Customer Reviews for

The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

another revelation as the clue hunt nears the finish line

And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old siste...
And so the hunt for the 39 clues continues, culminating in another revelation at the end of this book with enough unanswered questions to leave the reader anxious to read the next book. For the first time, 11 year-old Dan Cahill gets separated from his 14 year-old sister Amy Cahill and their au pair Nellie Gomez in China, a country with a population of over one billion people. Dan inadvertently joins Jonah Wizard and we learn more about this character, the Janus branch, and his role in the search for the 39 clues.

I love the relationship between Dan and his sister. We get to see how it is tested once again at this point in the story and how much they care for one another. Two scenes in this book reveal their characters when faced with choices to beat their opponents.

The historical figures that lead us to the next clue are Puyi, China's last emperor, and George Mallory. I really enjoyed the setting of this book, and although the last nail-biting scene was a little far-fetched, it's what marks The 39 Clues as an adventurous roller-coaster ride filled with interesting historical and scientific tidbits. Unlike the other books, this one also contains a message within the book that is conveyed by putting together the 17 words circled throughout the book. They form three sentences.

Two more books left in this series and I am eager to find out how it will all come to a finish. For fans of The 39 Clues this book will not disappoint. It builds up expectation for what will come next . and for the climactic ending, no doubt.

posted by Laura-Fabiani on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

WHO IS HOPE LOST???

Please respond. WHO IS SHE? Hope lost... -is a she - has a best friend - thinks key boards are hard to work with - hates the 39 clues

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    My son loves this series and he gets online and plays the games there as well. He has grown to love reading! He started with this series and is just reading non-stop now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Of The Best...

    This eighth installment in the 39 Clues was a fabulous book! In fact, I'd say that this was one of my favorite books in the whole series! Once again, Gordan Korman, who also wrote book two "One False Note," did a great job adding to this series that seems to keep on surprising all of it's readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-8

    Hey, guys. I've got bad news. I'm going out of the country to France for a month. I don't know if I'll be able to post in that time. Sorry. Next part at 39 clues series #9: Storm Warning. This part will be in Merida's p.o.v. Hope u like! ••••••••••••••••••••••• I had been claimed. I was a little scared at first to look, but when I did my heart skipped a beat. There was a little glowing symbol that looked like smoke." The Mist!", said Agatha," Your a daughter of........ Hecate."" The goddess of the Mist.", said Austin. I was glad I wasn't a daughter of Zeus, then I couldn't be a couple with Jay." Lets take her to Chiron.", Pepper said." Why?", I asked. Jay said," Just because. Chiron needs us." They led me to the Big House. The whole way there I was wondering why everyone was acting so weird. When we got inside, we found Chiron and they told him what happened. •••••••••••••••••••••••••• Sorry my nook has 5% battery left. Bye. Love you all. S.E.A :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    #YOLO

    Wazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    To SK

    Hurry up! Please ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Third here for S.K.

    Love your story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    To storm warning

    His last name is Parker

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Here for TTBPJ!!!

    Keep up the great work Jillian!!!!!!! Keep up with my story!! Part 9 is up on book four of sister grimm series!!!!!~ author of The Sorceress' Labyrinth (PS-HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! :D)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    S S.J. here first for TTBPJ!

    Your wrong Jillian Im not sally Jackson!!!!! Not very far from the truth though. I am related to Percy. ~ S.J.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Never

    Never going to stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Cant wait for next part of TTBPJ!!!!!!!!

    Sophie.J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    AMAIZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im only on chapter 5 but I garente that this series is the best one that you will EVER read. It keeps you wanting to read more and more every single chapter. And this is comming from some one who is only 14 as from Thursday the 12th of September!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    really great!

    once again the excitement is building from book to book it is interesting that while each book is writen by a different author they are very consistent in the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    # yolo

    This is a must read book. Have not finished yet but it is mysterius. On chapter 14 so far it is amazing. Best book i have ever read in my life. You should really read this
    book. But read the books before this like the first book-The maze of bones. This book has Jonah wizard in it. If you like kungfoo this is a book for you. This is all i have to say about the amazing book the emperors code


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Monkey

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Epic

    In this installment of the 39 clues series, the clue hunt takes Amy and Dan Cahill to China. After a huge fight, Dan storms away from Amy, with disaterous results. Dan is kidnapped by the Kabras, then dropped into a factory. When Dan doesnt come back, Amy starts to get worried, but only later realizes that Dan was kidnapped. A search ensues, with no results. Amy and the Cahill's au pair, Nellie Gomez have a hunch that Dan might have fallen into Jonah Wizard's hands, and continue on the clue hunt, hoping that Dan would do the same, so they could be reunited. Amy and Nellie's hunch is correct: the factory that Dan was dumped into belonged to Jonah Wizard, and it just so happened that Jonah was taking a tour of the factory that day. Jonah finds Dan, and they team up to find the next clue. Will Amy and Dan be reunited? Will they find the next Clue? All the questions will be answered in the Emperor's Code, by Gordan Korman. Oh, and Hope Lost, you wouldnt know a good book if it bit your bum and held on until thursday! So STOP WRITING LAME REVIEWS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    To Hope Lost

    Y'know, you are just beuping a jerk and adding some adverts to the package as well. Here's a tip for ya: over ninety percent of the people reading these reviews DON'T CARE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    2 below and all

    You are right this serise is better then that, but try and keep your languge reserved to things little kids should read thank you and thank you all for useing proper languge
    BTW love this serise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    TO: OMG HATE THIS SERIES

    SHUT THE FREAKING UP!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5