BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Enchanted

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Lovely fairy tale

Originally reviewed on my blog: SIK Book Reviews

Enchanted is Alethea Kontis's debut YA novel. Although, she has written short stories, essays, reviews, etc. I think she did a very good job with this novel and I believe she has a lot of potential for her future nov...
Originally reviewed on my blog: SIK Book Reviews

Enchanted is Alethea Kontis's debut YA novel. Although, she has written short stories, essays, reviews, etc. I think she did a very good job with this novel and I believe she has a lot of potential for her future novels. I look forward to reading her next book.

This novel is a lovely fairy tale story filled with wondrous magic, first loves, and dangerous adventure. I very much enjoyed the way Kontis told the story, using all different types of fairy tales and melding them into one lovely fairy tale story. Although I am partial to the original fairy tales filled with doom and gloom and no happily ever after, I do still enjoy the more modern fairy tales in all their glory of true love stories and the happy endings. I am a romantic at heart, after all.

I loved all of the characters. I thought the Woodcutter family members were all presented in a fun and interesting way. Sunday and her sisters each have their own unique characteristics that are delightful to read about. Sunday is a sweet young girl who just loves to write, tell, and hear stories. She is a very endearing character who you can't help but love. Rumbold (the prince/the frog) begins as a very mysterious character, with secrets hidden in his past. He seems like such a nice young man, but the mystery causes one to wonder what has happened in the past. The fact is, he doesn't even know...so, as the reader, we get to learn right alongside him.

I thought the writing style was very good for a debut novelist. There were some mistakes, but it didn't bother me too much (but I am an English major, so these things do tend to bother me more than the average person!). Kontis's writing was able to envelop me in the story enough to fully enjoy it. The beginning, however, did not grab me as much as I would have liked...but, it did grab me later on.

I thought the story was creative and unique in the way that all types of fairy tales made an appearance in just one story. The fairy tales also had unique twists to differentiate them from the canonical versions, but keeping the core motifs intact.

I also love the cover and the title. They are perfect for the story. The only thing I would complain about is how quickly Sunday falls in love with the frog. It didn't seem quite right to fall in love that fast and that easy for a first time love, especially since she wasn't falling in love with the human himself, she was falling in love with an enchanted frog. One would think that this would take some time to wrap her mind around the fact that he is not human and then gradually fall in love...

posted by sikbookreviewer on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

This book had an excellent premise; the idea of mixing all the fairy tales into one storyline was appealing. Unfortunately, this angle wasn't thoroughly explored. The story was sweet but became predictable and superficial. There were spots that it definitely lagged. ...
This book had an excellent premise; the idea of mixing all the fairy tales into one storyline was appealing. Unfortunately, this angle wasn't thoroughly explored. The story was sweet but became predictable and superficial. There were spots that it definitely lagged.

Still, I would recommend this book to my 9th/10th grade lower level reading students. The read is fairly easy and comprehension was solid. It would be a good stepping stone to more complex reads.

posted by shep1 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Fun twist to the classics

    I read this as part of a book club and was a little weary of it, I'll be honest. But once in about half a chapter and I was hooked. If you pay attention to even the smallest details the author has woven in many different fairy tales into one family (besides the obvious ones mentioned) and it all works!. Can't wait to read the second book! I'd say the reading age would been 12+ and clean content. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog** Enchanted by

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog**




    Enchanted by Alethea Kontis
    Book One of the Woodcutter Sister series
    Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books
    Publication Date: May 8, 2012
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: ARC (traded with a blogger)




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.




    When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.




    The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past - and hers?




    What I Liked:




    This book is adorable! I absolutely fairy tales and fairy tale retellings, and I love fantasy novels. Kontis has written a gorgeous, hilarious, and heart-wrenching novel - and I loved every page of it. I don't read a lot of fantasy fairy tale retellings - most retellings are set in the contemporary world. So, this one was a breath of fresh air!




    Sunday is the seventh daughter in the family, and the eighth child (I believe she is the eighth!). Each of the girls have a power, and Sunday's is a powree over words. So, Sunday writes down her stories - but only history, or things that have already come to past. She writes about her family, most of the time.




    When she meets "Grumble" the talking, enchanted frog, she begins to read him her stories. Whenever she meets him, she reads to him, or they talk. Grumble learns much about Sunday and her family. Sunday kisses Grumble a few times, but none of them turn him back into a human.




    Eventually, Grumble does turn back into a man - Prince Rumbold. And Rumbold is in love with Sunday, but he doesn't remember much about his life. He heads back to the castle, and hosts three balls, where every maiden in the land is invited.




    The balls were magical! Each one of them was different, but in each, Rumbold and Sunday meet. Sunday does not realize that Rumbold is Grumble for quite some time, so she simply enjoys the affections of the prince. Of course, Rumbold recognized her immediately. Sunday fell in love with the prince, for the prince. It's nice how that worked out, that she fell in love with the man as well. It didn't feel forced, or instant. Kontis crafted the romance beautifully.




    It's just like in the fairy tales. Frogs need to be kissed, but by a maiden who loves them. There are magic beans, fairy godmothers, magic, wicked kings, potions... I love how Kontis built Sunday's world, and how she wove so many fairy tales into one story! 




    Of course, there is a darker side to the story. The king is evil - and in ways you wouldn't imagine. He catches sight of Wednesday on the first night of the three balls, and wants to marry her. Of course, you might think that's weird, but wait until you hear why! The king is weird. 




    And the fairy godmother of Sunday and the fairy godmother of Rumbold are cruel! Both started something that should never have happened! I feel so bad for Sunday's brother, and even worse for Rumbold. I really, really like Rumbold. He is easily my favorite character of the book. He is strong, even without his memories, and humble, and kind.




    The romance between Rumbold and Sunday is beautiful! I loved the two of them together. And the ending of this story is perfect. Cookie-cutter perfect, but I liked it!




    What I Did Not Like:




    The magic and curses and evil part of this book was confusing. I didn't understand why Rumbold didn't have his memories, and what was happening to him after he turned back into a human. I didn't understand the deal with the king and Rumbold's fairy godmother. I mean, I sort of do, especially when Wednesday came along and the king noticed her, but I thought that the magic wasn't very well explained. I breezed through some of the parts of the book with the magic because it wasn't explained, and I was confused!




    Would I Recommend It:




    I would definitely recommend this book! I thoroughly enjoyed it, for the romance, the fairy tales, the plot, and the story. I love how Kontis takes the romance and makes the story into so much more. Especially at the climax of the book! Kontis is brilliant!




    Rating:




    4 stars. I'm so very happy that I got the chance to read this book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Original way to re-order the fairytale world

    I thought this would be just another nice retelling of a fairytale. It was far better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    The Enchantment Siries: The Forest of Life or Death by: Raindropkit/Fangkit Reply to Raindropkit

    PROLOGE: A SNEAKY MISFORTUNE............................................A red and black furred she wolf snuck into the bushes a Crag Point. She watched a brown silverish she wolf with floppy ears 2 brown paws and 2 black paw. The foppy eared she wolf stood and walked in a circle annoyed. "You and your pack shall fall in a missfortune. I shall be there to see it happen, to see you tortured." Vowed the black/red she wolf under her breath as she snuck down Crag Point. Sudently she heard a howl be hind her and quickend her steps. The red/black she-wolf ran all the way to Crooked Back of Big River. She swam to the other side in to no pack territory. She ran about huffing snaping and growling. Suddently 25 outcast wolves and cats appered from the Life or Death Forest. The she-wolf was going to do the unthinkable........ END OF PROLOGE RATE AND COMMENT IF ITS GOOD ILL WRITE CHAPTER ONE!!! RESPOND TO RAINDROPKIT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    To Fangkit

    Its good. Definitely write more. Can you read my story too? Prologue's at 'blood mark' res 1. Striking and co.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This book is very awesome

    I loved this book. It was really great to see the parts that were like different stories and i agree that the tv show once upon a time is like this book and the show is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Rees house to all

    Holaaa.welcome to my house(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Great job combining fairy tales

    Very enjoyable!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    How come

    How come there is such a small description? It makes me think that they are hiding something about the book. I was reading the sample and it was horrible! I cant beleive how lttle desvription in the book there really is. I love the movie but i didnt know the book would be so dull! I would not recomend this book to people.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Why

    Why didn't they right more on the description?? For the amount of money it is i would not like to waste any space on my nook for that book because would if i didnt like it. BECAUSE THERE IS NOT A BIG DESCRIPTION!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    WOW! Truth be told, I am not much fo a fairy-tale reader, but I

    WOW! Truth be told, I am not much fo a fairy-tale reader, but I got a copy of this from a friend, and flipped it open to give it a shot. I was really hooked from the first page, and really recommend this book for anyone! The twists on classic fairy tales and the use of language is truly brilliant. I will look for the next book in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Super cute story. Sometimes a little tough to follow, but maybe

    Super cute story. Sometimes a little tough to follow, but maybe that's what I get for reading multiple books at the same time. I hope she writes more "twisted fairy tale" books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Excuse me

    For 10+ dollars you think they could tell you a few more details in the description

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Exceptional!

    Exceptional!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    This a grate book and the movie is wonderdull it cant get any romanticer i love it

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Omg

    So good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A magical mix of fairytale and mystery! I really enjoyed all of

    A magical mix of fairytale and mystery!
    I really enjoyed all of the beautiful descriptions and felt that the writing reminded me a lot of an old fairytale with its poetic words. This story puts a whole new spin on the classic Frog Prince and though it does have that basic storyline it takes it to a whole new level. Enchanted interweaves some other fairytale favorites into the mix as well. There is a bit of a dark edge to this fairytale though, but it does give it some mystery which kept me on the edge of my seat.
    Sunday is a fun and quirky heroine who of course is doomed to a happy life, but the journey to her happy ending is full of twists and turns that will put her courage to the test. I really liked her and enjoyed seeing through her eyes and hearing all of the tales she weaves about her family. Her father especially is a wonderful storyteller.
    The Prince is complicated. As a frog he was charming and sincere, but there was always something missing. His story has more of a darker edge to it and even after he becomes a man again he must fight to not only win Sunday, but bring back his old memories to make himself whole once again.
    This is a beautiful tale that fairytale lovers are sure to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Oh my goodness! This book is a beautiful collage of a million d

    Oh my goodness! This book is a beautiful collage of a million different things that I love. The writing is gorgeous and captivating. The story is this crazy melting pot of a bunch of fairy tales all intertwined with each other.

    The romance is innocent and sweet and clean. I fell in love with both Sunday and Rumbold. I grew to love each and every character in the book, even the bad guys.

    There were a couple of places that left me confused and wondering what happened, but other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I will be looking for more of Alethea's work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Cute

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Great

    Loved this book. I hope she writes another like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4