Customer Reviews for

Enchanting the Beast

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous romantic whodunit fantasy

    In 1861 London, Lady Philomena Radcliffe hosts a séance when Baronet Nicodemus Wulfson barges in. Although he is skeptical about her ghost whispering skills, he will try anything to save his brother, dying from an unknown ailment. He demands she help him by her interrogating the ghosts who reside in his family castle.-------------

    Phil realizes Nico is a shapeshifter and agrees to accompany him back to Grimspell. Almost as soon as she enters accompanied by her otherworld contact Tup she meets a spirit in battle armor whom she follows as he walks down to the dungeon. There she finds a locked door and a crypt; once she opens the door she heeds the voices whispering her as she walks a tunnel underneath the castle. She also sees the ghosts of a courtesan and her customers. As she gets closer to naming the person responsible for the condition of Nico's sibling, she falls in love with her host; not heeding Tup's warnings that a mortal wanting to hide his or her identity wants her dead.------------

    The third Relics of Merlin alternate history saga (see DOUBLE ENCHANTMENT and ENCHANTING THE LADY) is a fabulous romantic whodunit fantasy. The electrifying story line stars an intriguing descendent of the Camelot wizard and a brooding werewolf who with the foreboding castle brings a gothic feel to the tale. Fast-paced from the moment Nico crashes Philo's séance and never slows until the final goodbye, fans will enjoy this fun Victorian. -----------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Absolutely great

    Wonderful and captivating story.You'll love it !,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    xxx

    least liked of the series. this were is just angry and arrogant all the time and the heroine just kind of gives in like a doormat. enchanting the lady is the best of this series and this book contradicts some of the "facts" from that one. also, ther were lots of things that were mentioned but dont get resolved, like what is the deal with the enchanted forest? why didnt edwinas mother face charges? what happened with the townspeople? anyway, seemed like she got bored and just wanted tto finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

     I've been sort of waffly on the Merlin series. I really liked t

     I've been sort of waffly on the Merlin series. I really liked the concept, but didn't necessarily connect with the books. Until now. This book I absolutely LOVED! Magic, historical, and ghosts. What's not to love?




    Philomena - a titled character thanks to her gift for contacting the dead, she's older (40ish I believe), who's pretty much written off ever having a love of her own. She's not innocent though, thanks to living in a house which used to be a brothel and the ghosts thoroughly enjoy showing her some of their former acts. I found it amusing when she used some of that knowledge once she and Nicodemus got intimate.




    Nico - I really really REALLY liked Nico. Being a shifter, he's not affected by magic but that doesn't mean he's blind to Philo's gift. He's initially skeptical, but contacts her to hopefully help his brother out - he expects it simply to be a psychological fix and it turns out he comes to believe in Phil's gifts because he sees physical evidence that the ghosts really are there (one of the ghosts kisses her and he sees the indentation on her cheek at the kiss, among other things).




    The best part of this book for me was the bigger mystery as they tracked down the relic of Merlin that was involved. The ghosts we meet because of the relic were appropriately spooky, and in places scary. I didn't see coming who the villain really was and I always appreciate that. Although, maybe I'm just slipping because I keep getting surprised, and I used to think I was good at figuring these things out.




    The final climactic battle scene was fantastic and eerie and just...awesome.




    Add in the romance, an older woman/younger man dynamic which isn't done that much, and it was pretty close to a perfect read for me. I definitely enjoyed my time in this world, and am eager for the next trip to England with Ms. Kennedy.
    Thank you so much Sourcebooks and Ms. Kennedy!




    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love this series. It's such a perfect mix of Victor

    I absolutely love this series. It's such a perfect mix of Victorian finery and rugged paranormal and every book in it that I've read, I totally adored. And, this one is certainly no exception. Enchanting the Beast was a fantastic historical/paranormal romance! I just loved this book. From the romance, to the paranormal elements, it was all brilliant.

    Philomena was a lovely heroine. She was very clever and strong enough to handle all the chaos that the ghosts and shifters could throw at her. She was also kind and truly likable. I thought she was great.

    Nico was a sweetie. He was very loyal and protective of his loved ones. And, he was delightfully charming and utterly adorable. I just loved him. He was amazing.

    The romance was lovely. Philomena and Nico were perfect together, though one of them was reluctant to see that. They were both clever and strong willed and they met their match in each other. And, the attraction between them was sizzling from the moment they met. These two definitely had a hard time keeping their hands off each other...

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. I never suspected who the culprit behind all the problems was. Especially the full extent of what was going on with this person. It took me by surprise, for sure. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely. I haven't heard about another book in this series, yet, but I really hope there will be another, because this series is brilliant.

    Enchanting the Beast was a fantastic historical/paranormal romance. I LOVED this book. It was just perfect. Romance lovers, this book is a must read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    Couldn't get it to download

    Not sure why I can't read this on my Nook App for my PC. All I get is a blank screen. Has this happened to anyone else for this book?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series!!!

    I was lucky to be introduced to this series through a free ebook from B&N (Double Enchantment). Since then I have purchased and read the rest of this series. This is the last book written in this series (hopefully, only for the time being) and it was a little different from the previous books. A ghost-hunter named Philomena is hired by a wolf shape-shifter to come find out why the castle ghosts are haunting his brother. In the mean time a fierce love blossoms between the two main characters while difficulties from old and new deaths interfere. In the end, the heroine defeats the bad guy and everybody lives happily ever after. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanting The Beast

    Lady Philomena is a ghost talker and Sir Nicodemus Wulfson has a great need of her at his castle. It seems his brother hasn't been sleeping, because he says that he's been haunted by ghosts. Nico, doesn't believe in ghosts but will do anything to save his brother. When Philomena arrives at Grimspell castle, the ghosts that are haunting Nico's brother, start haunting her and Philomena means to find out what is wrong. Philomena soon finds herself attracted to Nico, a shape shifting werewolf, who is enjoying sniffing around her skirts.
    This is the first book I've read by Kathryne Kennedy, and I wasn't to sure about it at first. I'm used to normal paranormal romances, but Enchanting The Beast was a whole new world. A world of magic and enchanted forests. I have to say I rather enjoyed it. Where else can a were-snake and a were-duck maybe get together. It was filled with things like that. I really enjoyed that Philomena was thirteen years older than Nico. How many romances are there where the heroine is a cougar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4