Customer Reviews for

Enchanted Ivy

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for Teens Read Too

    Lily Carter comes from a long line of Princeton alumnus, so of course Princeton is her dream school, as well. During a visit to the university, Lily's grandfather has a surprise for her - if Lily can pass the Legacy Test, she will win automatic acceptance into Princeton. All she has to do is find the Ivy Key. Lily has no idea what that even means, but sets off to complete her quest. When she meets a cute boy named Ty, who has tiger striped hair, and starts hearing the Princeton gargoyles talk to her, Lily begins to uncover the school's secrets. There are actually two Princetons - and passage through the gate can lead someone from one side to the other - but, of course, the Key is needed. The two Princetons are supposed to keep each other safe and keep their secret, but not everyone is working to make that happen. As strange things from another place start to appear on campus, Lily is soon caught between both worlds. The worlds Sarah Beth Durst creates are always a joy to read! ENCHANTED IVY takes a normal setting and gives it a magical twist. There is a lot of college talk, so younger readers might not understand the setting completely, and the story has somewhat of a slow start, but stick with it and the book takes off. There are lots of secrets, and it's fun to uncover the Princeton in the world we know and the parallel Princeton that is full of magic. There are several twists that will keep readers guessing. Those looking for a stand-alone fantasy with a bit of romance and a lot of action will find an engaging tale in ENCHANTED IVY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Wow!

    This book is fantastic and i hope there is a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It has been a very long time since I sat and devoured a book in

    It has been a very long time since I sat and devoured a book in one sitting. It's been even longer since I was left hungering for more.

    Sarah Beth Durst, with one book, you have made my favorite authors list.

    I wish this book was longer. I wish it was a trilogy; it had the potential. My only complaint was that it ended so quickly. We were given a taste of this fantastical world and, right when we really began to see the populace, it ended. I want more.

    But besides that? This was fantastic. Lily is a brilliant character. Not only is she realistic, but she reminded me of me - and I was able to connect to her so well. None of the characters fell flat. Even the villains had legitimate reasons for being the way they were.

    One of the other reasons I loved it so much was that, though there was romance there, there was no focus on it. The book was about Lily discovering her roots and what happens when she does. Does Tye come along and be sexy and dashing along the way? Yes. Does he call himself her soulmate? Yes. But she doesn't just fall into love with him. In fact, she does what I would do - she scoffs at the idea of falling in love right away, despite her attraction to him.

    And the magic! Oh, the magic! I LOVED this alternate Princeton. As I said before, I want Sarah to write more books in this particular world. It's too good not too. If I wasn't already in college (on a campus I adore, with lots of trees) I would want to go to Princeton.

    The writing was perfect. It's clever and funny and I loved it. And it's got major quotability factor! I was sure my roommate was going to kill me - I kept stopping her from doing her homework so I could read snippets of it out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Really good

    The plot is so capturing, I couldnt put it down and the funny thing is that it kinda reminds me of twilight A LITTLE BIT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Magical, Exciting, Romantic I have had this book on my to-read

    Magical, Exciting, Romantic

    I have had this book on my to-read list for awhile, and I'm glad I finally read it. Lily thought she was a normal junior in high school looking to apply to her dream university, Princeton. She visited Princeton for alumni week with her mom and Princeton alumni grandpa. When her grandpa surprised her with the Legacy Test, a way for her to get an automatic acceptance letter, Lily's world was turned upside down.

    I liked Lily. It seemed like she had a pretty normal life except for her stress associated with her mom's problem. Rose was loosing her memories. She didn't even remember Lily's father anymore who died when Lily was a baby. Lily had to constantly worry about her mother's well-being, making sure she hadn't wondered off or colored with permanent marker on the walls. Even though Lily's mom had "brain hiccups" the two were a fun pair. I enjoyed the scenes with the two of them joking and having fun.

    The romance in the book was perfect, not too much not too little. Tye was a mystery even to the end. I loved the parallel worlds of Princeton. The magical world was full of unicorns, dryads, talking animals, elves, etc. Lilly got caught up in a war between worlds. The action was great. I did feel slightly disconnected from the characters. I wished I could completely delve into them more. I can't pinpoint a reason, just a general feeling at times.

    Enchanted Ivy was a great read that I really enjoyed. It was exciting, romantic, and magical. I don't think there's a sequel, but if there is I'll definitely read it.

    There is more profanity in this book than I prefer, but not so much to make me stop reading. Details in my content ratings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    an original premise, a great plot and top notch world building

    Lily Carter's future is at Princeton University. Her grandfather went to Princeton. Going to Princeton would allow Lily to move away from home without feeling guilt about not taking care of her mother. It's the perfect school. Most importantly, Lily desperately wants to follow in Grandpa's footsteps to make him and her mother proud.

    Turns out her chance at Princeton might come sooner than she thinks when Lily accompanies her grandfather and mother to Princeton Reunions weekend where, thanks to Grandpa's connections, Lily has a chance to take the top secret, super exclusive, Legacy Test. Passing the test means claiming what Grandpa calls her destiny. Oh, and it also means automatic acceptance to Princeton.

    The only problem is that instead of filling in multiple choice bubbles or writing an essay, Lily has to find the Ivy Key. She has no idea what it looks like or even what it is. She has no idea where to start.

    Still, Lily starts on the path to the Ivy Key. A path that leads Lily to talking gargoyles, a mysterious boy with orange and black striped hair, demonic library shelves, and magic. Lots of magic. Because Princeton isn't a normal school and Lily might not be a normal girl.

    If Lily can get to the bottom of Princeton's secrets, she might also find answers about her mother's illness and her family's hazy past, she might even find her own place at Princeton in Enchanted Ivy (2010) by Sarah Beth Durst.

    I loved Enchanted Ivy. Truly loved it. It's a perfect fantasy with an original premise, a great plot and top notch world building. As a girl who once asked for a gargoyle for Christmas* I especially loved the gargoyles in the story which, according to Durst herself, are all really at Princeton--how cool is that?

    Gargoyles aside Enchanted Ivy is a strong story with appealing fantasy elements and truly delightful characters on every page. Lily is an authentic and likable heroine at every stage of her journey. To call Tye** a wonderful addition to the story is a vast understatement. Durst's writing is complex, subtle and a real pleasure to read.

    In addition to being a fun fantasy, Enchanted Ivy is a clever spin on the usual college admission woes seen in realistic YA novels. At the same time it has elements of mystery and action. The narrative asks hard questions with wit and aplomb. And there's a whole section that takes place in a library. Seriously, what more do you want? Go, read this book, right now!

    **Tye may or may not be the aforementioned mysterious boy with orange and black striped hair. . . . Okay, I lied, Tye is totally the aforementioned mysterious boy with orange and black striped hair.

    Possible Pairings: White Cat by Holly Black, City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, The Demon's Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan, Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey, Once a Witch by Carolyn MacCullough

    Check my blog May 12 for an interview with Sarah Beth Durst herself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Enjoyable Read

    This would have been my dream college when I was younger, with the hidden side of magic to it. It is a great book to read and does well as a stand along, but I wished at then end that there was more, and it wasn't just a one shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Nice story

    Good story. The story takes place in Princeton, NJ. Missed the excitement a little bit though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2