Customer Reviews for

Empress Orchid

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Responding to last anonymous reviewer.

In regards to the last anonomous reviwer, this book is classified as a fiction. Min has every right to express or portay Empress Orchid in her view. However, you seemed almost convinced (maybe even brainwashed from Chinese history which tends to blame everything on th...
In regards to the last anonomous reviwer, this book is classified as a fiction. Min has every right to express or portay Empress Orchid in her view. However, you seemed almost convinced (maybe even brainwashed from Chinese history which tends to blame everything on the women) that it is Empress Orchid is a negative person. For example, how many thousands of years has the women been responsible to bring sons to the family and it is still going on today!!! Look at all the babies girls being thrown away just so families can have a son to bear their last name! Yet, it was never the sons fault!!! Bound by tradition, Orchid fought her way to save China, and try to help her son become Emperor. Perhaps it was ShunShim that poisoned Guang-Xsu? How was it provened it was Empress Orchid? Please enlighten us with your fact!!! Dont forget, its a fictional novel! Either you enjoy it for its sensitivity, or you are just ONE-Minded!

posted by yeni on February 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

just a penny thought

The elaborate details of the Qing Dynasty¿s court life and etiquette made this book extremely enjoyable as I have been very interested in this particular dynasty since I was young. Moreover, this book was written in the form of Cixi¿s autobiography, making it even more ...
The elaborate details of the Qing Dynasty¿s court life and etiquette made this book extremely enjoyable as I have been very interested in this particular dynasty since I was young. Moreover, this book was written in the form of Cixi¿s autobiography, making it even more intriguing as you can imagine yourself to be in her shoes and think the same thoughts as she did. However, there are some inaccurate historical details in this book that left me quite fustrated such as how Lin Zhe Xu destroyed opium after the Opium Wars. In Anchee Min¿s book, he set fire to 20000 cases of opium and that the burning pit was as large as a lake. That is the most common misconception anyone can ever have about the Opium Wars. Commissioner Lin did not set fire to the opium cases, he in fact dissolved the opium into sea after chemically treating it with sulphur, etc such that it could no longer serve as an addicitve drug. That was the biggest sorepoint of the entire book.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    Responding to last anonymous reviewer.

    In regards to the last anonomous reviwer, this book is classified as a fiction. Min has every right to express or portay Empress Orchid in her view. However, you seemed almost convinced (maybe even brainwashed from Chinese history which tends to blame everything on the women) that it is Empress Orchid is a negative person. For example, how many thousands of years has the women been responsible to bring sons to the family and it is still going on today!!! Look at all the babies girls being thrown away just so families can have a son to bear their last name! Yet, it was never the sons fault!!! Bound by tradition, Orchid fought her way to save China, and try to help her son become Emperor. Perhaps it was ShunShim that poisoned Guang-Xsu? How was it provened it was Empress Orchid? Please enlighten us with your fact!!! Dont forget, its a fictional novel! Either you enjoy it for its sensitivity, or you are just ONE-Minded!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Holds you spellbound!

    I love to read a book that transports you into the story. This book does that beautifully. I was no longer in my humble home in south east Texas, I was walking in lavish gardens and gilded halls of the Forbidden City. Anchee Min holds her readers captive from the first page to the last. I never wanted this book to end. One of my new favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Favorites

    One of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Beautiful

    I read this book awhile ago. So forgive me for not getting into so many details as I would like. But I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about different cultures. But its very well written. I couldn't put it down. And that I can remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Wow!

    I didnt want it to end......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    great book Great book

    Really enjoyed this amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    One of my favorites

    If u like this read the twenty first wife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    The ascent to Royalty in China

    A history lesson of China. Gives a wonderful feel of the country itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Excellent look into chinese sociology!

    This is a vibrant fascinating historical fiction tale of China's last Empress. The story line is over-loaded with so much detail that fans who appreciate intrinsic depth into a bygone era will want to read the EMPRESS ORCHID. However, the profundity of each elaborate description of court life and the Forbidden City in the late 1800s also tends to slow down the action in which intrigue and executions are the norm. Those who enjoy historical sociology as the prime theme will cherish Anchee Min's tale, but those who want to swim in the shark infested pool will find this first person account too slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Loved this book

    Amazing! Anchee Min has captured the soul of Imperialist China. I was lost in a China that was both picturesque and dim. The contrast of the pageantry of the Forbidden City to the sadness and loneliness of it inhabitants is magnificently woven in the tapestry of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    Great from start to finish

    Min writes beautifully. Her descriptions of life in the Forbidden City are heart wrenching, gorgeous, and humorous. After reading Empress Orchid I ran out and bought her other two books. All which are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    ADDICTIVE...

    I couldn't find myself to part with the book. I really felt as if I was looking through the eyes of Yehonala and experiencing what she went through. It's like a good soap opera that you never want to see end. Beautifully written, detailed descriptions, and really knows how to pull the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Stunning

    Anchee Min writes with vivid color that will enfold the reader. She makes China's mid-19th Century history come alive. Eagerly awaiting the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    A Surprising Gem

    I stumbled upon this book as I was walking through the aisles of B&N. I've never read or heard of Anchee Min before, but I decided to take a chance on this book. It is a wonderful read! It has great detail; the story is intriguing and holds your attention to the very end. As one story line dies down, a new one develops quickly. Anchee Min is a delightful writer and awesome storyteller. I strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    SOOOO Great!

    Immediately became my favorite book. I couldn't help it but to put aside all my assigned reading and reach for Empress Orchid. It's almost like a Chinese soap opera where you just don't want to stop finding out what's going to happen next. Gives so much background to history(which I love). The only tiny criticism is that the names of people and places arn't written in standard modern pinyin, which made it hard to connect my own knowledge of history to the names. But that is so minor compared to the overall greatness of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Elegant & Insightful

    Lovely way of describing the future while in the present and explaining the past

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Wonderful Read

    What a touching story. I truly could not put this book down nor did I wish to. A truly well written book which transports the reader so vividly that I could picture China's Forbidden City in all its glory. I found myself being drawn to Lady Yehonala's character so much so that I felt her joys, her pain, her strength and her pride which to me is a direct result of superior writing. This is one book I shall read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    Enchanting

    This is the first part of a trilogy. The details in the description of the imperial lives in the Forbidden City and the narrative writing grabbed me the moment I started. I was soon transported to Orchid's world and was transfixed by the struggle for power among the women of the imperial court and their influence on Chinese history. A thrilling read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Gorgeous!

    This book has it all ! This is a story you can't help but hope it becomes a film and that Oliver Stone is thinking the same thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3