Customer Reviews for

Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789-1815

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    A solid reading of early American history and society

    I found this book to be quite revealing of the early history of America on all levels. The early politics and the growth of government institutions was in depth and complete with all of the whys,wherefores abd significant players duly noted. The sociological elements were well researched and provided great insight as to how we got to where we are today. This book provided more information about this era than any other I've read and I have gone through a few. I highly recommend it if you want more than just a high school history of the late 1700's and the early 1800's. It puts our current political divisions in context with our history since not much seems to have changed from then to now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Empire of Liberty Is A Sweeping Saga By Master Historian

    Gordon Wood has made a truly important addition to the Oxford History series with his masterful Empire of Liberty. Meticulously researched, comprehensive in its scope, and well written, this is history as it should be -- educational, thought-provoking, and entertaining. For anyone interested in better understanding America's early national period and the lasting foundations that were laid in the years just after the American Revolution, Empire of Liberty is an absolute must-read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Read!

    Really flows. Covers everything - not just politics and war, but also social and religious development. And its interesting - not at all like the dreaded "textbook" quality. I got so caught up that I've now started the next volume in the Oxford History of the US, and I'm looking for more since they are son-in-law endorsed. This is the kind of history I wish our kids could read in school instead of ...... (fill in the blank).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Reviewed as Nook book

    I've enjoyed Professor Wood's book. It's immensely informative.
    I have a few complaints, however, about B&N's Nook version of the book. I have read the book on the new touch-screen Nook. The maps are too small. They are illegible on the Nook's small screen. It should be possible to enlarge the image, but that feature is not available on the Nook. And so, while I have paid for Professor Woods' book, a part of the book has not been delivered. At about 600 pages, this is the longest Nook book I have read. I have discovered that a book of this length loads slowly. It takes about six seconds to load the book when I select it. The time it takes to load the book is nothing, though, compared to the time it takes to search for an word in the book using "find". I must wait at least a full minute for the search to complete. Because the search time is so much longer that the few seconds required to search a book of ordinary length (eg, 250 pages), I would call this a software bug.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    Great World Perspective of Early American History - A thorough, interesting, yet long, read

    Thorough insight into American History from Pre-Revolutionary America through the end of the War of 1812. This book describes American idealism from the start of the revolution. It describes attitudes of the founding fathers, often in their own words, and the growth of a diverse society. It presents the ideas of aristocracy which directed the development of the new government. Where this book excels over others is its presentation of American History within a world setting. The importance and influence of the French Revolution on the developing American landscape is discussed in detail, as are American relationships with Great Britain and differing opinions within the new American states which caused continual conflict and threats of succession. Attitudes and behaviors of post-revolutionary Americans are presented in a fairly unbiased manner. Sources are heavily referenced on each page.

    It also provides a fair assessment of the events leading up to the War of 1812. It sets forth the conflicts in American politics as they affected America's preparation for the war, or lack thereof. It shows a torn nation with republican ideals, in stark contrast to the war that it would inevitably have to fight. It addresses the influence of continuing conflict between Great Britain and France on the landscape of American politics. This book does not portray the War of 1812 as an American victory, as many well do. It provides objective evidence of the events as they occurred and as they were revealed to Americans at home. The reader is left to access the events as presented and draw conclusions based on the facts presented, which are well documented. Empire concludes as the nation emerges from the war and the enlightenment a more conflicted nation but a stronger nation.

    All in all, I would recommend this book for those seriously interested in a thorough discussion of early America from a world perspective. Innumerable sources are listed for further research. Be prepared for a very long, but very interesting, read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Outstanding

    Gordon S. Wood is the greatest historian alive today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Best overall history for sometime

    Very articulate and insightful history of a time and place where people can easily become caricatures rather than real people. Balanced and engaging with a theme and sure touch for those little facts that make history alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3