Customer Reviews for

Empty Net: The Assassins Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sweet angels in Heaven. This book was beyond amazing. No kidding

Sweet angels in Heaven. This book was beyond amazing. No kidding…I laughed, maybe snorted a couple times (it happens), I shouted at Audrey to get her head out of her rear, and of course with a ending like that…I cried. Oh my gosh did I cry. 12:45 in the morning and I am...
Sweet angels in Heaven. This book was beyond amazing. No kidding…I laughed, maybe snorted a couple times (it happens), I shouted at Audrey to get her head out of her rear, and of course with a ending like that…I cried. Oh my gosh did I cry. 12:45 in the morning and I am bawling my eyes out thinking of what just happened and what was to come. I was thinking heartbreak was sure to rear its ugly face again. Did it? Pssh, like I am gonna tell you. You have to read it to find out.

Toni can write some books, lordy can that woman write some books. In fact I was head over heels in love with Shea and Elli’s story (Taking Shots) I didn’t think any of her other books would come close to that kind of perfection. Yeah Trying to Score was good, but not as great as Taking Shots in my opinion. So I figured I would get a good read, a little (ok who are we kidding, A LOT of) steamy action, and Shea would still be reigning king of Toniland. Nope, Tate came charging in and dethroned Shea boy and now there is a new king in town. And let me tell you, I likey me some Tate.

Another thing I love about this series is the fact it is based in good ol’ Nashville. With me being only a few hours away, we try to visit often. So when Toni adds places, like the Opryland Hotel, it makes the story more real and come alive. And she continues to keep her old characters involved and they become like another family to the reader. And seeing Toni’s humor shine through in her work is another added plus in her books. Girl is something crazy and it shows.

So here is what I am thinking...there is about 30 some odd guys on the Assassins Team right? And roughly guessing from what I gathered in the 3 books about 10 are probably married and/or taken. So I am pretty confident Toni can stomp out another 20 stories for us readers. Yeah, no pressure…just keep the yummy coming, ok?

Empty Net is definitely one of my fav reads of 2012 so far and I am extremely excited to read the next book Blue Lines. And have a few theories that Hootie was none to pleased to heart about. So Toni...get to steppin' and get Blue Lines out in a hurry! *Pretty Please* If you haven’t done so already…READ THIS SERIES!

posted by twimom101 on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really bad-- couldn't even finish

This book was awful! I can' t believe it's written by the same author as TAKING SHOTS (which was a fun read). The first 200 pgs keep repeating the same thing, the lead female character is annoyiing and the writing & editing is horrible. Skip this one.

posted by luvschicklit on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Strong ending

    Love the series. This one started off rough with my apathy so strong I nearly stopped reading...which is unlike me. However glad I didnt as the last quarter of the book totally redeamed for the slow start. Well worth the journey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Nettle

    He sat quietly, his ears pricked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Loved the series can't wait to read more!

    Piper and Erik were great characters....and each book gives a little insight to the past characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    I should accept by now that these Assassins books are just going

    I should accept by now that these Assassins books are just going to be an emotional rollercoaster. I’ve read Taking Shots and Trying to Score and both of them broke my heart at least a couple of times. Empty Net proves to be no different.

    Audrey has some serious self-esteem issues that she has to work through and a pretty big secret that has caused her to seek out only bad relationships. We got a glimpse of how bad her latest one with Levi is in Trying to Score but we get a little bit more of it here. Unfortunately those issues cause her to fight her feelings for Tate for most of the book. There is a lot of back and forth on her part and that man has the patience of a saint to put up with it. But the nice thing is that once she gets everything straight in her head it goes much better for them.

    Full review available on Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    (Complimentary copy provided in exchange for an honest review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    Yet another installment from Toni Aleo and the Assassins, and I

    Yet another installment from Toni Aleo and the Assassins, and I must say this one was much more enjoyable for me than her first in the series. I found myself connecting with the story and the characters quite well, and it was also a shorter book (a nice bonus).

    "Taking Shots" was my introduction to Toni Aleo, and I wasn't terribly impressed. A part of me didn't even want to read this book. I figured I would not like it much, but I happy to say that I was wrong. I do like the author's "edgy" style, and the story even took some twists and turns I never saw coming. And you will never find any sappy romance in her novels!

    I could have done without the flagrant profanity and the semi-detailed sex scenes, but that is another hallmark of Toni Aleo's style. I was not as bothered with those issues during this book, but I feel that they were a distraction. Although it is clear that the morals in the book are not where I would like them to be, I am still glad that marriage seems to be Toni Aleo's true "happily ever after" ending. I thank her for that.

    I told my mom that I connected with this book more because it was the story of one of my relationships in reverse. There is a guy in my life who has a truly poor image of himself, and if he were ever honest with himself, he would not be coming up with every excuse under the sun for us not to be together. He could learn something from the relationship between Audrey and Tate. It was also nice to see Elli and Shea return (I nearly forgot about them!).

    Although this is a book in a series, you will have no problem jumping right into the story. I can certainly recommend this as an edgy romance novel that many women will enjoy. Indeed, Toni Aleo's best so far!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    would recommend

    slow start, but gets interesting like a page turner. would recommend..check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Good

    I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Good story.

    At first this story was hard to read because I could not relate to the main character and her idiotic choices. Once you get pass that hurdle the story itself is awesome. Definitely worth the read. This story is intense, emotional, and very steamy. Purchasing the rest of the series now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    i would bake him cupcakes

    he would be yummy to lick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    While this is book three in the Assassins series by Toni Aleo, i

    While this is book three in the Assassins series by Toni Aleo, it is definitely a standalone read. I enjoyed both the characters and the way Audrey Parker is looking for her Prince Charming, enter in Tade Odder a new goalie for the Assassins. 




    Through a series of fun coincidences Tate and Audrey keep meeting over and over again, just like fate is throwing them together. The author does an amazing job writing the story so you feel like you’re deeply immersed into the world and the characters surrounding Tate and Audrey. 




    This is a hot story full of sex, love, and hockey. Definitely a must read where Audrey finds her unlikely Prince Charming and her ever after. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book is part of a series I enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    4 STARS I really liked Empty Net book 3 of Assassins except for

    4 STARS

    I really liked Empty Net book 3 of Assassins except for the love scenes and some language. It was fun to see all the characters from the first two books back again. Makes me want to go to a hockey game for the first time. This book brought out arrange of emotions from me. Like wanting to yell leave him to Audrey, cry with Tate. laugh with them. I admit to tears of joy, compassion at different points.

    Audrey still loves her boyfriend Levi who is still a creep. One of the times he breaks up with her is at her sisters party. She drinks too much and ends up in bed with a good looking guy. When she wakes up in the hotel room she hurries and dresses telling him it was a mistake.

    Tate tells her it doesn't have to be a one night stand. Audrey tells him it does. Neither one can remember the others name if they knew it. Audrey feels like she did it with teenager.

    Tate is still mooning over his runaway girl. Lucas tries to get him to come to his wedding dinner the night before the wedding.

    Audrey finds out her new neighbor that she has yet to meet at the wedding is Tate. She is glad to find out he is 21 but still turns him down.

    Tate knows what he wants and is willing to be just Audrey's friend tills she realizes he is a good guy. He is talented, nice and wants a relationship with her.

    I liked the plot, like the characters can understand why Audrey is so unhappy about some things and picks looser for boyfriend.

    I hope their is a Assassins book 4 in the future.
    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
    04/23/2013 Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept 417 pages ISBN 9781300759201

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    First thoughts after¿¿ Wonderful ending and can¿t wait for the n

    First thoughts after……
    Wonderful ending and can’t wait for the next!!
    My Synopsis
    Audrey has been dating losers since she was allowed to start dating. At her sister’s bachelorette party her current loser breaks up with her by phone! Then the most gorgeous man approaches her in the bar where the party is being held and she takes him back to her room……
    Tate has been in the US for 8ish months and lonely and in a dark place. He sees the most beautiful lady he’s ever seen in the bar. US ladies are more difficult to approach but he goes out of his way to meet the amazing woman.
    Will a 1 night stand end up in Happily Ever After or will both Audrey’s and Tate’s secrets from the past keep them apart?
    How distracted did I get………
    Empty Net reeled me in from the get go! The banter between Tate and Audrey is fun and amusing and the love story is sweet and sassy. The supporting characters are amazing and just a well put together story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I love sports romances, & Toni Aleo definitely writes ones t

    I love sports romances, & Toni Aleo definitely writes ones that I enjoy. I love how she includes hockey in the story, & alternates between the male & female leads....oh, & I definitely enjoy those steamy sex scenes, too...can't forget those. ;)

    I've been really looking forward to Empty Net ever since I finished Trying to Score! :D This one is Audrey's story, she's Fallon's sister, & we met her in all her fabulous-cupcake-glory in the last Assassins book. :) She's quirky, fun, & all-around awesome...her one downfall in Trying to Score was Levi...needless to say, he was the one feature of Empty Net that I didn't enjoy, although I definitely understood his purpose as the nasty, typical-a-hole type that Audrey dated in the past. He makes Tate seem even more awesome when he appears, & they act almost like opposites to each other...so Tate=awesome, & Levi=not-awesome. Plus, Levi is creepy & Tate is Sexy...yes, with a capital S. ;)

    Out of all of Toni Aleo's heroines in the Assassins series, Audrey is my favourite. :) She had flaws yes, & I'm sure her flaws will annoy you, too. They did annoy me, I could understand where she was coming from, & what I loved most was that she evolved . She moved past her flaws, & I felt like she changedbut , or rather her attitude changed, in the book, & that made me like her even more. I also loved seeing the past main characters from the other books pop up....especially when they're so happy! :D It makes me thrilled to get to see Elli & Shea popping out babies, & Fallon & Lucas continually arguing then of course, 'making up'. It's awesome to get to see where these characters are, especially after going through some tough times with them. :)

    Now...to the part I've been saving for last (after all...the best is saved for last, isn't it? :P)...the romance! :D I absolutely loved the romancet! I loved how Tate & Audrey met, and how the tension was a lot different because they totally got their sexual tension out of the way....but, that didn't stop the tension from continuing to build! I also loved absolutely everything about Tate. :D He was adorable, yet hot & sexy at the exact same time...& I loved it! Tate's persistence was also something I absolutely adored. He knew that he & Audrey were good for each other...& he wasn't willing to drop it just because she was afraid. :) I also adored how Tate & Audrey both grew so much as characters...& mostly because of each other, it's one of the things that made them so great together...they were both awesome people, kind of happy...but not really, & then you put them together & they were even better! :D I loved the emotional connection between them...& their physical connection, too...Tate and Audrey steam up the pages, & let me just say that no cupcake is safe in their presence (I'll let you infer about that as you will :P).

    While this series has had editorial issues in the past, I definitely think that they were a lot better in Empty Net. I actually think that this has been my favourite book in the series so far....although, I still have a serious soft spot for Taking Shots, & Shea...oh, Shea. *sigh* ;) I definitely recommend Empty Net, and this series to sports romance fans, or to fans of HEAs who think that they'd be a fan of guys with sexy athletic bodies getting sweaty...& also sensitive, with their lucky ladies. ;)

    *I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    *This review is also on my blog, and other accounts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2