Customer Reviews for

The Empty Chair (Lincoln Rhyme Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Mist

    She leaps and kills the rabbit along with a couple of shrews. She pads to result two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is Deaver! You get hooked from the first chapter and have a hard time putting it down. Just when you think you have it figured out, there's another twist. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Boring

    By the end of the book everyone mentioned was a betrayer and criminal. Could have cut 200 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good book

    Really enjoyed this one. Jeffery Deaver is clearly becoming one of my favorite authors :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    A good read

    The is the third Lincoln Rhyme novel. The series is a good series but this book is not quite the best he has written. His books are very well written and keep you tied to the plot and the characters.

    I did like "The Bluie Nowhere" better even though I do like the Lincoln Rhyme series.

    This is a good read.

    J. Robert Ewbank author, "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fish out of water, but learning to swim quickly...

    The Empty Chair is the third novel in the Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series, and while it was not quite as gripping for me as the previous two, it does stand well in both story and telling.

    Back for this outing are the primary protagonists, quadriplegic criminologist Lincoln Rhyme and his protégé-turned love interest, Amelia Sachs. Also along for the ride is Thom, the long suffering medical aid to Rhyme, and seemingly the only one who can weather his moody obstinance.

    However, the similarities and familiarities end there. In a clever move to bring new and fresh hurdles to bear, the story is set in a small town in North Carolina, complete with moonshiners, sleepy slow paced people, and a small town sheriff's department. Lincoln has come to be treated with an experimental procedure in the nearby University Hospital, only to be dragged into a local murder/double kidnapping.

    Deaver uses the term repeatedly, and it is well true; Rhyme and Sachs are "fish out of water" in a place so foreign to them. Nothing here is as it is in Manhattan, and locals aren't all that impressed with the methodical and tedious collection of evidence. Around these here parts, they get hounds and guns and run down the guy they all know did it.

    The intricate weaving of the story works well, and the various local personalities are vivid and believable. I even found myself cursing out loud when things went wrong or a misstep by an over anxious local pulled all into chaos.

    I do have two small grievances regarding details of the firearms handling and ammunition used by the characters. These are petty, but, to me, important. I contend that detail is the backbone of novels such as this. Deaver's research into forensic science, entomology, exobiology, and all the rest, are top notch and make the stories believable. So when he makes a technical error that should be obvious, it stands out like body fluids under luminal.

    These items I bring up only because, for me, they rip a hole in the credibility of the science, procedure, and detail. If items like this are untrue or fabricated, it makes me wonder what other things that I don't know about are likewise incorrect.

    Barring those small oversights, I have to say that The Empty Chair is a good read and a sound progression in the series. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Quadriplegic, criminalist Lincoln Rhyme, accompanied by his lover, investigator Amelia Sachs and his assistant Thom, is in Avery, North Carolina, where he hopes to undergo experimental surgery to aid with spinal cord regeneration. His first day there, Rhyme is visited by Jim Bell, sheriff of Paquenoke County, where two women have been kidnapped and a young man killed by 16-year-old Garrett Hanlon, nicknamed the Insect Boy because of his interest in bugs. Garrett's on the run and Bell wants Rhyme to help find him before he kills the two women he kidnapped. Sachs talks Rhyme into looking into the case and the two begin their unique investigating: Rhyme examining the forensic evidence in a lab with Sachs doing the legwork. They eventually track Garrett through forensics and he is arrested but refuses to reveal the whereabouts of the two women. Sachs thinks there is more to what's going on than they've been told, so she lets Garrett go under the condition he will lead her to the two women. Now Sachs is in a world of trouble with the law and Rhyme's trying to trace her whereabouts, fearing she will be shot either by Garrett or law enforcement.

    Rhyme and Sachs are two very likable characters who mesh well together. Rhyme, frustrated with the physical limitations he is forced to endure, seeks a way to become whole again while Sachs secretly wants him to remain a quadriplegic, fearing he will not want her once he is mobile. As with each book in the series, the forensics investigation is fascinating. The mystery of Garrett and his reason for kidnapping the women is well-done, as is the suspense as Sachs and Garrett are pursued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Surprisingly complex

    When I began the book I did not think I was going to enjoy reading it. I did not especially care for the characters. But the plot is so carefully crafted that it gains speed as it moves along, revealing layers of plot as it goes. Although the reader probably will not anticipate all of the twists toward the end, when they happen it seems obvious and natural that they do so. The reader will come to care about the main characters and at the end of the book will anticipate the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Lincoln Rhyme never fails to entertain. He is the "intelligent" alternative to some of the more street smart dectives. Love his relationahip with Angie; it's very "grown up."

    Full of twists and turns. Keeps you on your toes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Toss this book in the fireplace!

    The Empty Chair," the title of Jeffery Deaver's third Lincoln Rhyme novel, pretty much says everything in the title. From each chapter of the book, it contains scenes to contain no suspense and derisive twists. <BR/><BR/>In chapter three of the series, Deaver brings back detective Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs, his two most well liked heroes from the previous novels ("The Bone Collector" and "The Coffin Dancer"). Recently commuting from his townhouse in New York, Rhyme now heads over North Carolina to undergo some high risk spinal cord surgery. Just when he and Amelia are about to settle in, the local authorities come in and acquire Rhyme to help them solve a case involving a murder, along with the disappearance of two teenage girls. The kidnapper is a sixteen year-old teenager dubbed the "Insect Boy," knicknamed for his disturbing obsession with bugs. Unfamiliar to his new surroundings, Rhyme is unsure of who to trust. Throughout the investigation, Rhyme begins to clash head to head to Amelia, who not just is his partner but also his one and only protegee. <BR/><BR/>Despite all of the flaws, I do have to admit that there are a few things that I enjoyed in the book. First off, I would like to give praise for Deaver's cleverly developed metaphor comparing a hornet's nest to Rhyme's distrust for the residents in this new town. And being a current reader in the series, I liked seeing how Amelia Sach's instinct on forensics is beginning to get more opinionated. <BR/><BR/>Now being a huge Lincoln Rhyme fan, I have enjoyed all of the other cases that he and Amelia have tackled. I must say that this particular one made me feel a little dissatisfied from the beginning. As mentioned before, title of this book says it all, from where it begins to where it finishes. I was annoyed at how the plot contained bunches of ludicrous twists, not to mention the myriad holes in the mystery. What bothered me the most about the book were all of the paper-thin characters throughout the plot. All of the junk contained in "The Empty Chair" made it very painful for me to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Not a bad book but a bit a reality check needed

    It was a great story. The plots, twists that you would expect form Deaver are all there but the book seemed to fizzle out. A bit to much useless banter while touring the woods. Some of the characters were just over the top. Near the end the gunfight would make the OK Corral seem like Disneyland but it was a nice twist at the very end. The stupidity of Sachs and the townfolk in the book were just to much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Great mystrey.

    This is my first book by Mr.Deaver i have read and it is a great mystrey, tautly written with beatifully drawn characters. I don't think anybody can guess the ending. The last 100 pages goes like a flash. However, a few questions, please? Wasn't there a newspaper in the town with a nosey reporter suspicious of all these happenings? Was there a sequel to this novel? It begs one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Excellent read

    I'm a Deaver fan and like all his other books I found this one to be one of his best. A great thriller and full of suspense..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Sad that it was over

    This book is awesome. I almost couldn't stop reading it but had to force myself to go to bed. Exciting until the very end. I recommend this to everyone who likes exciting mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    Disappointing

    This was a very disappointing book from a very good writer. The plot was somewhat predictable and tired. I read it quickly just to be done with it. Devil's Teardrop was a much better novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Another GREAT Lincoln Rhyme Story

    THE EMPTY CHAIR AUTHOR: Jeffery Deaver PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster REVIEWED BY: Barbara Rhoades BOOK REVIEW: Are you a fan of Jeffery Deaver¿s character, Lincoln Rhyme? If so, you don¿t want to miss the book, The Empty Chair. In this story, Lincoln has decided to have surgery performed that may give him more movement. When Lincoln and Amelia, his right-hand gal and soul mate, arrive at the University of North Carolina, they are asked by the sheriff of Tanner¿s Corner to help them locate two girls that have been abducted. Putting aside his need to be ready for the surgery, Lincoln agrees to help. Between them, they determine that the Insect Boy is the culprit but when he is apprehended, he refuses to tell where one of the girls is being held. Amelia begins to believe Garrett, AKA the Insert boy, is not guilty. Lincoln disagrees. Pitting their wits against each other, each tries to prove he is right. Mr. Deaver¿s writes with a knowledge of local color that is superb and keeps the reader on the edge of his chair until the last word is read. He also gives the plot several unexpected twists that add to the story. Be sure to get a copy for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    empty chair good reading...

    Deaver has once again given us a very entertaining read. This one is a nice change of pace (and place) for the Rhyme/Sachs series. I liked the change of setting to the swamplands of North Carolina, and how Deaver lets you feel Rhyme's frustration at being a 'fish out of water'. Even though he keeps the action going, this one seems a little slower in the first half of the book than some of the rest of Deaver's books. However, after you get by the halfway point the action and the tension really gets cranked up. The last part of the book is typical Deaver. I won't give the ending away, but I will say that the plot twists so much it will make your head spin. Again, this book is a great read, and a great addition to the Rhyme/Sachs series. It adds to the series without rewriting anything. I also would recommend the Devils Teardrop to any Jeffery Deaver fans who like the forensic science, action, and mystery novels. The book could have been shorter, but it was worth reading. Jeffery Deaver is typical to be very detailed and that he was. You feel like you are part of the book because the scene is described so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    'fish out of water.....'

    Heance my headline I felt like a 'fish out of water'after I read the first two novels of the Rhyme series(which were very good).This one was the most emotional of the trilogy. I thought I could out smart Deaver and find out who did it, but the end is like Deaver's tradmark endings, plenty of twists and turns that will make your head spin and you gasping for air.This one of my favorite and I suggest you recomend this and many more of his exceptional novels to your friends who are craving for an eccellent murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    What a Good Book!

    Over the course of years (too many to mention), I have read hundreds (thousands?) of mostly mystery books. I have to say that Jeffery Deavers', The Empty Chair, is my all time favorite. Other books I have read have a tendancy to not keep me interested or to not keep me constantly guessing the outcome. This book had so many twists and interesting angles, that what I expected to have happen didn't, and what I never imagined to have happen did. I have now read three more of his books. All of the books are three and a half (maybe 4) star ratings, but I have to say that this is book is still retaining the rank as my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2001

    Awesome!

    This book is great.... I was amazed in the twists... only a brilliant mind could create such a masterpiece.... I suggest this book to anyone... if you like suspense, you will not be able to put it down... It would make an awesome movie... Definately 5 stars... no doubt! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4