Customer Reviews for

Empire of Ivory (Temeraire Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure With Impact

    If you're new to the Temeraire books, you shouldn't start here but with His Majesty's Dragon, then Throne of Jade and Black Powder War. This particular book is rather in the same vein as the second and third books. Just as the second book took us to China and the third to Turkey and Austria, this one takes us now to Africa. All the things that made the first three books so engrossing are on display here. I loved this look at an alternate history Napoleonic War with dragons, and it was interesting to look at African dragons and yet another variation on dragon/human relations and how it (and aerial combat) changes the historical dynamic. As with the other books, Laurence and his dragon Temeraire, and the relationship between them is a standout. The ending packs a wallop, I remember just sitting stunned at that last line; it will send you scurrying to the next book in the series to find out what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciing uban fantasy

    The war against Napoleon has turned bad for the English forces since a deadly disease has ravaged the dragon corps. Desperate to find a cure before they lose the aerial war, the English leadership learns the elixir may exist in Africa. As abolitionists protest the African slave trade and demand rights for dragons, British captain Will Laurence and his dragon Temeraire lead a band of warriors with the dragons across the Mediterranean to Africa.----------------- However, the Dark wild continent is unwelcoming to the English as the natives know of the slave trade. Local dragons and their human cohorts go into combat mode to drive the English off the continent. Will and Temeraire know they will lose some friends in the skirmishes even as they struggle with their cause as they agree with the Africans that the slave trade is an abomination and dragons deserve rights as sentient beings.--------------- The forth Napoleonic fantasy (see THRONE OF JADE, HIS MAJESTY¿S DRAGON, and BLACK POWDER WAR) is a fabsulous refreshing entry as Naomi Novik takes her soaring champions to Africa where the English morality is questioned to the point that the heroic duet wonder if they fight for the wrong side. The battle scenes that include dragons at war seem genuine even with the mythos element. Filled with plenty of action, strong characterizations, and a fascinating locale, the key to this superior early nineteenth century epic remains the quest of human (and dragon) rights as the English run the slave trade and are the invaders claiming they bring a superior lifestyle to these uninformed pagans.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Captain and Dragon Face Unrelenting Perils

    I was enthralled from start to finish. There was not one moment of boredom throughout this Chapter of Temeraire and Laurence's story.

    I found myself angry, happy, relieved, and bitter at the same moments in which the characters would have felt them. As of this moment, this is the best Temeraire novel. I am currently reading Book 5, and have found it to be just as phenomenal as Book 4 (so far).

    I look forward to seeing the French and Lien taken out. And the Admiralty and their Lordships could take a course of common sense and civility from the Dragon's in these novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    I love this series and find myself facinated by all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Windpelt

    Really good so far lots of good writing....i just dont like how suddenly the drama happens witjout much explanation. Otherwise really good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Neverdeath

    Still not pulling me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Willowsong

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Ivryglazes story chapter one.

    Ivorykit peered out of the nursury her tail twitching . Her siblings Foreverkit and Grassykit rolled around behind her squealing and wrestling. Her mother Sandydream slept sound aslepp in the afternoon in the comfy nest her father had built. She wondered about him. As of now, she knew nothing. fShe rolled her teal eyes irritated as she glanced up at the sky. Big thick rolling black clouds loomed in the west and the trees were waving ominously. Suddenly eveeything became vwey still and silent. The birdsong stoppped and the tress stilled. The chatter died and her fur bristled. Sh whipped her head around and suddenly rain poured down and a roaring filled her ears. Faintly she heard " Run!" In the distanc iver the whipping winds and crashing thunder. She struggled against the current of the wind her paws slipping on the muddy ground. She screamed but it was a futile attempt. She felt her body slide before she lost coniousness and was swallowed in the debris( theres more!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Harstan...?

    Almost every series I have read has a review by harstan! Not complaining, nowhere near complaining, because your reviews are very detailed and descriptive, so good job! :) Oh yeah and about the book this book/the whole series so far is realllllllly good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great series, I look forward to the next book!!!

    Novik has created an exciting series. I like the twist to the time frame with the dragons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Ivory

    Another solid book in the series, despite its tragic air I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Still Fresh

    I have become a huge fan of the Temeraire series. This, #4 of the series, is just as fresh and captivating as were the first three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fourth book in a great series

    I highly reccomend all of the books in the Temeraire series- they are so addicting! I bought the first one on general positive reviews (Napoleonic Wars! With dragons!) and the moment I finished it I ordered the next four and read all of those in breathless succession. I have not regretted this for an instant, even in the slower or more frustrating parts, and I am now restlessly anticipating the sixth book. All lovers of history, fantasy, war stories, or just plain interesting reading need to read these books. Get all five and pre-order the sixth, you will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    a good read, if slightly lacking in details, a four out of five

    Empire of Ivory is the 4th book in the Temiraire serries. In this book Dragon Captain William Lawrence, allong with his faithful draconic companion search africa for the cure to a Draconic dissease sweeping England. like most books of the serries, Empire of Ivory suffers from a lack of day to day details, and while this can be expected of a book that covers about a year of events, i miss the more day to day life of the first book in the serries.<BR/><BR/>one of my favorite things about this book is the return of lilly, maximus and the other Loch Lagan dragons. of all, my favorite character has to be Izikeirka, a young firebreathing dragon who at the begining of the book weighs 100 pounds but thinks she weighs 10,000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    The Dragon Riders of Britannia Return

    Empire of Ivory is the latest volume of what is informally called 'the Dragon Riders of Britannia' and, like the previous three, is a joy to read. The premise of the series is that dragons exist and coexist with humans. It is the height of the Napoleonic Wars and the great battles which are fought on land and sea are also fought in the air with each combatant nation deploying squadrons of dragons. The changes that have been wrought are subtle, mainly having to do with dragons being a great equalizer between European countries and countries, such as China, which fell under European domination in our time line. For instance, the history of the slave trade takes an unexpected turn when an African kingdom shows up with its own dragons. There is reference to an Incan country, apparently unmolested by the Spaniards. The great dragon Temeraire and his rider, Captain Will Laurence 'a man with a far greater social consciousness than Hornblower or Aubrey', are faced with a crisis as a mysterious plague sweeps through the dragons upon which Britain depends for her defense. Their quest for a cure takes them to unexpected places, but in geography and in the human 'and dragon' heart. Meanwhile, Napoleon and his undefeated legions await across the Channel. There's loads of historical detail, with appearances by such people as Admiral Nelson 'having survived Trafalgar' and the great reformer Wilberforce. The story, with the before mentioned cliffhanger, makes one aching for the next volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14