Customer Reviews for

Enchantments

Average Rating 3
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Enchantments is an excellent book. From the perspective of Rasputin's daughter, one gets an excellent glimpse of the last days of the last Russian Czar, Nicholas and his family. The writer says true to history while coloring the characters as interesting, engaging and t...
Enchantments is an excellent book. From the perspective of Rasputin's daughter, one gets an excellent glimpse of the last days of the last Russian Czar, Nicholas and his family. The writer says true to history while coloring the characters as interesting, engaging and true to life.
If you have any interest in the back drop to Russian communism, I highly recommend this book.

posted by 8106764 on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wanted to like it

I have been looking forward to the release of this book for a while. I hate to say it, but I could not even finish it (made it to about page 160). I finish everything, for the record. I found this book very hard to follow. The conversation between Masha and Alyosha was ...
I have been looking forward to the release of this book for a while. I hate to say it, but I could not even finish it (made it to about page 160). I finish everything, for the record. I found this book very hard to follow. The conversation between Masha and Alyosha was boring,and their relationship odd. Some of the history is accurate, but the main story line with Masha is not. I found myself fact checking to see if some of the stories told had any truth. I felt the book was all over the place. I gave it one star, because it inspired me to research more about the enigmatic life of Rasputin.

posted by AngieJG on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Enchantments is an excellent book. From the perspective of Rasputin's daughter, one gets an excellent glimpse of the last days of the last Russian Czar, Nicholas and his family. The writer says true to history while coloring the characters as interesting, engaging and true to life.
    If you have any interest in the back drop to Russian communism, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Unlike any other book I've read

    I loved this book- recounting the final days of the Romanov Empire, beautifully written like a fairy tale for adults. The story is told by the surviving daughter of Rasputin, and explores her romantic relationship with the tsarevich, Alexander. It is both historic and magical, packed with wonderful details of this amazing time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I wanted to like it

    I have been looking forward to the release of this book for a while. I hate to say it, but I could not even finish it (made it to about page 160). I finish everything, for the record. I found this book very hard to follow. The conversation between Masha and Alyosha was boring,and their relationship odd. Some of the history is accurate, but the main story line with Masha is not. I found myself fact checking to see if some of the stories told had any truth. I felt the book was all over the place. I gave it one star, because it inspired me to research more about the enigmatic life of Rasputin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Bedroom

    Wooh!~Ree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Made Me Drowsy

    I gave this book the ol' college try. I suppose it's just one of those that is not for me. It made me really drowsy when I would read it. I see no point to the story at page 70-something. Bummer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Each story that

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings
    Each story that Masha told Alyosha built the history of their parents and their country and then the end happened where they told of the fall of Alyosha's father and family.  I am so thankful that the author added Alyosha's journal to complete the story, so the reader wasn't left wondering about the details that occurred once Masha and Alyosha were separated.  I definitely wondered throughout the book what I could note was historically accurate and what was fiction - I love when a book keeps me guessing.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    OK for a quick read

    Not quite what I expected.....but well written. I was looking for more history of that period in time. Interesting to read about Raspution's daughters and their relationship with the Tsar and his family after their father's death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Quite possibly the worst book I have read.

    I was not at all impressed with this book. I know that people rave about Enchantments, but honestly, it creeped me out. The book started out ok. Alyosha and Masha forming a friendship, but it went downhill quickly after that.

    Masha gives quite detailed renditions of her father, Rasputin’s, sex life multiple times throughout the book. Very creepy. Why would a daughter be privileged to this kind of knowledge? All I know was that if the point of this book was to make me think even worse about Rasputin, then it served it’s purpose.

    Then there was the whole part about Masha and Alyosha and his trying to have sex with her, actually frequently pushing himself on her when they were both super young! Creepy. Oh and did I mention that when he was separated from Masha he just turned to a girl who was super slutty and a bit older than him but who wanted the opportunity to have sex with the “future tsar.” He then had sex (frequently) with her and described it in very vibrant details. Eww gross.

    Next you have the end of the story where Masha describes multiple times, in detail about how her husband, who her father wanted her to marry, frequently rapes her. Just peachy.

    I really have nothing positive to say about this story, I wasted my time reading it. I wish I had never done so. It gave me nightmares for several days anytime I even thought about how disturbing it was.

    This book is NOT appropriate for kids under 18. This is 100% an adult book, even though the characters are kids.

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist parents and teachers in recommending appropriate books for your kids to read.

    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Becca

    Ash..... who do u like?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Beatiful love stories

    One main story line told through multiple timelines nd charracters-I wanted it to go on, but what else is there to tell? Imaginitively told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1