Customer Reviews for

Empress of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

my favorite

i am an avid reader, & this book is my all-time favorite. short & sweet, this book helped me find myself. it gave me the courage to come out, & led me to an unforgettable relationship. i wasn't trying to find myself, it just happened. a must-read for any teen girl, espe...
i am an avid reader, & this book is my all-time favorite. short & sweet, this book helped me find myself. it gave me the courage to come out, & led me to an unforgettable relationship. i wasn't trying to find myself, it just happened. a must-read for any teen girl, especially for the close-minded.

posted by thepencapsays on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow, where are all these good reviews coming from?

I was really excited to finally read this book when I got my hands on a copy of it. Having discovered it online and read all the positive reviews, I was sure it was going to be incredible. Thirty pages in, and I was disappointed. I did finish it, but I didn't enjoy it. ...
I was really excited to finally read this book when I got my hands on a copy of it. Having discovered it online and read all the positive reviews, I was sure it was going to be incredible. Thirty pages in, and I was disappointed. I did finish it, but I didn't enjoy it.

I'll start with the characters. They were flat; very 2 dimensional, and not likeable at all. Their interactions with each other were also very flat and bland. The relationships between them were unrealistic and silly. I had a lot of trouble buying into Nic and Battle's relationship at all. They hardly seemed like they were friends, from the dialogue shown, and the relationship wasn't written well either. We don't even get to see a lot of this relationship - just snippets here and there that don't amount to much. They go through the typical fall in love-breakup-get back together thing here, which could make for some great angst, but it's just not well done. I can't stress enough how badly their relationship was written.

The writing is mediocre. The author is terrible with transitions, whether it be one part of a scene to another or a major plot development coming into effect. I have read books with much more mature and refined writing than this. In addition a lot of details were left out, and some were thrown in that didn't need to be. One such example of this is the way the author constantly feels the need to describe what the girls are wearing. First of all, these descriptions are unnecessary and annoying, and second, no teenage girls would wear clothing like that.

Finally the story is unrealistic, especially in the way of the school. Yes, such programs do exist, however, I doubt each girl would have their own private room and phone number. Yeah, that seems like nitpicking; however, read a whole book like this and you'll understand my annoyance with the many unrealistic details such as those. The adults were useless in the story, basically just there as part of the scenery. The one "deep" conversation the author tries to throw in about Nic talking to her archaeology teacher comes across as shallow and silly, because we never get to emotionally connect to the teacher (or any of the characters, for that matter) - she's just a prop.

Loose ends are never tied up. Problems with parents and home life is discussed frequently, but nothing ever gets resolved and it's irritating.

Minor characters and plot lines are only used to advance the story and then never touched upon again.

The book is more like a short story, with its rough dialogue, undeveloped characters, and bland/also underdeveloped plot. If you're looking for a good novel about two girls in love, stay away.

posted by untiltheend on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    my favorite

    i am an avid reader, & this book is my all-time favorite. short & sweet, this book helped me find myself. it gave me the courage to come out, & led me to an unforgettable relationship. i wasn't trying to find myself, it just happened. a must-read for any teen girl, especially for the close-minded.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Love love love

    I was just reading the reviews and noticed a lot of bad ones. To those people i have to say shame on you. This book isnt supposed to be a classic or award winning. It is supposed to give the reader a sense of self and courage. It is not to be read by the closed minded or the irrational. This book is a window into the soul of a lost young girl who finds herself with the help of another. I loved this book six years ago and i still love it now. Do not hesitate to buy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    It's such a cute story and I loved the characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    One of my favorite books

    This book is a beautiful coming of age story about figuring out and learning to love who you are. A great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, where are all these good reviews coming from?

    I was really excited to finally read this book when I got my hands on a copy of it. Having discovered it online and read all the positive reviews, I was sure it was going to be incredible. Thirty pages in, and I was disappointed. I did finish it, but I didn't enjoy it.

    I'll start with the characters. They were flat; very 2 dimensional, and not likeable at all. Their interactions with each other were also very flat and bland. The relationships between them were unrealistic and silly. I had a lot of trouble buying into Nic and Battle's relationship at all. They hardly seemed like they were friends, from the dialogue shown, and the relationship wasn't written well either. We don't even get to see a lot of this relationship - just snippets here and there that don't amount to much. They go through the typical fall in love-breakup-get back together thing here, which could make for some great angst, but it's just not well done. I can't stress enough how badly their relationship was written.

    The writing is mediocre. The author is terrible with transitions, whether it be one part of a scene to another or a major plot development coming into effect. I have read books with much more mature and refined writing than this. In addition a lot of details were left out, and some were thrown in that didn't need to be. One such example of this is the way the author constantly feels the need to describe what the girls are wearing. First of all, these descriptions are unnecessary and annoying, and second, no teenage girls would wear clothing like that.

    Finally the story is unrealistic, especially in the way of the school. Yes, such programs do exist, however, I doubt each girl would have their own private room and phone number. Yeah, that seems like nitpicking; however, read a whole book like this and you'll understand my annoyance with the many unrealistic details such as those. The adults were useless in the story, basically just there as part of the scenery. The one "deep" conversation the author tries to throw in about Nic talking to her archaeology teacher comes across as shallow and silly, because we never get to emotionally connect to the teacher (or any of the characters, for that matter) - she's just a prop.

    Loose ends are never tied up. Problems with parents and home life is discussed frequently, but nothing ever gets resolved and it's irritating.

    Minor characters and plot lines are only used to advance the story and then never touched upon again.

    The book is more like a short story, with its rough dialogue, undeveloped characters, and bland/also underdeveloped plot. If you're looking for a good novel about two girls in love, stay away.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    I had to buy two

    I own the paper back book and i let a friend barrow it still havent got it back i got another for myself i dont think im going to get the book back but she read it along with a bunch of other people who loved this book this is one of my fave reads

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    ......

    Waste of time..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great Short Read

    I loved this book. Its only 100 pages but the plots builds well. I definitely wish it was longer but i hope the next book is just as good. I would definitely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Really enjoyed reading this i could not put it down. I highly recemend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Do not recommend.

    I read this book for my summer reading.I hadn't read the back of the book. I just picked it up. When i first started reading is it was interesting, and cool. But as i got more into it it got very awkward and did not flow well together.It foreshadowed way too much. It started to get very boring and dragged on. One of the issues about it was it wasn't easy to relate to for most people. I felt like the foreshadowing killed it for me ,because i had a feeling the whole time what was going to happen at the ending. I would rate this a 4/5 out of a 10. Because it just in all wasn't a very good match for me, and i just didn't enjoy the book by having awkward gaps in between the story line. I would not suggest this to anyone. Unless you have to for you to read this i would find another book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While Nicola might be the main character, the story's focus on B

    While Nicola might be the main character, the story's focus on Battle (and that there is a sequel about her now) is what I found the most exceptional about this book. There are very few truly bisexual characters, and Battle is my one of my favourites. While Nicola's story of self discovery is also very touching and realistic, the way that she helps others come to find themselves while doing so as well makes this a story of great friendships. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I didn't like it. I finished the book but almost stopped a few t

    I didn't like it. I finished the book but almost stopped a few times in it because it was boring to me. I kept reading it because I thought it would get better, and for me it didn't. I agree with the other 1-2 star reviews on here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Question

    I havnt read this book, only the summary. Is Nicola bi???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Terrible...

    This book was awkwardly written, incredibly unrealistic, andbhas an upsetting outcome. Quite frankly, it was a waste of eight dollars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Incredible!

    I just finished reading this book about five minutes ago. It was am awesome read and the sequel is next on my list. It is one of those books where you fall in love with the characters and almost shed some tears on the final page cause youre not ready for it to be over. This book is completely recommedable, and i will be sharing the news of such a great read with my closest friends. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love

    i love this book if you want a good love storie this is your book. @ sometimes i could not keep the number of ppl in check. but i got it done and in check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    Loved it!

    Overall, it's a great read. I finished it in a day simply because every time I went to put it down, I just... Couldn't. Involving is the least I can say for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute

    This is a cute book that's good for a quick read. The characters are teenagers, so there is, of course, some of the usual teenage confusion of who is dating whom and who is feeling jealous.
    What's really nice about this story is the fact that it's realistic. The ending is believable. The entire story seems just like a what a girl would write while away at a gifted summer school.
    My only complaint is that some parts seem a little rushed. I do think I'll be reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Characters

    This was a good book, but not as great as the reviews I read made it seem. The writing seemed more like what you would find in a short story than a novel. The descriptions of the characters and their families, and their diversity was great. However, the development of them and their relationships seemed lacking to me. At times, the angst didn't seem real. Also, the emotions around physical intimacy didn't seem as intense as I thought they should. This would be a good book for teens who are curious or questioning, or who just want to read about something that any of their friends might be going through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    An Amazing Page- Turner!

    I got this at my local library just to read for a summer book for school, but I ended up falling in love with it! Even though I think i'm striaght, I related to Nic in so many ways!! Just the way she thought and acted was almost exactly like me! I read this book in 3 days, even though I had to work at 8 in the morning I would stay up untill 3am not able to put it down. I highly recomend it even if you arn't a lesbien or undecided. I am soo looking forward to the sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6