Customer Reviews for

Empire Falls

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Russo does it again

This is a wondrous book. It has a sweeping scope but is artful, well-crafted and highly entertaining. Russo shows a deep understanding of all human instincts and relationships in this novel about a small town in Maine and its inhabitants. The characters are well-roun...
This is a wondrous book. It has a sweeping scope but is artful, well-crafted and highly entertaining. Russo shows a deep understanding of all human instincts and relationships in this novel about a small town in Maine and its inhabitants. The characters are well-rounded, their foibles treated as compassionately as their virtues. As Miles Roby repeatedly puts his dreams on hold, his teen-aged daughter takes on supreme importance for him. Miles' epiphany and the denoument are completely satisfying.

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed. Not interesting, not compelling, not novel -- I a

Disappointed. Not interesting, not compelling, not novel -- I agree that the characters are well-written, but I could neither identify with nor have empathy for the majority of them.

posted by eagle3tx on November 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Slow,but not slow enough

    This book moved at the slowest pace possible yet still held the reader's attention, however, not slow enough to be considered a boring read. There was a climax, but I think it was only exciting because nothing much else happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Good but not Great

    This book was a fairly slow read for me and when I get into a great book I zoom through it. It just wasn't as captivating as I was led to believe. My advice is that it is worth reading but don't get your hopes up too high. The ending was also fizzled disappointingly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Empire Falls

    I really didn't like this book. The characters were great. It's just you kind of know what is going to happen. There is drama. The situations that deals with this story could really happen. I really didn't like the cussing. This story deals with a humble man who wants a better life for he and his daughter. It's sad what this man has to give up before getting what he wants. The old lady, Mrs. Whiting is funny. Of course, I could strangle Janine for what she did to Miles and Tick. This book was ok. I didn't like the cussing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    Easy to see why it recieved a reward

    Very good portrayal of a small town and its social problems. Quite memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Sorry to disagree with everyone

    I think I must be the only person who didn't like this book. I found the storyline ho-hum and felt that the author just tried too hard with the characters. Also, dare I say it, I felt the writing was verbose. I know it's hugely popular, and I know it won the Pulitzer, but I just didn't like it. I would recommend Beginner's Luck by Laura Pedersen and also Boxes of Years by Katrina Prado. Both were much lighter, easier reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Why the need for all the Profanity???

    I enjoyed the characters, but I found the profanity somewhat offensive. I don't feel it was necessary for the story line. Can't people get their feelings across without using swear words? This is the first book that I've read by Richard Russo, and I'm not in a hurry to read anymore of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    Beautiful in places, ultimately disappointing

    The book unfolds with its characters slowly and interestingly, then picks up with wonderfully deft phrase-turning and character development, getting the reader (me at least) all set for a powerful ending - but there was nothing. If the story of everytown Americana was typical, the utter lack of redemptiveness was - well, not, and the bloodbath seemed manipulative of the reader. What a crummy ending. Like House of Sand and Fog - great story, manipulative and violent end. Forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2003

    AN OKAY BOOK

    I liked the main character simply because he was good, nice, honest, hardworking man. Other than him and his daughter, the other characters in the book were not real likeable. The plot was okay although the ending was very predictable. I liked the author's writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Great Characters, Contrived Ending

    I did enjoy this book very much. It's character development is outstanding, so much so, that I mentally pictured the key characters. However, my criticisms are that the story develops rather slowly (perhaps a consequence of the sharply drawn characters that need time to be fully realized)and the contrived ending. When you can virtually predict the ending as it develops, it's frankly a little disappointing. Nonetheless, I do recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Good, but not great

    Did this really win the Pulitzer? The story is sort of interesting, more so as it goes along, the overall effect is sort of rambling and too long. Worth reading, as long as your expectations aren't too high.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    I loved the characters, but...

    The characters portrayed in the novel were amazing and incredibly true to life. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy the ending, it left me hanging in a very unpleasant fashion. I felt that the characters never reached a new understanding, or did anything to change their predicament...life just went on, so what was the point of all the pain?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Weak ending overshadows what could have been a great book

    I would have enjoyed this book much more had it not been for the way it drew to a close. I won't spoil it for anyone who has yet to read it, but I felt that it was a quick and sloppy way out for an otherwise great story with some memorable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1