series #9: Storm Warning. This part will be in Merida's p.o.v. Hope u like! ••••••••••••••••••••••• I had been claimed. I was a little scared at first to look, but when I did my heart skipped a beat. There was a little glowing symbol that looked like smoke." The Mist!", said Agatha," Your a daughter of........ Hecate."" The goddess of the Mist.", said Austin. I was glad I wasn't a daughter of Zeus, then I couldn't be a couple with Jay." Lets take her to Chiron.", Pepper said." Why?", I asked. Jay said," Just because. Chiron needs us." They led me to the Big House. The whole way there I was wondering why everyone was acting so weird. When we got inside, we found Chiron and they told him what happened. •••••••••••••••••••••••••• Sorry my nook has 5% battery left. Bye. Love you all. S.E.A :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Epic

    In this installment of the 39 clues series, the clue hunt takes Amy and Dan Cahill to China. After a huge fight, Dan storms away from Amy, with disaterous results. Dan is kidnapped by the Kabras, then dropped into a factory. When Dan doesnt come back, Amy starts to get worried, but only later realizes that Dan was kidnapped. A search ensues, with no results. Amy and the Cahill's au pair, Nellie Gomez have a hunch that Dan might have fallen into Jonah Wizard's hands, and continue on the clue hunt, hoping that Dan would do the same, so they could be reunited. Amy and Nellie's hunch is correct: the factory that Dan was dumped into belonged to Jonah Wizard, and it just so happened that Jonah was taking a tour of the factory that day. Jonah finds Dan, and they team up to find the next clue. Will Amy and Dan be reunited? Will they find the next Clue? All the questions will be answered in the Emperor's Code, by Gordan Korman. Oh, and Hope Lost, you wouldnt know a good book if it bit your bum and held on until thursday! So STOP WRITING LAME REVIEWS!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Boss Book!

    AVENGERS ASSEMBLE!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Read it!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I've read allthe books in a mounth thtey were that good i couldn't put my nook down !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Mysterious

    All the clues are mysterious and dangerous. I dont know how Amy and Dan survive all the traps.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Awesome

    Thank you guys for writing these books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Amazing book

    This s a amazing book. It has so many fun things in it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6