Customer Reviews for

Empire (Orson Scott Card's Empire Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A cautionary futuristic science fiction thriller

The two extremes in the USA have reached a point of hatred that threatens the fiber of the country. Neither extremist group wants to compromise because they believe that makes them seem weak. The vast center prefers harmony, but they are considered expendable pawns by...
The two extremes in the USA have reached a point of hatred that threatens the fiber of the country. Neither extremist group wants to compromise because they believe that makes them seem weak. The vast center prefers harmony, but they are considered expendable pawns by the right and the left who each assume the mantle of righteousness. In this divisive world of hate, the final blows occur almost simultaneously. Terrorists kill the president, the vice president, the secretary of defense, and other VIPs leaving a chaotic nation without leaders. The right blames the left for being soft on Al Qaeda the Left blames the Right for failing to protect the infrastructure.------------- Major Reuben Malich was near White House when the rocket attack killed POTUS, and the Defense Secretary. Initially considered a hero for saving lives, soon Rube is accused of carrying out the assassination. With his new assistant Captain ┬┐Cole┬┐ Coleman and a few other trusted aides, Rube investigates and soon believes the recent assassinations is the first stage in a coup to turn America into a world dominating empire to outlast the five centuries of Rome. The 'Progressive Restoration' has begun as the second American Civil War has exploded into open hostilities.----------------- Extrapolating from the hatred that has divided the country, Orson Scott Card provides a cautionary futuristic science fiction thriller. The war seems a plausible outcome though the recent election controlled by the middle brings new hope that maybe we can get along. Readers will appreciate this powerful military thriller yet extremists on both sides will condemn Mr. Card for failing to take their opinion while missing the whole point of this strong thriller that either extreme could destroy the values of this country with their no compromise idealism.--------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment abound

Like many avid readers of science fiction, I enjoyed Ender's Game. In fact, I enjoyed nearly everything Card has written in the Enderverse. But this work was appalling. Perhaps I would have enjoyed it more had I subscribed to Mr. Card's political standpoints, but I do...
Like many avid readers of science fiction, I enjoyed Ender's Game. In fact, I enjoyed nearly everything Card has written in the Enderverse. But this work was appalling. Perhaps I would have enjoyed it more had I subscribed to Mr. Card's political standpoints, but I do not.

It's unfortunate that such a well loved author would alienate such an important segment of his readership. I may be wrong, but I assumed most people who loved science fiction were more progressive than not. And this book is a demonization of progressives.

I would have liked it better had Mr. Card used a pseudonym for this work, so honest lovers of science fiction, and not political commentary, would know to steer clear.

And just so everyone knows, it brings me no pleasure to write a bad review for an author who once captured my imagination so completely.

Ender's Game is still my favorite book.

posted by Irishspartan1775 on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A cautionary futuristic science fiction thriller

    The two extremes in the USA have reached a point of hatred that threatens the fiber of the country. Neither extremist group wants to compromise because they believe that makes them seem weak. The vast center prefers harmony, but they are considered expendable pawns by the right and the left who each assume the mantle of righteousness. In this divisive world of hate, the final blows occur almost simultaneously. Terrorists kill the president, the vice president, the secretary of defense, and other VIPs leaving a chaotic nation without leaders. The right blames the left for being soft on Al Qaeda the Left blames the Right for failing to protect the infrastructure.------------- Major Reuben Malich was near White House when the rocket attack killed POTUS, and the Defense Secretary. Initially considered a hero for saving lives, soon Rube is accused of carrying out the assassination. With his new assistant Captain ¿Cole¿ Coleman and a few other trusted aides, Rube investigates and soon believes the recent assassinations is the first stage in a coup to turn America into a world dominating empire to outlast the five centuries of Rome. The 'Progressive Restoration' has begun as the second American Civil War has exploded into open hostilities.----------------- Extrapolating from the hatred that has divided the country, Orson Scott Card provides a cautionary futuristic science fiction thriller. The war seems a plausible outcome though the recent election controlled by the middle brings new hope that maybe we can get along. Readers will appreciate this powerful military thriller yet extremists on both sides will condemn Mr. Card for failing to take their opinion while missing the whole point of this strong thriller that either extreme could destroy the values of this country with their no compromise idealism.--------- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    USA Into an Empire!!!!!!

    Yes it's a book about a very possible future, one that many great nations time and again have represented. Days of chaos followed by a sturdy rule that would extend the life of the nation for a few more centuries. Why can't such a thing happen in the united states as well? Read the book and you will not regret it.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Insiteful book full of parallels to current political situation

    Quite aread. Full of parallels to current politial situations. Exciting and every bit as gripping as his Ender novels. Card never disappoints.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great

    For a kid like me who doesn't care about politics it a great book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Four stars

    So i reccomend getting the book, it amazingly depicts scenes settings and plots that just run rampant in your mind, BUT most people will not mention it is a sequal to enders game. John paul (j.p.) is the name of the wiggins father. Anotherbut though, four stars because i feel it is a thinly veiled attack on the left wing side of a political standpoint. Also lots of untied knots at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    BRILLIANT!

    Being a fan of Orson Scott Card's, my expectations for this book were very high. Once again, Card has far surpassed my expectations! I would love to write a twenty page review complimenting Card's masterpiece, but I don't want to give anything away. Instead, I will just say this :

    READ IT. =)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A tremendously provocative read! Card's creativity never ceases to amaze.

    Another outstanding and creative read by Card! Let's hope his fiction remains fiction and not prophecy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Fast-paced, chilling fiction meets our times head on

    I've read the first six chapters in one gulp, like a starving mind that's been long hungering for relevant fiction that faces the dangers of these times without apologies or flinching. Card delivers a superb story with a wallop. I highly recommend this important novel. The dialog is witty and crisp, the storyline chilling and sadly all too possible. This is the kind of storycraft one would expect from the author of the award-winning Ender's Game. Card does not disappoint, and I'll be finishing this book as soon as I have spare moments.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    WOW!

    Orson Scott Card is most indefinitely the best storytelling author since Lewis, Bradbury and that rare breed of writer. He maintains the tremendous style of writing which I have come to deeply enjoy. He is the best modern Science Fiction/Fantasy author of today. This book is a pure continuation of his talents. For those that desire a magnificent work of writing in general, select this masterpiece, and for any of you Orson Scott Card fans like myself, get this book IMMEDIATELY!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    Card returns with something a little different for his readers.

    Captain Coleman 'Cole' is assigned as the new aide for Major Reuben 'Rube' Malich. However, Rube never comes into the office and never calls. His secretary, DeeNee, says she cannot help him. According to DeeNee, who has no way to contact him, Rube seldom shows at the office except to pick up messages and leave again. No one knows what Rube does or where he goes. DeeNee assures Cole that Rube knows he has arrived, but all he can do is stand around and wait for what could very well be days or weeks. Within minutes of Cole finally meeting Rube, chaos comes storming in! The Vice President is killed in an 'accidental' car wreck. Only few minutes later, the President and the Secretary of Defense dies when a rocket hits the west wing of the White House, at the very section the two were in a meeting. Everyone is calling Rube and Cole 'heroes'. Had they not been there and acted immediately, it would have been much, much worse. But the two heroes know that Rube is being set up to take the fall. .............. Rube has his wife and kids move in with a relative in West Windsor, New Jersey. Before joining them, Rube and Cole must meet up with Rube's old buddies from Special Ops for some serious brainstorming. The men have not been in New Jersey with the family half a day before chaos comes stomping (literally) back in. This time it is fourteen-foot-tall, bulletproof, heavily armed globes on mechanical legs. The mechs, along with gunmen on individual hovercrafts, succeed in seizing New York City and establishing the 'Progressive Restoration'. They claim to be restoring the government to what it should have been and even invite other cities and states to join them. It looks as though a second American Civil War has erupted. One side has high tech weapons. The other side has militia footmen, Rube, and Cole. .................. ***** Author David Weber is diabolical in writing books with military tactical maneuvers. Author Tom Clancy is clever in writing books with espionage. But author Orson Scott Card is brilliant in a way that is difficult to define. Card loudly attacks your physical senses, while at the same time he silently infiltrates your mind and twists your very way of thinking. The most horrifying part is that as I read, I could detect no flaw in the strategies. It is all perfect...and very possible. I strongly recommend ordering pizza to be delivered and unplugging the phones before you even open the cover of this military/political thriller. Stellar! *****

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Shockingly Amazing

    First book I have read by this author, and to my surprise it has become one of my favorite books. I have now ventured into the second of this duet series and hope it will be just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Awesome!!

    I loved this book I read it non-stop and then when I finished I had to run out to buy the other two!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Wow....................

    Great book, I do have to agree with other people that he put to much of his own political views into it (although I agree with them). It had a strong plot characters you could follow and belive

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Cant wait

    I can not wait 2 read this book i was on the proverial fence until the mention of a rt.wing point of veiw not enough of that intelligant influance

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2