Customer Reviews for

Enchanting the Lady

Average Rating 3.5
( 1400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(422)

3 Star

(312)

2 Star

(126)

1 Star

(108)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

a fantastic late Victorian romantic fantasy

In 1882 London, duchess-of-honor Felicity Seymour is worried that she legally will lose her inheritance as she lacks the magical gifts of her parents Prince Albert¿s rule states that no magic equates to no duchy. Lion shapeshifter Sir Terence Blackwell enjoys finding ...
In 1882 London, duchess-of-honor Felicity Seymour is worried that she legally will lose her inheritance as she lacks the magical gifts of her parents Prince Albert¿s rule states that no magic equates to no duchy. Lion shapeshifter Sir Terence Blackwell enjoys finding ancient relics, but also is a close friend of the Prince, who asked him to participate in the test of Felicity. She ignominiously fails, but Terence feels something was not right as he experiences a trace of relic-magic in use, which makes no sense.-------------- - Terence decides to court Felicity somewhat because he is attracted other somewhat because he feels sorry for her as she is now a pariah like he is as a shapeshifter and somewhat because what he believes destroyed her test is too similar to what killed his brother. He needs to know whether Felicity is the user or the victim of dark magic. However, Terence never expected to fall in love with her.-------------- ENCHANTING THE LADY is a fantastic late Victorian romantic fantasy that casts a magic spell on the audience from the moment the heroine expects to fail her test and never let¿s go until the final magical revelation. The story line is fast-paced with an underlying paranormal mystery that enhances the prime romantic plot the fantasy elements provide a unique look at 1882 England as Kathryne Kennedy provides her readers with a wonderful thriller.-------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Harry Potter on Viagra

Silly bodice-ripping tale about people with or without magical powers, with lots of sexual longing thrown in. The wedding night scene goes on forever. I can not believe Barnes & Noble chose this for a Free Friday. At least it was free - it borders on erotica or hard-cor...
Silly bodice-ripping tale about people with or without magical powers, with lots of sexual longing thrown in. The wedding night scene goes on forever. I can not believe Barnes & Noble chose this for a Free Friday. At least it was free - it borders on erotica or hard-core romance. Nothing historical about this romance.

posted by TexasStarVA on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1406 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Harry Potter on Viagra

    Silly bodice-ripping tale about people with or without magical powers, with lots of sexual longing thrown in. The wedding night scene goes on forever. I can not believe Barnes & Noble chose this for a Free Friday. At least it was free - it borders on erotica or hard-core romance. Nothing historical about this romance.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fantastic late Victorian romantic fantasy

    In 1882 London, duchess-of-honor Felicity Seymour is worried that she legally will lose her inheritance as she lacks the magical gifts of her parents Prince Albert¿s rule states that no magic equates to no duchy. Lion shapeshifter Sir Terence Blackwell enjoys finding ancient relics, but also is a close friend of the Prince, who asked him to participate in the test of Felicity. She ignominiously fails, but Terence feels something was not right as he experiences a trace of relic-magic in use, which makes no sense.-------------- - Terence decides to court Felicity somewhat because he is attracted other somewhat because he feels sorry for her as she is now a pariah like he is as a shapeshifter and somewhat because what he believes destroyed her test is too similar to what killed his brother. He needs to know whether Felicity is the user or the victim of dark magic. However, Terence never expected to fall in love with her.-------------- ENCHANTING THE LADY is a fantastic late Victorian romantic fantasy that casts a magic spell on the audience from the moment the heroine expects to fail her test and never let¿s go until the final magical revelation. The story line is fast-paced with an underlying paranormal mystery that enhances the prime romantic plot the fantasy elements provide a unique look at 1882 England as Kathryne Kennedy provides her readers with a wonderful thriller.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Enchanting Romance

    I was sent this book by a book club. I thought, 'This sounds interesting.' As soon as I began it, I could not put this book down. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the Relics of Merlin series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly enjoyable!

    I almost didn't get this one. The only other free fantasy-romance I had downloaded was highly disappointing. That one was far more explicit and the plot didn't hold my attention. This one though, was highly enjoyable and balanced the sexuality (nowhere near as explicit as others) with a good story line. Even when I figured out who was the real villain, I kept reading to see how it would resolve. Rates up there with some of the Mercedes Lackey books I've enjoyed in the past. This author is now on my wish list for new ebooks come payday. Truly fun.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising Enchanting

    I have to admit, I look forward to the free Friday download and this is where I found this story. Though not a book that I normally would purchase, I decided why not? I really did enjoy this book and would consider purchasing more of Kathyne Kennedy's work. The story moved along well and was not predictable and I enjoyed the fantasy aspect. The only thing keeping this from being a five star in my opinion is that I wish that more of magic than the romance was pursued. It was worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Great book!

    Having never read any of Ms. Kennedy's books, I was pleasantly surprised to find I really enjoyed this book. I thought the concept of the British Royals and such being the keeps of magic was fun and made for a good read. The romance portions are similar to all of the "bodice ripper" books and was well written, sexy as well as funny. I've down loaded the next two books in this series, "Double Enchantment" and "Enchanting the Beast" and I'm sure they will provide as much enjoyment as Enchanting the Lady has and just think... it was free!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    Very cute

    Is just that, very cute. It is a little predictable and really not very complex, yet it is very engaging and cute and it makes you smile and want them to love each other. It is very entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    Surprisingly Charming

    I got this expecting it to be a bit ridiculous, despite my love of romance novels and fantasy but I was surprised to find that I didn't want to put it down! The fantasy parts were written in a way that made sense and were not over-done and while its relatively predictable, it still has a bit of mystery and adventure to keep it interesting.

    Most of the negative reviews seem to be about how its a.) fantasy b.) romance c.) contains sex. If you don't like that, you won't enjoy this book [and I'm not sure why you would think you would since its in the Fantasy Romance category...]

    I enjoyed it enough to buy the rest of her novels and think that its a very fun merger of the fantasy and historical romance categories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly surprised

    When I am searching for books to buy I pass up this genre. I loaded on my nook only because it was free. I will soon be buying books from this genre. This was a fantatstic book. I loved the fantasy, love story and especially the ending. It moved along at a good pace. One person is looking for a relic another person cannot figure out why no one pays attention to her. She finds out the shocking truth in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Good read

    Somewhat predictable romantic plot but well written and enjoyable. Some unusual twists keep you entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting Romance!

    A sensual fairytale for adults who still have a whimsical soul. I devoured the book in two days cause I had a hard time putting it down. It's so nice to read such a unique romance, with the blend of history and fantasy (and a not sure who done it) that made it so much fun. Uh, just to note, guys like romance too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Much Recommended

    It seems to me that Kathryne Kennedy doesn't have just an enchanting titled but that the title matches the content. I think it is very insightful and fun to read. It is vivid but not obsene, it is fascinating and just a fun book all around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    EXCELLENT READ!!!

    I could not put this book down. Fantastic, extremely descriptive. I felt as though I had to use little imagination to put together scenes. A definite recommendation for a reader who loves a good love novel with a fantastic plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book!!

    A perfect blend of Magic and Romance in a beautiful setting. I couldn't put this book down when I bought it in paperback and now that its on my nook, I'll be able to take it with me everywhere I go! This is a must read for those who love shapeshifters, magic and romance!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Enchanting The Lady is a magical story and I’m trying to come up with words to do justice to such a wonderful book. While it took me a little bit to get into the story than I thought it would, once the story picked up, that was all it took.

    There were so many enchanting things going on in this story. I loved how the author described every detail and made it very easy to imagine what was being said in the book.  Oh, to be able to have the magical ability to conjure anything that anyone’s imagination could come up with. To be able to look at water and see a dragon come up and fly around and have fire coming from it.  *swoon*

    I would love to meet Terence and see him as he shifts into a lion. I just imagine him running from rooftop to rooftop.  I could see myself turning into a lion and leaping into the air, feel the air running through my hair, feeling free.  Since magic has no effect on Terence, his job is to find the relics that Merlin hid. Relics are evil and need to be found before they get into the wrong hands. Terence senses the relic’s powers on Felicity and vows to get to the truth.

    I felt so sorry for Felicity. I couldn’t imagine going through life knowing that I was supposed to have magic and wasn’t gifted with it. To know that my title and everything that went with it would be forever lost to me. To have people sit on me and run into me because they couldn’t see me.

    Felicity and Terence made a great couple and what started as a flirtation ended up being more. The more time that they spent with each other, the more that Terence forgot why he was courting her in the first place. They both are social outcast since she has no magic and he is a were shifter.

    I would recommend this book to everyone who loves fantasy and a great romance. You will be taken on a magical fantasy adventure. If you want to find out if Terence chooses love, the relic, or finds a way to get both, you will have to read Enchanting The Lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great altered history/fantasy romance. I thought the sex scenes

    Great altered history/fantasy romance. I thought the sex scenes were tastefully done and no where near erotica. The plot moved along and at steady pace and kept me thoroughly engaged. Didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Excellent Fantasy Romance

    Kennedy's Enchanting the Lady is an excellent alternate history/fantasy romance. Felicity and Terence are both wonderfully drawn and sympathetic characters. The setting is original; it is just different enough from the real world to be intriguing. I will definitely be picking up the next book in the series.

    And i totally want a dragonette like Daisy for my very own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great read

    I just wish Kennedy wrote more in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Enjoyable

    The heroine was a little too clueless for my liking, but that might have been part of the spell she was under.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    As someone who doesn¿t like a lot of historical romance, I decid

    As someone who doesn’t like a lot of historical romance, I decided to
    read Enchanting the Lady mainly because of the paranormal aspect of the
    story. I am so happy I did! I love how Ms. Kennedy created a Victorian
    world that has magic in it. The fact that your magical ability is what
    determines your social position is a wonderful twist. Felicity Seymour
    is the orphaned daughter of a Duke and Duchess. She should have the
    magical ability to retain her parent’s title and lands but it appears
    she doesn’t. Instead she is penniless and must live with her Aunt, Uncle
    and cruel cousin. Then she meets Sir Terence Blackwell. While he may
    hold a title, Terence is at the bottom of the social ladder because he
    is a shapeshifter. Magic doesn’t work on him and as a spy for the Crown
    his job is to find magical relics that were crafted by Merlin himself.
    He can sense that Lady Felicity has been near one and believes she may
    be in possession of it. This is a wonderful start to a series and I can
    hardly wait to get my hands on Double Enchantment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1406 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71