Customer Reviews for

The Enchantment Emporium

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Huff creates a new world with very interesting characters

This 'family' develops by hints and tidbits. A mixture or witches and perhaps druids, They are adults who joke about each other but love each other.
There ARE sinister things going on. She can build the suspense craftily, and love her brand of humor, and her dragonlord...
This 'family' develops by hints and tidbits. A mixture or witches and perhaps druids, They are adults who joke about each other but love each other.
There ARE sinister things going on. She can build the suspense craftily, and love her brand of humor, and her dragonlords!

posted by Flit on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Read!

I enjoy Tanya Huff's writing style, and this book is packed with intriguing ideas. The Gale family, their magic, their relationships, are all fascinating.

Even though I liked the main character and the story line, I found myself getting a bit annoyed at the constant...
I enjoy Tanya Huff's writing style, and this book is packed with intriguing ideas. The Gale family, their magic, their relationships, are all fascinating.

Even though I liked the main character and the story line, I found myself getting a bit annoyed at the constant repetition of how scary the Aunties are supposed to be. I got it in the first chapter. And the second. And the third...

Still, a fun read! If you're a fan, you'll love it.

posted by Chocolate-Peanut-Butter on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Beware the language

    From what I read this could have been a good book, but she uses the F word almost every time someone opens their mouth. I tried to read the book but finally had to stop, just couldn't take the language.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I was enchanted.

    This book was very entertaining. You have to read the whole thing to get answer to the questions. The characters are fun and Charlie is my kind of girl.
    Tanya Huff always makes me laugh with her humor. So if you want to read something to relax with on a rainy day or lazing by the pool you won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    cast of characters

    the plot was good, but I LOVE all the characters I hope this is a series!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    Excellent -great read.

    I couldn't put it down once I started. I hope she continues this as a series. It would be great to know what happens with everyone. Lots of potential for other stories. Very magical--fantastic, but somehow very believable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Huff creates a new world with very interesting characters

    This 'family' develops by hints and tidbits. A mixture or witches and perhaps druids, They are adults who joke about each other but love each other.
    There ARE sinister things going on. She can build the suspense craftily, and love her brand of humor, and her dragonlords!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read!

    I enjoy Tanya Huff's writing style, and this book is packed with intriguing ideas. The Gale family, their magic, their relationships, are all fascinating.

    Even though I liked the main character and the story line, I found myself getting a bit annoyed at the constant repetition of how scary the Aunties are supposed to be. I got it in the first chapter. And the second. And the third...

    Still, a fun read! If you're a fan, you'll love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book was a complete joy to find. The author took me to a whole new world of magic. Please keep writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Did I miss something...?

    I really enjoyed The Enchantment Emporium. I found the characters fun and interesting and the situation fairly original. The plot was reletively unpredictable - I was suprised at least twice by plot twists - and I found the in-joke Sci Fi references funny. However, the whole time I was reading I felt as if there was something I missed. Was this book two of a series? Had there been a short story I hadn't known about? NOTHING about the world is explained. Most of it you can pick up from context, although it's often 50 pages later that an obscure magical factiod becomes clear. Honestly, the lack of exposition was kind of refreshing, but slightly unnerving. Still, worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchantment Emporium was wonderful

    If you've read Summon the Keeper, or actually any of Tanya Huff's
    books and loved them, I think you willo also love Enchanment Emporium!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Disgusting

    Gay and lesbian alert! Huff patterns virtually all of her characters after herself, making them entirely unbelievable. In the real world, lady, it's a rare person who is bisexual. In these books, that's the very repusive norm.

    Books with this kind of content should have it explicitly stated in the overview.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Found a new author (ok only new to me) and in love!!!!

    Love this book can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    eager for more

    eager for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great read!

    Make sure you pay attention from the beginning because there is a lot going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Good humor fun with romance

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Escapist fun, eh?

    Sign me up for the next book! Reminds me of DeLint a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    I haven't read Huff's books for a while and thought I would try her again. I'm glad I did. This book has everything: humor, suspense, and lots of fun.
    I'll be looking for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Excellent read

    This was purchased as a travel book since I have read Tanya Huff before. I finished it the same day since it was such a good read. I did miss having background on how the witches got their skills. Alysha's brother David ended up playing a major unexplained part at the end. I do hope this is book 1 of a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EHCOES OF THE 'SUMMON THE KEEPER' SERIES

    I've read nearly all of Tanya Huff's books and although some are better than others, all of them are very good fantasy reads. She has a great sense of humor and writes her characters with effortless dialog. That said, I was surprised to feel that I was slightly disappointed in The Enchantment Emporium. It's a good story, but I kept feeling that I was reading the second book in a series; that I had missed a couple chapters of character explanation. If I hadn't read deLint's Greenmantle or read stories of the Green Man, parts of the story would have baffled me. Ms. Huff sets up the ending for a sequel, which I would buy without hesitation. If you are a Huff fan already, you'll be satisfied with Enchantment Emporium, if only because good contemporary urban fantasy is a gift to the reader. But.........if you are just starting out reading fantasy or Tanya Huff's books, read Summon the Keeper or the Blood Books first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Book from Tanya Huff!

    This was a great new book from Ms. Huff. I have read just about all her series from space science fiction to "urban fantasy". Her strong female characters and exciting and original plot lines keep me coming back for more. This most recent foray into urban fantasy hits a home run. The relationship between family members is to say the least 'non-traditional'. I hope we get to read more about the Calgary branch of the Gale family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ms. Huff is at the top of her game with this thrilling winner.

    The Gale brood can be called witches, but actually are something much more. Their magic spells come in the form of charms and are so powerful they can change future events events. The Aunties run the family, but the Cousins allow them their belief but not the control. -----------------

    After Alysha Gale loses her research grant, she is at loose ends while wishing to escape from her Aunties who demand control of her life. When her Gran writes her informing her she is dead and that she bequeathed her junk store The Enchantment Emporium, Alysha travels to Calgary to look at the shop. The first person she meets in the store is Joe the Leprechaun. She soon is stalked by an assassin who is blood bonded to a sorcerer (evil witch). Alysha concludes the shop services the local fey community. SWhen Alysha learns just how much trouble is brewing in Calgary, even calling in the family to help may not be enough to save the day. Graham the assassin is assigned to keep Alysha out of his master's business, but his feelings for her are that of man towards the woman he cherishes. She feels the same way about her him. However he has a task to kill whatever crosses through the portal and Aly stops him from completing his mission. She must deal with the sorcerer while he must deal with what his love for Aly will do to him.-------------

    Tanya Huff has writeen a fantastic urban fantasy reminiscent of her Keeper's Chronicles. The support cast is great; one of the best in recent memory, as they are quirky yet deadly and determined to save the world. There are plenty of surprising spins in THE ENCHANTMENT EMPORIUM that explain why witches and sorceresses fight to the death when they meet. The lead couple holds all this together as they struggle with a forbidden love at a time of pandemic crisis. Ms. Huff is at the top of her game with this thrilling winner.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5