Customer Reviews for

Empire Falls

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Review but do not spoil for the rest please

I read the reviews to get a feel for how others have liked or disliked a novel but I do not appreciate the major spoiler disclosed by the February 2010 writer. Come on people! Sheesh.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed. Not interesting, not compelling, not novel -- I a

Disappointed. Not interesting, not compelling, not novel -- I agree that the characters are well-written, but I could neither identify with nor have empathy for the majority of them.

posted by eagle3tx on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Review but do not spoil for the rest please

    I read the reviews to get a feel for how others have liked or disliked a novel but I do not appreciate the major spoiler disclosed by the February 2010 writer. Come on people! Sheesh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    captures you from the beginning

    When my mom recommended this book, I was a little skeptical- her taste and mine don't necessarily mesh. From around the third page, I could see why she enjoyed this book. Great subtle humor from the main character's perspective! You can envision living in Empire Falls, because it is not so different from many small towns in America. As a mom, I was interested in the relationship between Tick and her mother, as well as her and her father's relationship. Overall, a wonderful read for just about anyone. Even my sister wants to read it now after how I said what a good book it is, and she doesn't even like to read! This would be a great book for book club discussion as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2001

    Russo does it again

    This is a wondrous book. It has a sweeping scope but is artful, well-crafted and highly entertaining. Russo shows a deep understanding of all human instincts and relationships in this novel about a small town in Maine and its inhabitants. The characters are well-rounded, their foibles treated as compassionately as their virtues. As Miles Roby repeatedly puts his dreams on hold, his teen-aged daughter takes on supreme importance for him. Miles' epiphany and the denoument are completely satisfying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Disappointed. Not interesting, not compelling, not novel -- I a

    Disappointed. Not interesting, not compelling, not novel -- I agree that the characters are well-written, but I could neither identify with nor have empathy for the majority of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Small Town

    An astonishing study of the livelihoods of middle class America.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    My favorite book of all time

    I finished reading this book about five years ago...and I still miss the characters to this day. You instantly love them and are pulling for them to succeed from the first time you meet them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great Picture of small-town life in the US

    I enjoyed the book and its story of small town going thru what so masny small towns are--the loss of their biggest employer and how it effects everyone. I thought the ending with the troubled kid bringing a gun to school was way too predictable. I had guessed that was going to happen 150 pages before it did. Thoroughly enjoyable---lose one self in the small town which one can really picture

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    intersting

    Ummm, okay so I had to read this for summer reading and it was an indepth study of not very deep people. However I actualy liked it, I mean it wasnt a page turner but still....

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Empire Falls

    When I first started reading it, I wondered, 'what is this book going to be ABOUT?' By the time I was halfway through, I was so involved with the character's lives that the plot evolved without my realizing it. Engaging, insightful, heartbreaking, a wonderful read, fully accessible to all readers. Empire Falls, a small town economically ruled for many years by the Whiting family in Maine, begins to lose over the years the 'ROYAL' family and their influence. The true power lies not with this wealthy family, but with the force of HUMAN WILL POWER 'whether a WHITING or a NON-WHITING'. The constant question that arose: what WILL these characters do now with his/her given challenge?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Awsesome

    This is one of the best books I have read. The chararcters are well developed not only in their strengths but also their imperfections and shortcomings. The plot and sub plots come together nicely and meaningfully in the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    One of the BEST books I've ever read

    Richard Russo's 'Empire Falls' is so simple, so sweet and so movingly beautiful that even the grayness of the town the story is set in seems a bit brighter. I got a chance to shake Russo's hand when he visited Milwaukee a few years ago. I had to thank him for writing what is quite possibly the first great book of the 21st century. Once you start reading, you'll never stop. The characters in this book are so vivid, you'd think you know them personally. I just reread this book about a month ago and, like the first time, it killed me to close upon the final page. Kudos to Russo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    The Unofficial Landfill for Years and Years

    This is one of the best books I have read. Incredible story that is wonderfully written. The characters are real, gritty and true. The 'Amazing Catch' from Miles, gotta love it. It reminds me of 'Winter of Our Discontent' by Steinbeck. But to me the charaters in Empire Falls are more developed and seperated rather than seeming like one big personal allegory. Falls is the story about Miles, the good (and unsexy) man that has had some bad breaks. Give it a read. It is very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    My Favorite Book of the Summer

    I've read a lot of books this summer and this one is the best. There are quite a few characters to get to know and by the end of the story you genuinely know them. I was surprised to catch myself laughing out loud. I also liked that the Myles wasn't all about getting the ladies in bed. He was real. The main character was real. Everyone should read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Work Of Art

    My husband and I both love to read, but we don't always read the same thing. One day, out of desperation with nothing to read, I picked up this book, not realizing that I struck on a gold mine. I have all Richard's books, I have read, Nobody's Fool, and am now Reading Straight Man. Richard Russo is a gifted writer and I enjoy his books very very much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Empire Falls

    This book has all the makings of a great novel. After you read it, you will understand why it won the pulitzer prize. The characters have a depth that is exceptional. You won't be disappointed with the time you spend reading this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    left me breathless

    Richard Russo creates a highly realistic fictional world that anyone who has lived in a small town can relate to. The story and characters are so tightly knit and carefully animated that one cannot help but to become immersed in Miles Roby's life and the lives of everyone in Empire Falls. What I like best about this novel is the way in which Miles 'comes of age' himself. Nothing pretentious, cliche, or ordinary about how, at 42, Miles finally overcomes the one mountain that has been holding him back. What a great study of human character...Russo's observations of human behavior are precise and well-developped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    Pee

    D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    |WAR ROOM|

    |WAR ROOM| To all the members of the Empire:This is the war room.If the Empire goes to war with a camp;this is where the Empire will hold meetings and discuss battle plans.To everybody who is not a member of the Empire:This war room is property of the Empire,and you should not be here.Long live the Empire! |WAR ROOM|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Outstanding! Deserved Pulitzer Prize!

    Great novel of small town in Maine dominated by a wealthy, powerful, ruthless woman bent on revenge against the manager of a diner she owns. The characters are well drawn which gives a good understanding of the forces influencing their lives. These characters are a wide variety of ages and circumstances who come together to create a compelling story that ranges all over the emotional map. Very human story in which each character will evoke a reaction from the reader. Hard to put down. Look forward to reading other books by Russo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8