Customer Reviews for

enLIGHTened: How I Lost 40 Pounds with a Yoga Mat, Fresh Pineapples, and a Beagle-Pointer

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Nothing New Here

    This is a whiny and incredibly pretentious ode to the author's neurosis. If you're already on the yogic path you will probably really appreciate how she validates your choices. I, however, do not view a whole wheat organic veggie pizza as a diet 'splurge' so it was hard for me to relate to. It's chock full of what a liberal earth mother would consider 'supposed-to' type advice. As I said, nothing new here, but it was interesting enough to read from cover to cover and kept me interested and even slightly entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Nursury

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Good book

    Enjoying the book, but the Nook version is riddled with typos. The stories injected into the chapters are particularly bad. The section that I'm reading now has no periods. Typos aside, it is in interesting, thought-provoking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    a book to come back and read again

    down to earth, fun to read and insightful. i've faced so many of the same challenges and she taught me how to succeed with yoga, healthy eating and the people who love me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    great book

    i really enjoyed this book. it was inspiring and had some great tips to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read for anyone determined to make a positive change in their lifestyle!

    Part spiritual memoir, part how-to manual for diet and lifestyle change, the words filling these pages are both relevant and inspiring. Jessica Berger Gross succeeds in making friends with her readers by doing something we rarely get the chance to see- she exposes her very real past pain for all to see, and allows herself to remain real and accessible as she does so. Sharing hurt from a dysfunctional and abusive childhood, emotional over-eating, ineffective coping strategies, getting on and falling off the diet wagon, and eventually making a sustainable change in her own life, Berger-Gross reaches out a compassionate hand to us all, cheering us each on in our own path to happiness and health, with pages and pages of touching and humorous anecdotes along the way. I have tried nearly every one of the recipes she has included in her book- all to wild success and a huge hit for several dinner parties I've thrown since. She peppers the book with yoga poses- all intended to be used by real people- no impossible poses intended for those perfectly sculpted, impossible hollywood bodies. With the poses, she gives the traditional title, along with meditations to ponder and integrate with the practice itself. Her recommendations for music, books, websites and more was tremendously helpful for me, and I have happily used several of these resources to support myself in my own food/yoga life.
    Since reading her book, and the few books she recommends in her pages, I have moved from a committed vegetarian to a passionate, and compassionate vegan. I have never felt healthier, happier or looked better. Reading EnLIGHTened, I felt I had made a friend for life, and will enjoy every re-read of Jessica Berger Gross' words. I have purchased this book for friends and family, and highly recommend it to everyone and anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Inspirational

    I really loved this book! EnLIGHTened is a perfect mix of the practical and inspirational. It is written in a very user-friendly manner. The descriptions and pictures of the yoga poses are clear and helpful. Ms. Gross also highlights important take-aways in each section that can serve as great references. But in addition to being useful, Ms. Gross' story is motivating, candid, funny, and touching. As I read it I felt as if I was talking to a girlfriend. Her journey to wellness can serve as a motivation for all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1