BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Empty Chair (Lincoln Rhyme Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good book

    Really enjoyed this one. Jeffery Deaver is clearly becoming one of my favorite authors :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    A good read

    The is the third Lincoln Rhyme novel. The series is a good series but this book is not quite the best he has written. His books are very well written and keep you tied to the plot and the characters.

    I did like "The Bluie Nowhere" better even though I do like the Lincoln Rhyme series.

    This is a good read.

    J. Robert Ewbank author, "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fish out of water, but learning to swim quickly...

    The Empty Chair is the third novel in the Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series, and while it was not quite as gripping for me as the previous two, it does stand well in both story and telling.

    Back for this outing are the primary protagonists, quadriplegic criminologist Lincoln Rhyme and his protégé-turned love interest, Amelia Sachs. Also along for the ride is Thom, the long suffering medical aid to Rhyme, and seemingly the only one who can weather his moody obstinance.

    However, the similarities and familiarities end there. In a clever move to bring new and fresh hurdles to bear, the story is set in a small town in North Carolina, complete with moonshiners, sleepy slow paced people, and a small town sheriff's department. Lincoln has come to be treated with an experimental procedure in the nearby University Hospital, only to be dragged into a local murder/double kidnapping.

    Deaver uses the term repeatedly, and it is well true; Rhyme and Sachs are "fish out of water" in a place so foreign to them. Nothing here is as it is in Manhattan, and locals aren't all that impressed with the methodical and tedious collection of evidence. Around these here parts, they get hounds and guns and run down the guy they all know did it.

    The intricate weaving of the story works well, and the various local personalities are vivid and believable. I even found myself cursing out loud when things went wrong or a misstep by an over anxious local pulled all into chaos.

    I do have two small grievances regarding details of the firearms handling and ammunition used by the characters. These are petty, but, to me, important. I contend that detail is the backbone of novels such as this. Deaver's research into forensic science, entomology, exobiology, and all the rest, are top notch and make the stories believable. So when he makes a technical error that should be obvious, it stands out like body fluids under luminal.

    These items I bring up only because, for me, they rip a hole in the credibility of the science, procedure, and detail. If items like this are untrue or fabricated, it makes me wonder what other things that I don't know about are likewise incorrect.

    Barring those small oversights, I have to say that The Empty Chair is a good read and a sound progression in the series. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Lincoln Rhyme never fails to entertain. He is the "intelligent" alternative to some of the more street smart dectives. Love his relationahip with Angie; it's very "grown up."

    Full of twists and turns. Keeps you on your toes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Not a bad book but a bit a reality check needed

    It was a great story. The plots, twists that you would expect form Deaver are all there but the book seemed to fizzle out. A bit to much useless banter while touring the woods. Some of the characters were just over the top. Near the end the gunfight would make the OK Corral seem like Disneyland but it was a nice twist at the very end. The stupidity of Sachs and the townfolk in the book were just to much for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    empty chair good reading...

    Deaver has once again given us a very entertaining read. This one is a nice change of pace (and place) for the Rhyme/Sachs series. I liked the change of setting to the swamplands of North Carolina, and how Deaver lets you feel Rhyme's frustration at being a 'fish out of water'. Even though he keeps the action going, this one seems a little slower in the first half of the book than some of the rest of Deaver's books. However, after you get by the halfway point the action and the tension really gets cranked up. The last part of the book is typical Deaver. I won't give the ending away, but I will say that the plot twists so much it will make your head spin. Again, this book is a great read, and a great addition to the Rhyme/Sachs series. It adds to the series without rewriting anything. I also would recommend the Devils Teardrop to any Jeffery Deaver fans who like the forensic science, action, and mystery novels. The book could have been shorter, but it was worth reading. Jeffery Deaver is typical to be very detailed and that he was. You feel like you are part of the book because the scene is described so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Another good one...

    I really enjoyed Jeffrey Deaver's third book. It is full of twists and turns. I just can't wait for the 4th one to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1