BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Enchanted Dreams: Erotic Tales of the Supernatural

Average Rating 3
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Paranormal I've Read Yet

Now this is what paranormal should be! At last, some real suspense and plots that make sense. Sit up and take notice writers of paranormal. Just because we love vampires and ghosts and so forth doesn't mean we don't have a brain. Oh, and these stories are told from the ...
Now this is what paranormal should be! At last, some real suspense and plots that make sense. Sit up and take notice writers of paranormal. Just because we love vampires and ghosts and so forth doesn't mean we don't have a brain. Oh, and these stories are told from the sexual and somewhat twisted side of the paranormal world, so its for adults only! I loved every story and recommend it to lovers of erotica and of paranormal stories.

posted by Suzetteonif on November 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Enchanted Nightmares

Okay, I really like and respect Nancy Madore. I think she's a brilliant writer that offers insightful modern stories that [at least in her previous works] are cleverly supported by the familiar framework of an old fairy tale. Truly enjoyable. Impressed by her style and ...
Okay, I really like and respect Nancy Madore. I think she's a brilliant writer that offers insightful modern stories that [at least in her previous works] are cleverly supported by the familiar framework of an old fairy tale. Truly enjoyable. Impressed by her style and her mission [to discover & publish stories that reflect the contemporary woman's most popular sexual fantasies] - I've eagerly jumped into any work with her name on it.

Well, this jump landed me in cold water without a life jacket. Her writing was solid; her creativity and originality still top notch; but the stories themselves were [in MHO] not erotic or romantic and honestly left me more baffled and/or horrified than intrigued or even entertained.

She abandoned the fairy tale structure but really, this was no sweat - she's still a fab writer, so I wasn't concerned. I should have been.

I honestly think I missed the marketing boat on this one - when the subtitle mentioned "supernatural" I thought we'd get our mundane unrequited love with a ghost, shapeshifter, werewolf, etc. I thought I'd read stories that, at worst, raised an eyebrow or at best, made me hot & bothered.

Instead, I got stories that truly left me scared or disturbed - not what I'm looking for in something marketed to me as a romantic/erotic novel. I didn't want to read about some weirdo who filed her canines down to become fangs so she could attack and drink the blood of a vampire [one of the happier stories, I assure you] and I sure didn't want to read about cannibalism.

This novel was a Halloween special and I unfortunately missed the clues. Perhaps in another genre, these stories deserve 5 stars [though from a technical point of view, the last story seemed rushed, was boring and had that familiar whiff of "filler to meet a deadline"], but for Romance/Erotic I'm going to give her 3.

In short, I was freaked out & unhappy. One story gave me a damned nightmare. I read romance for a reason people - I have a vivid imagination and prefer to let only "happy" things invade my dreams. If that's not you - then perhaps you can appreciate these stories as they are well written and creative. However, if you're looking for romance... run away from this novel or you'll wish you did.

posted by Escaping-My-Commute on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanted Nightmares

    Okay, I really like and respect Nancy Madore. I think she's a brilliant writer that offers insightful modern stories that [at least in her previous works] are cleverly supported by the familiar framework of an old fairy tale. Truly enjoyable. Impressed by her style and her mission [to discover & publish stories that reflect the contemporary woman's most popular sexual fantasies] - I've eagerly jumped into any work with her name on it.

    Well, this jump landed me in cold water without a life jacket. Her writing was solid; her creativity and originality still top notch; but the stories themselves were [in MHO] not erotic or romantic and honestly left me more baffled and/or horrified than intrigued or even entertained.

    She abandoned the fairy tale structure but really, this was no sweat - she's still a fab writer, so I wasn't concerned. I should have been.

    I honestly think I missed the marketing boat on this one - when the subtitle mentioned "supernatural" I thought we'd get our mundane unrequited love with a ghost, shapeshifter, werewolf, etc. I thought I'd read stories that, at worst, raised an eyebrow or at best, made me hot & bothered.

    Instead, I got stories that truly left me scared or disturbed - not what I'm looking for in something marketed to me as a romantic/erotic novel. I didn't want to read about some weirdo who filed her canines down to become fangs so she could attack and drink the blood of a vampire [one of the happier stories, I assure you] and I sure didn't want to read about cannibalism.

    This novel was a Halloween special and I unfortunately missed the clues. Perhaps in another genre, these stories deserve 5 stars [though from a technical point of view, the last story seemed rushed, was boring and had that familiar whiff of "filler to meet a deadline"], but for Romance/Erotic I'm going to give her 3.

    In short, I was freaked out & unhappy. One story gave me a damned nightmare. I read romance for a reason people - I have a vivid imagination and prefer to let only "happy" things invade my dreams. If that's not you - then perhaps you can appreciate these stories as they are well written and creative. However, if you're looking for romance... run away from this novel or you'll wish you did.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Paranormal I've Read Yet

    Now this is what paranormal should be! At last, some real suspense and plots that make sense. Sit up and take notice writers of paranormal. Just because we love vampires and ghosts and so forth doesn't mean we don't have a brain. Oh, and these stories are told from the sexual and somewhat twisted side of the paranormal world, so its for adults only! I loved every story and recommend it to lovers of erotica and of paranormal stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    I will NEVER read another book by this author - EVER, nor will I buy any by her either!!!

    This book was gross. I only read the first two novellas. I read to escape. I read romance novels because I love the happy endings. As the mother of 5 children, I need something to help me relax at the end of my day. I work two jobs and have very little free time. The first story was disturbing when she found her human skull, but I decided to still read the next story - Disenchanted. I was physically ill when reading the ending to this story. This book should not be in the Romance section, it should be in the horror or sci-fi section. I was disgusted and will try to return it to your store. In the even that I am unable to, I will THROW IT AWAY. I will not even think of donating it to a local charity. I don't want anyone else to experience what I did.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Super Natural

    This was exceptional. Every story was a total turn on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Great writing and Originality

    There are some remarkably good plots in this little book of novellas. I really appreciated the original story ideas, usually so foreign to this gnere. I was often in suspense right until I was surprised. The engrossing stories do not distract from the erotism either. On the contrary they make it better. I want more like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    I wish i could rate zero stars

    This book is horrible. Enough said. You r crazy if you even consider liking this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    The combination of erotiscm and suspense make this a unique read

    The combination of erotiscm and suspense make this a unique reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Did not enjoy.

    I bought this due to it being recommended if you liked the Sleeping Beauty series. I highly do not. It never gets very erotic and its a slight buildup with the same dull feeling at the end of each story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    Disappointed

    I read the reviews before I purchased since erotic books are not my thing. If this is her best then I will be sure not to read more. Long stories with no erotica at all,except for one story filled with erotica. Too bad. But these are very expensive books to not get what you expect. I have learned my lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    An Exotic Thriller

    This is my favorite of Nancy Madore's books. I couldn't put it down. The stories were exciting and on edge. The sex was intense and unforgettable. I read every story at least twice but I have to say "Jimmy" the ghost story was the most memorable for me. There was lots of variety too, which I liked. It definitely wasn't the same story over and over. Nancy Madore provides top notch fantasy writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Book Review

    Not bad, I won't review this book in a book club.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait

    I saw the cover on a romance site and had to have it. I give it five for the cover! I loved Enchanted and Enchanted Again so I know I will this one too. I can't wait to get it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    These seven well written erotic tales run the gamut

    "The Enchanted Forest". Catherine once ran marathons; now she runs the rat race. Thus with a few days of R&R, Catherine returns to outdoor activity. However, her hike into the forest seems to be calling her to go deeper as if someone is calling for her.

    "Disenchantment". Maryanne knows nothing has gone right lately as each man she meets on line has proven not up to the image they depict. However when she meets Dan she falls in love and him with her until he begins to find Maryanne's biting flaws pushing him to sever the relationship.

    "Dying For It". Anna and Vincent are opposites as she is an introvert and he is an extrovert; that is what each displays to others. Inside Anna is an extrovert while Vincent is an introvert. When they meet, each conceals a dark secret that define their personalities in public and in private, but neither quite understands blood will tell.

    "Expecting". Emilie sees the blue mark that indicates uncertainty to her and David whose comfort feels alien. Yet her dreams increases her trepidations that what happened will occur again as she is locked away with Dr. Rozzi providing therapy, but she knows they are expecting her soon.

    "Flowers for Angela". In the psychiatrist's journal, the first entry mentions middle age patient Eleanor dealing with the deaths of her husband and her shrink, but nothing is quite what it seems as her negative emotions are modified so every moment is joyful.

    "Jimmy". The clairvoyant warns Sara that Jimmy the incubus haunts her to get at her boyfriend, Ray.

    "The Incentive Program". In 2019 Georgia runs a simulation program that predicts humanity's future. She likes what she sees in 2304 especially what happens to volunteers Cassie and Peter as she wants that for herself.

    These seven well written erotic tales run the gamut between the supernatural and science fiction as Nancy Madore enchants those who prefer something different.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3