Customer Reviews for

Empress of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

my favorite

i am an avid reader, & this book is my all-time favorite. short & sweet, this book helped me find myself. it gave me the courage to come out, & led me to an unforgettable relationship. i wasn't trying to find myself, it just happened. a must-read for any teen girl, espe...
i am an avid reader, & this book is my all-time favorite. short & sweet, this book helped me find myself. it gave me the courage to come out, & led me to an unforgettable relationship. i wasn't trying to find myself, it just happened. a must-read for any teen girl, especially for the close-minded.

posted by thepencapsays on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow, where are all these good reviews coming from?

I was really excited to finally read this book when I got my hands on a copy of it. Having discovered it online and read all the positive reviews, I was sure it was going to be incredible. Thirty pages in, and I was disappointed. I did finish it, but I didn't enjoy it. ...
I was really excited to finally read this book when I got my hands on a copy of it. Having discovered it online and read all the positive reviews, I was sure it was going to be incredible. Thirty pages in, and I was disappointed. I did finish it, but I didn't enjoy it.

I'll start with the characters. They were flat; very 2 dimensional, and not likeable at all. Their interactions with each other were also very flat and bland. The relationships between them were unrealistic and silly. I had a lot of trouble buying into Nic and Battle's relationship at all. They hardly seemed like they were friends, from the dialogue shown, and the relationship wasn't written well either. We don't even get to see a lot of this relationship - just snippets here and there that don't amount to much. They go through the typical fall in love-breakup-get back together thing here, which could make for some great angst, but it's just not well done. I can't stress enough how badly their relationship was written.

The writing is mediocre. The author is terrible with transitions, whether it be one part of a scene to another or a major plot development coming into effect. I have read books with much more mature and refined writing than this. In addition a lot of details were left out, and some were thrown in that didn't need to be. One such example of this is the way the author constantly feels the need to describe what the girls are wearing. First of all, these descriptions are unnecessary and annoying, and second, no teenage girls would wear clothing like that.

Finally the story is unrealistic, especially in the way of the school. Yes, such programs do exist, however, I doubt each girl would have their own private room and phone number. Yeah, that seems like nitpicking; however, read a whole book like this and you'll understand my annoyance with the many unrealistic details such as those. The adults were useless in the story, basically just there as part of the scenery. The one "deep" conversation the author tries to throw in about Nic talking to her archaeology teacher comes across as shallow and silly, because we never get to emotionally connect to the teacher (or any of the characters, for that matter) - she's just a prop.

Loose ends are never tied up. Problems with parents and home life is discussed frequently, but nothing ever gets resolved and it's irritating.

Minor characters and plot lines are only used to advance the story and then never touched upon again.

The book is more like a short story, with its rough dialogue, undeveloped characters, and bland/also underdeveloped plot. If you're looking for a good novel about two girls in love, stay away.

posted by untiltheend on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    my favorite

    i am an avid reader, & this book is my all-time favorite. short & sweet, this book helped me find myself. it gave me the courage to come out, & led me to an unforgettable relationship. i wasn't trying to find myself, it just happened. a must-read for any teen girl, especially for the close-minded.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Love love love

    I was just reading the reviews and noticed a lot of bad ones. To those people i have to say shame on you. This book isnt supposed to be a classic or award winning. It is supposed to give the reader a sense of self and courage. It is not to be read by the closed minded or the irrational. This book is a window into the soul of a lost young girl who finds herself with the help of another. I loved this book six years ago and i still love it now. Do not hesitate to buy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    It's such a cute story and I loved the characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    One of my favorite books

    This book is a beautiful coming of age story about figuring out and learning to love who you are. A great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    I had to buy two

    I own the paper back book and i let a friend barrow it still havent got it back i got another for myself i dont think im going to get the book back but she read it along with a bunch of other people who loved this book this is one of my fave reads

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Really enjoyed reading this i could not put it down. I highly recemend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While Nicola might be the main character, the story's focus on B

    While Nicola might be the main character, the story's focus on Battle (and that there is a sequel about her now) is what I found the most exceptional about this book. There are very few truly bisexual characters, and Battle is my one of my favourites. While Nicola's story of self discovery is also very touching and realistic, the way that she helps others come to find themselves while doing so as well makes this a story of great friendships. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Incredible!

    I just finished reading this book about five minutes ago. It was am awesome read and the sequel is next on my list. It is one of those books where you fall in love with the characters and almost shed some tears on the final page cause youre not ready for it to be over. This book is completely recommedable, and i will be sharing the news of such a great read with my closest friends. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love

    i love this book if you want a good love storie this is your book. @ sometimes i could not keep the number of ppl in check. but i got it done and in check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    Loved it!

    Overall, it's a great read. I finished it in a day simply because every time I went to put it down, I just... Couldn't. Involving is the least I can say for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    And its love.

    Nicola is at the Siegel Institute Summer Program for Gifted Youth, and its there she finds out more about herself. Meeting the girl of her dreams, Battle, is when she learns about love comes and stays in many forms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Amazing

    I got this book at my school library and finished it within a week! It was the best book I've ever read thus far...It really made you think about life and what you would do if you didn't have your special somebody. It was very well written and Sara has now made it onto my list of favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    bisexual teen

    I hate reading but when i came acrossed this book, i realized how much i have in common with nic. we both feel in love with someone of the same sex. just like battle stole nics heart, my girlfriend stole mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    Great book!

    I loved this book! I read it in about a day and half because I just couldn't put it down. I'm still questioning my sexuality and this book reeled me in. I also can identify with Nic because I tend to be a little to analytical. I highly recommend it. I look forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Amazing...

    This is such a great book. I could really relate to Nic because I like archaeology and over-analyze everything (!!), plus I am questioning my own sexuality and it was great to read about her relationships with everyone. It is written so you can really get in to the emotions and feel what everyone's feeling and it's pretty realistic with the gay relationships. I recommend this to anyone, gay or straight! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    XD

    ok, i sooooo loved this book!!!! it was a great and different kind of book. i didnt wanna put it down. i read it in 4 days max. i would totally read it again!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    thoughts on empress of the world

    Nicola Lancaster has it hard enough at a camp where high-school students take college-like courses, but now she's she's got to deal with the pressures of trying to hold up a complicated and confusing relationship. On Nic¡¦s first day at the Siegel Institute she befriends two other girls, redheaded and outgoing Katrina, as well as Battle, who posses electric green eyes and who Nic calls ¡¥Beautiful Hair Girl,¡¦ though only in her mind. The three also make friends with Kevin, an aspiring composer and Isaac, funny and nice even though he's just...confusing. They all care for one another like friends do when Nic falls on a hike and twists her ankle, they all want to make sure she¡¦s okay. But after a little while she wants to go moving around more and the only one who doesn't feel ¡§it¡¦s her ankle, let her do what she wants¡¨ is Battle. The situation is believable,it sounds as if this is how it would go with teenagers in real life. It isn¡¦t straight out forward how Battle truly feels for Nic, it doesn¡¦t even seem apparent to Battle. When Nic catches a fever Battle comes to comfort her and their relationship starts with a kiss, like almost all relationships in teen romance novels. Though everything goes wrong when Nic decides to make Battle gift. Sara Ryan touches a subject few people want to talk about, gayness, with an excellent flair. Empress of the World is great book choice for someone looking for an alternative to traditional teen-romance novels. ¿n

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    invoking , had you on your seat

    i loved this book to death. after reading it i realized that i myself am bi . i could relate my feelings to all the ones the main characters had. awesome book should be required read . cant wait for the sequl to come out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    great book!

    WOW! I LOVE this book so much! It is so inspiring and really gives a good view point on what it's like to be gay/bi. I've read it 3 times so far and will probably read it many more times! I would reccommend it to anyone, whether you're gay,bi,trans,straight, or just curious. It really is a great book! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    FREAKING AWESOME!

    Okay, I'm straight and I could not put this book down! I've reread it a ton of times! I am also anxiously awaiting the sequel!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4