BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Enchantment

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE CHARLOOTE CHURCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this CD, it might be the best, I'm not sure. Charlotte's voice really is a miracle, and I love listening to her. I have all of her CD's and her book, and her DVD of Jerusalem, and her video of her 1st CD. Keep up the good work Charlotte! Come out with another CD soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even my 4 year old loves it!

    Along with the title ''Enchantment'' I could add Magical, Moving, Chills, Spiritual, Stress-Reducer. My 4 year old loves to put on her costumes and dance to all of her songs, especially the ones that a ballet would be beautiful with. I'm really amazed how much she absolutely loves this music because she is not used to it - I've only begun to take interest in it. The first time I saw Charlotte Church was on the Saturday Morning Show a few months ago. My daugter and I were totally enthralled with her singing, and we both literally shivered with chills. I had to get her CD after that and now we are hooked!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh! WOW!

    Charlotte Church does it again. She is one of my favorite singers and I'm only 17!. She sings so beautiful.This is a wonderful album with beautiful songs. This is one of the best cd that Charlotte has done. You go girl!. Miss Charlotte Church grows emotially and musicaly.If I Loved you, The prayer, Tonight, and The Water is Wide are my personal favorites. This is an album for both young and old. This cd is worth getting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful Music

    Beautiful. It's the best way to describe Charlotte's music. She brings culture to us all. I love to listen and feel the music as her voice touches my soul. I await her next album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite

    I own all of Charlotte's CDs and this is the best. Her maturing voice and improved backing make this a showcase for her talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Angel with a Voice.

    After receiving this CD Valentime morning, I simply could not wait, so I played it driving to work. The versability of such a young voice, her rendistion of old masterpieces was overwhelming. Truely a joy to again hear ''real'' music from such a honest and beautiful voice and person. Don Lizotte - Milwaukee, WI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchantment

    Charlotte's voice is like wine...it gets better with age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchantment

    Okay...so I was wrong about some things. I watched her concert and loved it! This cd is definitely on my wishlist! I do think, however, she has grown up too fast. I still love her voice and music...but I'm not too crazy about her wardrobe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Ever!!

    Everytime I think I have the best Charlotte Church CD, the next one is even better. Enchantment has the most beautiful selections. The orchestration is suburb! And it goes without saying Ms. Church is outstanding! I listen to this CD all of the time. I never tire of it. Everytime I hear it, it is like the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Perfect Title - Pure Enchantment!

    They couldn't have selected a better title for this recording. It's pure ''Enchantment.'' Charlotte Church has an incredible voice, and she getting better with each new CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her Best Yet

    I Think thats this is by faar Charolette Church's best album. You can tell that her voice is becoming more devoloped and she is putting more emotion into her songs. I thought it was wonderfull, expecially her ''Papa, can you hear me?'' from Yentl. If I only had one of her CD's i would choose this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting is the word for this young woman!

    Artists that attain fame at a young age tend to be judged unfairly by critics who seem to be immune to the fact that children grow up...an amazing and beautiful fact of life. This particular piece of work is a lovely composition of songs that can stir your heart and fill your day with joy. Charlotte's voice is perfect, as always. There is a maturity to this compilation that is wonderful to see...an artist growing and making her own place within the musical realm. The CD insert, songs and material are all tastefully packaged. The most important thing is this...you are listening to music that you enjoy! Rejoice in that gift. You will NOT be dissapointed. Be glad she is growing up...That's the way things should be. She is just as talented as a young adult as she was a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    This is by far her best cd. The first three were like the cake and this is the icing on the cake. As a classical singer myself, she is the best. I love her and her work and can't wait for more. She has such a mature sound and nothing ever seems hard for her, but you know it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Angelic voice that never is bad.

    This has quickly become one of our favorite CDs. Charlotte displays her versatility and range that continues to amaze everyone who hears it. 3 chears for another great album!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charlotte Church just keeps getting better

    I liked her first CD, Voice of an Angel. I enjoyed her second, Charlotte Church. I was stunned by her third, Dream a Dream, and I am awestruck with this, her fourth, Enchantment. This CD is full of lovely, spellbinding renditions of old favorites. Track 2 is especially beautiful and my favorite! Charlotte is maturing beautifully and her voice just keeps getting better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh Wow!!!

    This album has something for everyone. Ms. Church grows vocally, musically and emotionally with each CD. Carrickferguss, Habanera and Bali Hai are my personal favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yes I suffer Enchantment

    I awoke at 2 am to see an unknown singer on a Larry King live replay singing 'Amazing Grace.' I had to surf CNN.COM to discover who she was and eventually bought the CD. I have never listened to this type of music. Ms. Church has absolutely mesmerized me with her exquisite voice. She is wonderful. This music is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another SUPER album!!

    Oh wow this cd is so great! Charlotte really sings a lot of different songs, like Celtic and broadway. Her voice is just so pretty and this is definetely one of her best cd's! I reccomend #2 Carrickfergus, #3 Habenera, #5: Papa can you hear me?#6 The flower duet, and #11:the laughing song!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb

    I love Charlotte and so do my two 4 and 5 year old nieces and nephews. They loved it so much I had to get an extra copy. Keep up the wonderful work, Charlotte. Love, Short-one copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enchanting!

    A real tour de force of the `popera¿ genre, `Enchantment¿ is destined to become a timeless classic. With this new breakout CD, Charlotte Church has once again demonstrated what her legions of devoted fans already know - she has no peers. From light, precocious coloratura to husky, sensuous mezzo, from shades of Striesand to the mystical moods of Rodgers and Hammerstein, from a lonely lover to a carefree caprice, this star can do it all - and does it all in this spectacular collection. Not so long ago Charlotte Church was amazing because she was so young. Now she is amazing because¿well¿because she¿s amazing, that¿s why. On the first go through certain tunes made salient impressions. `Carrickfergus¿ is being hailed as the breakout tune of a breakout album. As well it should be, taking full advantage of Miss Church¿s legendary ability to translate the flavor of most any country¿s folk music for a modern audience. `Bali Ha¿i is simply at a `must hear¿: what drama, what beauty! A song I was prepared to dislike was `Can¿t Help Lovin¿ Dat Man of Mine¿ (I am a bit of a `Showboat¿ aficionado). No luck, though, as Miss Church delivered what should become the standard for that song (sorry Ava!). `The Laughing Song¿ left me speechless for several minutes ¿ I thought `they¿ were saying that Charlotte Church couldn¿t sing `real¿ opera. In the liner notes, she says ¿This was very, very hard, as it¿s high and difficult¿. Never mind that, Miss Charlotte, you nailed it. Oh, I could rave on it¿s true. If you have read this far you have probably already purchased `Enchantment¿. But on the off chance you haven¿t, my recommendation would be to buy several. Not only will you love it; your friends and family will love you for including one in their Christmas stocking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2