Customer Reviews for

Enchantment

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Best Book EVER

OMG-I love this book. I picked it up by chance, and I literally spent the weekend walking around my house with my nose in this book. It is my FAVORITE book ever, and if anyone has a sane mind, they will read it!!! i was enraptured with it, and everything about it was am...
OMG-I love this book. I picked it up by chance, and I literally spent the weekend walking around my house with my nose in this book. It is my FAVORITE book ever, and if anyone has a sane mind, they will read it!!! i was enraptured with it, and everything about it was amazing

posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Card's most disappointing work. This one seemed almost juvenile

Card's most disappointing work. This one seemed almost juvenile in its presentation. I haven't disliked one Card book thus far, but I only finished this one because I paid for it...

posted by amydague on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2006

    The Best Book EVER

    OMG-I love this book. I picked it up by chance, and I literally spent the weekend walking around my house with my nose in this book. It is my FAVORITE book ever, and if anyone has a sane mind, they will read it!!! i was enraptured with it, and everything about it was amazing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    I love this book! It has been a favorite of mine for the past de

    I love this book! It has been a favorite of mine for the past decade now. I grew up with the Russian fairytale so I love this spin on the story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Excellent read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is the story of Sleeping Beauty reimagined, complete with action, romance, and plenty of character development. Great book; looking forward to another by OSC.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Very interesting

    I have read a great deal of Orson Scott Card's work and this is right up there with his best. It should be said that I enjoyed the character of Baba Yaga more than the protagonist. If she had been Ivan's matchmaker, there wouldn't be so much indecision in the newlyweds. Nothing says "Be nice to each other!" like the threat of debilitating curses and mauling by a bear-god.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    Card's most disappointing work. This one seemed almost juvenile

    Card's most disappointing work. This one seemed almost juvenile in its presentation. I haven't disliked one Card book thus far, but I only finished this one because I paid for it...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Still great after all these years!

    I found this book in my school library many years ago and fell in love with it. I am glad to see it here! OSC expresses so many viewpoints from many different characters, and it just works so well. I can't reccomend the book enough. Buy it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved Ivans (the hero) character. I couldnt stand the princess and a few others. However I loved the emotional impact from Ivans character. This book obviously took much research which flow well in the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    This was a rather original story line, wonderfully done, but a surprise none the less.

    a fun new story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Enchanted by Enchantment

    Orson Scott Card has written yet another masterpiece; one you just can't put down until the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Ironically, a fresh fairy tale!

    Orson Scott Card is on his own level when it comes to creativity. The whole idea of parallel worlds was amazing, and the story was entertaining, suspenseful, and somewhat hilarious (think bear running in circles)! I didn't put the thing down till I had read it all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Incredible

    'Incredible' is the only word to describe Enchantment. I am a 14 year old and have read Enchantment five times. I can't get enough of it. Every page is pure genius. Card takes you into a different world full of mystery and fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    I'm impressed!

    It is a fine Book! I like the hard cover version. Very Cool. However I get the impression I am the only 13 yr old who read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2015

    Favorite book

    Never been into fantasy books...but this is such a good book and a good story. Recommend this book to a lot of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Click me

    Kiss your hand post on three other books and wake up to find an iphone 5 under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Beautiful Twist on a Classic Tale

    I love fractured fairy tales, and this one did not disappoint! Orson Scott Card does a beautiful job with this retelling of Sleeping Beauty, adding a modern twist and making the characters come alive. ENCHANTMENT is a great book for fans of STARDUST, and appropriate for young teen readers, as well. I've recommended it to several people already. It's going to be hard to figure out what to read, now that this one is done (too soon! ).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Rodimus

    Its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Bubmlebee

    I am so sorry but this is just to inactive for me and boring so i am leaving. Sorry bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    A different telling of sleeping beauty

    I loved this book. I thought it was a really good twist of a tale I thought I knew everything about. I loved how it combined old magic amd new magic,old tales and present day, it was just spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Living room

    Woooh!~Ree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    I absolutely love love love this book! I have read this book man

    I absolutely love love love this book!
    I have read this book many times and enjoy it each time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7