Customer Reviews for

Enchanted

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Lovely fairy tale

Originally reviewed on my blog: SIK Book Reviews

Enchanted is Alethea Kontis's debut YA novel. Although, she has written short stories, essays, reviews, etc. I think she did a very good job with this novel and I believe she has a lot of potential for her future nov...
Originally reviewed on my blog: SIK Book Reviews

Enchanted is Alethea Kontis's debut YA novel. Although, she has written short stories, essays, reviews, etc. I think she did a very good job with this novel and I believe she has a lot of potential for her future novels. I look forward to reading her next book.

This novel is a lovely fairy tale story filled with wondrous magic, first loves, and dangerous adventure. I very much enjoyed the way Kontis told the story, using all different types of fairy tales and melding them into one lovely fairy tale story. Although I am partial to the original fairy tales filled with doom and gloom and no happily ever after, I do still enjoy the more modern fairy tales in all their glory of true love stories and the happy endings. I am a romantic at heart, after all.

I loved all of the characters. I thought the Woodcutter family members were all presented in a fun and interesting way. Sunday and her sisters each have their own unique characteristics that are delightful to read about. Sunday is a sweet young girl who just loves to write, tell, and hear stories. She is a very endearing character who you can't help but love. Rumbold (the prince/the frog) begins as a very mysterious character, with secrets hidden in his past. He seems like such a nice young man, but the mystery causes one to wonder what has happened in the past. The fact is, he doesn't even know...so, as the reader, we get to learn right alongside him.

I thought the writing style was very good for a debut novelist. There were some mistakes, but it didn't bother me too much (but I am an English major, so these things do tend to bother me more than the average person!). Kontis's writing was able to envelop me in the story enough to fully enjoy it. The beginning, however, did not grab me as much as I would have liked...but, it did grab me later on.

I thought the story was creative and unique in the way that all types of fairy tales made an appearance in just one story. The fairy tales also had unique twists to differentiate them from the canonical versions, but keeping the core motifs intact.

I also love the cover and the title. They are perfect for the story. The only thing I would complain about is how quickly Sunday falls in love with the frog. It didn't seem quite right to fall in love that fast and that easy for a first time love, especially since she wasn't falling in love with the human himself, she was falling in love with an enchanted frog. One would think that this would take some time to wrap her mind around the fact that he is not human and then gradually fall in love...

posted by sikbookreviewer on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

This book had an excellent premise; the idea of mixing all the fairy tales into one storyline was appealing. Unfortunately, this angle wasn't thoroughly explored. The story was sweet but became predictable and superficial. There were spots that it definitely lagged. ...
This book had an excellent premise; the idea of mixing all the fairy tales into one storyline was appealing. Unfortunately, this angle wasn't thoroughly explored. The story was sweet but became predictable and superficial. There were spots that it definitely lagged.

Still, I would recommend this book to my 9th/10th grade lower level reading students. The read is fairly easy and comprehension was solid. It would be a good stepping stone to more complex reads.

posted by shep1 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    I cannot praise this book enough. I loved the characters, I love

    I cannot praise this book enough. I loved the characters, I loved the idea, I loved the plot and having all of my favorite fairy tales coming together in one place. Miz Kontis's writing style was perfect in keeping with this theme, and the end result is a lovely story full of magic and drama, pulling together classic characters and classic stories in new and exciting ways. This is not to be missed!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    I do love my fairy-tale stories and when I come across a retelli

    I do love my fairy-tale stories and when I come across a retelling of not one fairy-tale, but a few of my favorites all entwined into one book - it is a must read for me! And because of that, I am going to have high expectations for it - and I'm happy to say, Alethea Kontis delivered an exceptional and enticing whimsical tale that swept me off my feet!

    For me, this story flowed quickly and beautifully... I really enjoyed the way Kontis was able to string so many fairy-tales together... The Frog Prince, Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Peter Pan, Jack and the Beanstalk... while keeping the story going with what I would traditionally expect - the lessons to be learned, unforgettable characters, good versus evil and the innocence of true love.

    I loved all of the characters, even the 'evil' ones, lol! Their descriptions and personalities all shined through enough to make them individually memorable - and that was so important being that there were so many to keep track of. I applaud Kontis for being able to pull this off.

    Sunday is the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, which means, that she will possess great magical powers and destined for many good things. She is the youngest of 10 in the Woodcutter family, who loves to write stories, but limits herself to only writing about her family in fear of writing new stories that eventually come true... Sunday befriends Grumble, The Frog, and her three kisses turns him back into a man, Prince Rumbold. Unbeknownst to Sunday, the Prince returns home to gather his strength and creates a plan to meet Sunday again, and have her fall in love with him for his true self. And the quest begins with balls, fairy godmothers and dark magic.

    It does help if you are familiar with the more popular original tales. And even though the ending is somewhat predictable, it did not keep me from reading this book in one night.
    If you truly believe in fairy-tales, this is definitely a book for you!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Aletha Kontis has written a beautiful story interweaving many f

    Aletha Kontis has written a beautiful story interweaving many favorite fairy tales. One can see the scenes as they play out in front of you. The characters become larger than life, the magic is palatable.
    If you enjoy fairy tales told in new ways then you will love this. The intricate weaving of so many different stories had me wrapped up, guessing who or what would come next. Finding little hints at stories untold throughout the entire book was such an enjoyable thrill.
    I truly enjoyed this book, and it will be on my reread list frequently. This is one of those books where you can take something away with each read.
    The cover of this book is absolutely beautiful. But the words written inside are even more beautifully written!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Great

    I loved this book so many mysteries

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Princess Fan

    I love anything that has to do with Fairytales so i thought that i was going to love this book. Well i read the whole thing it was not very long in the first place and it incorporated so many different stories all into the one which was cool. What i did not like was the way that she was changing the fairytales. She was twisting things around which is an authors right. But the way her writing style was just like a fairytale but at points i was very confused as to what was going on and had to reread what was last said. Over all it was a good book the plot was enchanting but it was confusing to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Sunday Woodcutter is the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter.

    Sunday Woodcutter is the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter. She is not destined for greatness like her oldest brother, Jack Jr. She is not hardworking like her sister Saturday, or unfailingly kind like her sister Friday.

    It is also almost impossible for Sunday to live up to her own name. Blithe and bonny and good and gay? That's a lot to live up to.

    Still, Sunday is happy with her life. She loves her family. She has her notebook to fill with stories (that have a slightly disturbing tendency to come true). All is well in their crowded hope near the enchanted forest.

    In a land as ripe with magic as Sunday's, it isn't particularly surprising to meet a talking frog. The real surprise comes when he shows an interest in Sunday's stories and quickly becomes her dear friend.

    Until he disappears.

    Rumbold is more than happy to be human again thanks to Sunday's love. Even if it does mean he is once again Prince Rumbold--a man Sunday's family has long hated.

    But love and magic can be complicated things. And Rumbold isn't one to give up easily. Rumbold will have to try to win Sunday's heart all over again amidst a whirlwind of balls, fairy godmothers and true danger for himself, Sunday and the entire kingdom in Enchanted (2012) by Alethea Kontis.
    Enchanted is Kontis first novel. The second book in the Woodcutter Sisters series, Hero, is due out later in 2013.

    Enchanted is part retelling and part fractured fairy tale as Kontis works in every fairy tale trope, convention and character imaginable into this volume. (Half the fun is catching all of her references.)

    Happily, Enchanted is a fine addition to the world of fairy tale novels. Sunday is a winsome heroine who is steadfast, brave, and just the right amount of stubborn. Rumbold is as charming as one would expect a fairy tale prince to be. With a sprawling cast, this novel is filled with characters that are as amusing as they are endearing.
    Working with so many different pieces of source material, you might expect a story like this one to feel forced. It doesn't. Kontis' writing is seamless as she effortlessly brings together many beloved fairy tale elements to create a story that is both sentimental and exciting. The heavy focus on the importance of family--especially the obvious affection the Woodcutters have for each other--was a delightful part of the story.

    With adventure and magic and not one but three royal balls, Enchanted is guaranteed to have something for everyone. This story even has a perfect ending to Sunday's tale (and a perfect beginning for the next Woodcutter Sisters book).
    Possible Pairings: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine, The Selection by Kiera Cass, Entwined by Heather Dixon, The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy, Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    Sunday

    Alethea has woven a stunning tale. A must-read. A good book for reluctant readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    MUST READ!! (Some spoilers)

    I loved this book! I love how It has a lot of different fairy tales in one. It had ja ck and the beanstalk, cinderella, ect. I was freaked out that Rumbolds dad (the king) was going to come back alive but he didnt. I really loved how the author made the character Sunday, i feel that i cna relate to her alot! But overall this was an amazing book and RECOMEND THAT YOU READ IT!!! <3 ^-^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2015

    Great book!

    I thought the love story was so sweet and blending the fairy tales made it that much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    This book was exceptional! I loved how Alethea wove all the diff

    This book was exceptional! I loved how Alethea wove all the different fairy tales together, and it had the right dash of magic, plot, and romance to keep a reader intrugued. Though, it is a book you have to close read, to really appreciate, otherwise you will miss something and be slightly confused. A nice light book, for when you feel like you need a little dose of Magic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    TEXTDRAW School

    Sword: +-----------------|:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::> Good! And now lets make a knife. Sorry about all the weapons. Knife: ||||||||•||||||||||||•||||||::::::::::::::::::::::::> Most of this uses ALT. Cat: ^_^ Cat 2: >^-^< Great work!!!! Now lets make lines. ----------------- or ——————— or ––––– or__________________ or +++++++++ or ((((((((((((((( or )))))))))))))))))))) and last.........HOW TO MAKE THE HUNGER GAMES BIRD!!!!! ? tada! Thanks for attending TEXTDRAW School. We really enjoyed your visit.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    I really enjoyed the story.

    I really enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Amazing book

    This is an amazing story. I could not put the book down, I liked that the girl loved to write. Hope alethea comes out with more books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Really good read

    I loved how the various fairy tales were woven together. Very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Fun twist to the classics

    I read this as part of a book club and was a little weary of it, I'll be honest. But once in about half a chapter and I was hooked. If you pay attention to even the smallest details the author has woven in many different fairy tales into one family (besides the obvious ones mentioned) and it all works!. Can't wait to read the second book! I'd say the reading age would been 12+ and clean content. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Original way to re-order the fairytale world

    I thought this would be just another nice retelling of a fairytale. It was far better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The Enchantment Siries: The Forest of Life or Death by: Raindropkit/Fangkit Reply to Raindropkit

    PROLOGE: A SNEAKY MISFORTUNE............................................A red and black furred she wolf snuck into the bushes a Crag Point. She watched a brown silverish she wolf with floppy ears 2 brown paws and 2 black paw. The foppy eared she wolf stood and walked in a circle annoyed. "You and your pack shall fall in a missfortune. I shall be there to see it happen, to see you tortured." Vowed the black/red she wolf under her breath as she snuck down Crag Point. Sudently she heard a howl be hind her and quickend her steps. The red/black she-wolf ran all the way to Crooked Back of Big River. She swam to the other side in to no pack territory. She ran about huffing snaping and growling. Suddently 25 outcast wolves and cats appered from the Life or Death Forest. The she-wolf was going to do the unthinkable........ END OF PROLOGE RATE AND COMMENT IF ITS GOOD ILL WRITE CHAPTER ONE!!! RESPOND TO RAINDROPKIT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This book is very awesome

    I loved this book. It was really great to see the parts that were like different stories and i agree that the tv show once upon a time is like this book and the show is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Rees house to all

    Holaaa.welcome to my house(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    WOW! Truth be told, I am not much fo a fairy-tale reader, but I

    WOW! Truth be told, I am not much fo a fairy-tale reader, but I got a copy of this from a friend, and flipped it open to give it a shot. I was really hooked from the first page, and really recommend this book for anyone! The twists on classic fairy tales and the use of language is truly brilliant. I will look for the next book in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3