Customer Reviews for

Enchantment

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good Voice Gone Bad

    I must say that I was a fan of Charlotte Church when she first started out at the tender age of 12 or 13. I thought she had a great voice and full potential. And it pains me dearly to write such a poor review on this album. After listening to sound clips, I could tell that the strain is beginning to show. Charlotte’s voice sounds very breathy and she is struggling to hit those high notes. It doesn’t sound anything like what she did when she first started. She is singing sounds that are WAY out of her reach—especially at 15 or 16. Not to mention her cute personality has really worn off. Sorry to say, but there really is nothing enchanting about Ms. Church or this CD. I liked her earlier stuff better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    dissapointing...

    I give her credit for bravery for making this CD. I'd never do that to myself. I like her old CD's and I think she has a lovely voice, she's just straining out of her range. She just needs better training, and better songs for her voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT HAPPENED HERE?!?!

    Church tried to mature about ten years in one! What happened to those sweet girlish tones? What happened to her wardrobe? Are they trying to save money on fabric or something? Her trying to be mature has totally grossed me out. (I mean, those hollow tones? Come on!) You can tell she's trying to sound grownup, but it just isn't there yet. I'm really disappointed in Church and her vocal trainer. Why push her? She's still a little girl. Early vocal trainig and pushing her voice too far is going to ruin her voice. Just wait and see what her voice will be like in the next ten years...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE CHARLOOTE CHURCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this CD, it might be the best, I'm not sure. Charlotte's voice really is a miracle, and I love listening to her. I have all of her CD's and her book, and her DVD of Jerusalem, and her video of her 1st CD. Keep up the good work Charlotte! Come out with another CD soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Serious Step Back. Fun, but not Fab.

    We all know Charlotte's issues - she forces her high notes, she has no grasp of emotion, and she looks to impress rather than keep the music true to the way it was written. My issues with "Enchantment" include the above, but my biggest qualm lies in the repetoire. I've read that she aspires to star in Madame Butterfly one day. If she continues to choose cop-out musical theater and other "popera" pieces, she'll be the youngest opera singer in history to ruin her career before it starts. I give her a lot of credit for her self-titled album "Charlotte Church." Many of the pieces were too advanced for her, but she clearly put a lot of effort into improving her technincal abilities for the better, and the repetoire was far more appropriate for a serious classical singer. "Enchantment," while a fun album, and more accessible to the general public (since it includes more-famous english songs), is decidedly a step back for Church. If she plans to be taken seriously, she needs to stop making wimpy choices and, well...get serious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whatever happened to the importance of vocal techniqe?

    Have I missed something? What does the general public see in this girl? I, being a first year vocal performance major , am quite frankly dissapointed by Church's voice teacher. Virtually every piece in this CD is vocally unhealthy and strained. the large ''Operatic'' quality in which Charlotte gears toward is fake and unattractive. I can understand tolerance for her if you enjoy that choir-boyish style, which sounds quite beautiful, mind you, coming from 11 yr old boys. I can't figure which is worse, the plain, hollow streches, or the forced, unbalanced vibrato. While her previous CD's were tolerable, this one was vocally immature amd interpratively insulting! Bizet would roll over in his grave if he heard Church's version of Habanera. Not to mention that hight D in ''The Laughing Song'', which was so ungodly strained it would make any educated musician cringe. The talent is there, along with great potential. but please, PLEASE, go to a university and give your voice a chance to develop and learn vocal technique before embarrasing yourself in front of all manner of civilization!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even my 4 year old loves it!

    Along with the title ''Enchantment'' I could add Magical, Moving, Chills, Spiritual, Stress-Reducer. My 4 year old loves to put on her costumes and dance to all of her songs, especially the ones that a ballet would be beautiful with. I'm really amazed how much she absolutely loves this music because she is not used to it - I've only begun to take interest in it. The first time I saw Charlotte Church was on the Saturday Morning Show a few months ago. My daugter and I were totally enthralled with her singing, and we both literally shivered with chills. I had to get her CD after that and now we are hooked!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh! WOW!

    Charlotte Church does it again. She is one of my favorite singers and I'm only 17!. She sings so beautiful.This is a wonderful album with beautiful songs. This is one of the best cd that Charlotte has done. You go girl!. Miss Charlotte Church grows emotially and musicaly.If I Loved you, The prayer, Tonight, and The Water is Wide are my personal favorites. This is an album for both young and old. This cd is worth getting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All around a very good CD

    Her Habanera was excellent as was the flower duet. The ONLY sticking point I had was on Mein Herr Marquis, also known as the laughing song. First she had it translated into English from the German (that's cheating) second she fell off one note and sounded very breathy (windy?) on the higher notes (though it was a high B). I really think she should have left this one off the Album and waited until she got her full set of lungs before trying Mein Herr Marquis. Other than that (and She did it rather well actually) I think that this is a wonderful CD Besides name any other 15 year old that can even hit some of the notes required. I would love to hear her try her voice at ''Mabel'' from the Pirates of Penzance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful Music

    Beautiful. It's the best way to describe Charlotte's music. She brings culture to us all. I love to listen and feel the music as her voice touches my soul. I await her next album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite

    I own all of Charlotte's CDs and this is the best. Her maturing voice and improved backing make this a showcase for her talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Angel with a Voice.

    After receiving this CD Valentime morning, I simply could not wait, so I played it driving to work. The versability of such a young voice, her rendistion of old masterpieces was overwhelming. Truely a joy to again hear ''real'' music from such a honest and beautiful voice and person. Don Lizotte - Milwaukee, WI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchantment

    Charlotte's voice is like wine...it gets better with age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music of the song

    Every song that I listen to, there are all excellent and each has tremendous epic and the vocal of the singer is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchantment

    Okay...so I was wrong about some things. I watched her concert and loved it! This cd is definitely on my wishlist! I do think, however, she has grown up too fast. I still love her voice and music...but I'm not too crazy about her wardrobe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Ever!!

    Everytime I think I have the best Charlotte Church CD, the next one is even better. Enchantment has the most beautiful selections. The orchestration is suburb! And it goes without saying Ms. Church is outstanding! I listen to this CD all of the time. I never tire of it. Everytime I hear it, it is like the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing CD

    This is Charlotte's finest performance. Not only does she touch on what it means to be from the streets but she makes it seem that you are right there are with her, on the mean streets of Oakland, CA. Listen to track 10, ''With an Uzi'' to see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Perfect Title - Pure Enchantment!

    They couldn't have selected a better title for this recording. It's pure ''Enchantment.'' Charlotte Church has an incredible voice, and she getting better with each new CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her Best Yet

    I Think thats this is by faar Charolette Church's best album. You can tell that her voice is becoming more devoloped and she is putting more emotion into her songs. I thought it was wonderfull, expecially her ''Papa, can you hear me?'' from Yentl. If I only had one of her CD's i would choose this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting is the word for this young woman!

    Artists that attain fame at a young age tend to be judged unfairly by critics who seem to be immune to the fact that children grow up...an amazing and beautiful fact of life. This particular piece of work is a lovely composition of songs that can stir your heart and fill your day with joy. Charlotte's voice is perfect, as always. There is a maturity to this compilation that is wonderful to see...an artist growing and making her own place within the musical realm. The CD insert, songs and material are all tastefully packaged. The most important thing is this...you are listening to music that you enjoy! Rejoice in that gift. You will NOT be dissapointed. Be glad she is growing up...That's the way things should be. She is just as talented as a young adult as she was a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2