BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Emperor's Tomb (Cotton Malone Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The latest Malone thriller an exhilarating tale

In China, government ministers Karl Tang and Ni Yong compete for who will become the country's next premier. Both believe possessing a third century B.C.E lamp is the key to become the leader as that ancient artifact is the key to eliminate dependence on foreign oil. ...
In China, government ministers Karl Tang and Ni Yong compete for who will become the country's next premier. Both believe possessing a third century B.C.E lamp is the key to become the leader as that ancient artifact is the key to eliminate dependence on foreign oil. Of the two Tang appears to be the more vicious, willing to kill the innocent to obtain the map and subsequently the premiership.

Cotton Malone and his former lover Cassiopeia Vitt, who owes a debt that she is paying off, also seek the ancient Chinese lamp. However, neither is aware that the Chinese power struggle includes containing the same lamp. The murders of two foreigners is an acceptable outcome in Tang's mind and Yong, if need be, holds the same belief.

The latest Malone thriller (see The Paris Vendetta) is an exhilarating tale that uses Chinese history to anchor the action-packed escapades. Fast-paced with one overkill exception inside a tomb, readers will relish the cat and mouse chase for the lamp as the mysterious Cassiopeia Vitt provides a delightful female counterpart to Malone (see the E-book The Balkan Escape for her tale including understanding her debt). The climax is a great confrontational finish to a fabulous tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

highway robbery

is it just me, or is everyone else seeing that the ebook COSTS MORE THAN THE HARDBACK BOOK?!!!!!! Amazon is offering the same book at $9.99. W T F B&N? Why are you jacking up your book pricing? Great job in making customers regret not buying a Kindle so we could ha...
is it just me, or is everyone else seeing that the ebook COSTS MORE THAN THE HARDBACK BOOK?!!!!!! Amazon is offering the same book at $9.99. W T F B&N? Why are you jacking up your book pricing? Great job in making customers regret not buying a Kindle so we could have more newspaper choices and better book prices! I know this shouldn't be about the price of the book, but where else is B&N going to hear customer dissatisfaction?

posted by DiamondCutter on November 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 473 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    highway robbery

    is it just me, or is everyone else seeing that the ebook COSTS MORE THAN THE HARDBACK BOOK?!!!!!! Amazon is offering the same book at $9.99. W T F B&N? Why are you jacking up your book pricing? Great job in making customers regret not buying a Kindle so we could have more newspaper choices and better book prices! I know this shouldn't be about the price of the book, but where else is B&N going to hear customer dissatisfaction?

    28 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Malone thriller an exhilarating tale

    In China, government ministers Karl Tang and Ni Yong compete for who will become the country's next premier. Both believe possessing a third century B.C.E lamp is the key to become the leader as that ancient artifact is the key to eliminate dependence on foreign oil. Of the two Tang appears to be the more vicious, willing to kill the innocent to obtain the map and subsequently the premiership.

    Cotton Malone and his former lover Cassiopeia Vitt, who owes a debt that she is paying off, also seek the ancient Chinese lamp. However, neither is aware that the Chinese power struggle includes containing the same lamp. The murders of two foreigners is an acceptable outcome in Tang's mind and Yong, if need be, holds the same belief.

    The latest Malone thriller (see The Paris Vendetta) is an exhilarating tale that uses Chinese history to anchor the action-packed escapades. Fast-paced with one overkill exception inside a tomb, readers will relish the cat and mouse chase for the lamp as the mysterious Cassiopeia Vitt provides a delightful female counterpart to Malone (see the E-book The Balkan Escape for her tale including understanding her debt). The climax is a great confrontational finish to a fabulous tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Steve Berry Rocks!

    Finally! A bestseller nook book for $9.99. I haven't bought a nook book in a while since B&N raised prices and I could get the hardcover for the same price. Is anyone at B&N listening?

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Skip It or Skim It

    Steve Berry - Emperor's Tomb
    Readers Digest version would have been much more entertaining. I have read other books from this Author and greatly enjoyed them. This was not one of his better works. To say this book was slow would be an understatement. After weeding through 200 pages of Ancient Chinese History, the story picks up, but only to plummet again. I originally thought the book was going to be about the Terracotta Warriors and the tomb in which they were found. But instead the story tried to meld information on the tomb, the different types of Oil (biopic vs abiopic) which was interesting, the history of Eunuchs in China and how they are castrated, Child Slavery, over the top to much information on history of Chinese Government, a potential love triangle and way to many other small topics. The reading was not heavy and really not all that interesting. Condense it to 150 to 200 pages and it may be a good page turner. As it is I struggled for weeks to read the book to completion.
    The characters are well developed, and work well together. The pieces all fit and the puzzle was complete in the end. Unfortunate my heavy sigh at the end was one of relief that I did not have to endure another page.
    I have not lost faith in the author. I enjoy his writing and look forward to his next release, lets just hope it is better than this one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Does not capture my interest

    I have loved all of Steve Berry's other books, but I can not get into this book at all. I keep trying but the plot and the material does not capture me. I have no interest in modern Chinese eunuchs or politics much less ancient Chinese history. Maybe I should, but I'd much rather read about ancient Greece, Turkey, even ancient Africa or South America. This book lacks an interesting "hook" or mystery to keep reading. I look forward to Steve Berry's next book and hope it's more interesting than this one.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    not to my liking

    i thought this book was utterly overdone with implausible and ridiculous escapes and impossible and invented heroic actions. I might as well have read a action comic book.A waste of time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad, but not as good as some of the others

    Berry brings China and its history to life with the lastest adventure of Cotton Malone. With lots of betrayals, and agents involved from the US and Russia and high ranking officials in China this mission gets really tangled over the retrieval of a little boy. Parts of the story are somwhat complicated and it gets a little tough to follow and you may find yourself re-reading parts of it. But I have found that in several of his books. However, I did like learning some of China's history.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Excellent story with well researched Chinese history

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was well researched for Chinese history, and had many interesting twists and turns. The oil element of the story certainly is something worth investigating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First Berry book that didn't work for me.

    Book 6 of Steve Berry's "Cotton Malone" series takes our favorite ex-Magellan Billet agent to China where he must rescue his friend and sometime-lover, Cassiopeia Vitt. Vitt's gotten herself wrapped up in a web of conspiracy involving the Chinese premier and his top two ministers, some angry Russians, a handful of eunuchs, and Stephanie Nelle, Cotton's former boss. Everyone's on the hunt for a long-lost sample of oil which the Chinese need to prove that oil is not actually finite, but rather a replenishing source deep within the earth. Sound a but chaotic? That's because it is.

    Sadly this book failed for me, and this is the first time I've said that about any of Berry's books. I usually love the fast-pace and intrigue, but The Emperor's Tomb was mired in Chinese history from the very first page. I felt bogged down by the different history lessons, so much so that by the time it got to the real action, I was ready to be done reading. The set-up might have been necessary to give us the appropriate background for the drama between the two Chinese ministers, but I truly lost the message in all the information. "Less is more" is not a method Berry utilized here.

    I've received an advance copy of The Jefferson Key, Book 7 of the "Cotton Malone" series, and I really hope the next book can redeem Berry in my eyes. The last Berry book I read (The Paris Vendetta) received 3 stars from me, but the one before that (The Charlemagne Pursuit) received 5. I'm giving The Emperor's Tomb 2 stars. Not a good trend Steve, not a good trend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a page turner like his previous books. However, for a Berry fan it will still work.

    The emperor's Tomb by Steve Berry - Book 6 in the Cotton Malone Series

    Cotton Malone receives an anonymous note carrying an unfamiliar web site. Logging on, he sees Cassiopeia Vitt, a woman who's saved his life more than once and for whom he has feelings, being tortured at the hands of a mysterious man with a single demand: "bring the artifact she's asked you to keep safe."

    Although the premise is great, and the book is not typical Steve Berry.

    The main theme of the book is the power struggle between two men: Karl Tang, an eunuch and a Legalist (naked force and raw terror were the only legitimate bases for power); and Ni Yong a student of Confucius (A man should live in a good way, always behaving with humanity and courtesy, honoring family and government) in the succession of the next premier of China. Eunuchs ruled China for centuries and their leader, Paw Wen, wants a say in the matter.

    The plot is further complicated by abduction of Lev Solokov's son; which causes Ms. Vitt to get involved because Solokov had saver her life. Solokov is a Russian citizen who married a Chinese wife and is in China. He has discover that oil is not a limited swource, nor it is a bio derivative, but rather as you dig deeper into the earth you can prove that oil is abiotic and not limited in quantity. The Russians know this and so does the Americans, so Malone is dragged to another adventure-one that offers up astounding historical revelations-the tomb of China's first emperor, Qin Shi-and sends him from Denmark to Belgium, to Vietnam, and then to China to defend American interests (Make sure Ni Yong succeeds in his quest), help her friend Cassiopeia, and save Lev Solokov and his son.

    Unfortunately, the book has too much irrelevant history of the eunuch (The Ba), and China's accomplishments as a nation that it reads very slowly. Not a page turner like his previous books. However, for a Berry fan it will still work.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    GREAT ADVENTURE & EASY READ

    A true potboiler that kept my attention. Plot and characters were well developed along with interesting information on Chinese history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    A good read

    An interesting story line, well told. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    High recommend

    Great read! Steve Berry fans will not be disappointed. Good adventure with a bit of historical info on China. You'll be not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    good read

    enjoyed the book. quick moving and the relationship between Cotton and Witt has developed over the series. Interesting to learn more about the Emperor's tomb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Steve Berry's Best So Far

    I have read all the Steve Barry/ Cotton Malone novels and by far this was his best work. The writing is better, the story is tighter, the research deeper -- and very, very interesting/ informative as well as entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Usually a big fan of Berry but didn't like this one

    I'm not quite sure why, but I just didn't like this book. It took me forever to get through it (I usually breeze through his books in a few days) and the story just seemed to drag on. I was really disappointed with this book. I hope the next one is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    This is a great book for a long road trip!

    Similar to another audio book, I just heard (The Ghost War, by Alex Berenson), this is a twelve disc audio book with a wonderful reader who has mastered accents and inflection so that the book keeps you on the edge of your seat and alert as you drive!
    From a child's kidnapping to foreign intrigue about a new scientific discovery, this book is filled with excitement. There are so many sub plots, but underneath them all there is the additional plot of several competing leaders in China, each of whom wishes to take over the government. Russia and the United States are involved in the intrigue, with each employing agents who may not be all that scrupulous.
    Murder is simply a means to an end, viewed almost casually. Torture is acceptable in the Asian prisons. Maoists and Liberationists go head to head in their fight to take over the government and in the background, the "Ba" and the Eunochs also vie for power, aligning themselves with competing, powerful people. The "double cross" is routine, as ethical behavior is not of the slightest concern. The winner will determine whether or not China becomes a threat to, or a peaceful participant in, world affairs.
    Underlying all of the varied sub-plots and side issues, is the theme of an undying source of energy, for which all three countries are searching; the key to its secret existence is thought to be hidden in China. Often the bad guy wins. China, as well as Russia, is a country with vastly different rules than the United States, and their tactics are sometimes appalling as are those of their agents. However, none of the participating countries is guiltless when it comes to reprehensible behavior. Greed and the desire for power appears to be the driving force and in its wake, valuable antiquities are destroyed and people are sacrificed with little or no reason other than expedience rather than justice.
    This book is action packed; undercover agents and double agents go head to head. They sneak in and out of several countries to search for answers, often with violent outcomes. There is an abundance of characters, which sometimes makes it a little hard to figure out which one is being featured. There is definitely murder and mayhem and while the book may not keep you guessing, it will certainly keep you interested for many hours. It is worth the "road trip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Its okay

    I was not all that impressed. Quite honestly, the Cotton Malone series is not all that great, its fun sort of, but always leaves me disappointed.... I hate perfect characters that always do the right thing... I think his best work was the Romanov Prophecy, now that was a great read.... This is not bad and if you want good escapism then you will like it... but if you are looking for something more exciting then look somewhere else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    recommend

    Good story kept me wanting to read on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    I highly recommend all of Steve Berry's novels: well-written, en

    I highly recommend all of Steve Berry's novels: well-written, engaging and entertaining. If you like Dan Brown, you will love Steve Berry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 473 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24