Customer Reviews for

Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective (Encyclopedia Brown Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Encyclopedia Brown is still a good choice

My 9 and 11 year old grandsons enjoy Encyclopedia Brown books. The books are fun to read, but they also make them think about different situations. And I like that it's a series of books, making shopping easier for me. I remember buying Encyclopedia Brown books for my s...
My 9 and 11 year old grandsons enjoy Encyclopedia Brown books. The books are fun to read, but they also make them think about different situations. And I like that it's a series of books, making shopping easier for me. I remember buying Encyclopedia Brown books for my son over 20 years ago! Some books (like these) never go out of style.

posted by GCandy on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

StarClan

Spread the word: gathering at the gathering by kelly armstrong tomorrow at 6:30 eastern time.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Derrekmarra

    Loveit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Good books, maybe not "cool enough" for today's generation.

    My brother loved these as a kid, 20 years ago. My 9 year old read one story and has not picked it up since. Too bad. I remember this being a really good series. If your kid isn't too caught up in the technology age or doesn't care for "action", this might be a good choice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Good

    A nice story. It's pretty cool how it asks you to solve the mystery at the end of each chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Wonderful story for reluctant readers

    My son loved these stories when he was young, I bought this book so that I could introduce Encyclopedia Brown to my 8 year old grandson, with the hope that he'll enjoy the story as much as his Dad did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    ????????

    What are you guys talking about

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Cora

    Cora loves it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    STARTAIL

    I would love to be sweetkit please

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    To weepingstar

    Congrats on the clan. I am the creator of the champs clan. If you would like to join, tell your favorite person if percy jackson.- #1bearsfan creator of champs clan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Wobderful

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    jfsbgvs

    a xssd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Easy read - lots of fun!

    My 7-year-old son liked it - it is his 3rd favorite series, right behind Percy Jackson

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Only a couple of errors in the ebook.

    Overall a great representation of the paperback...only a couple of errors in the ebook:

    1. A page from a chapter in the middle of the book appears at the beginning of the book as well as its intended location.
    2. Two words in "The Case of the Happy Nephew" are missing the last letter of the word.
    3. There is no chapter marking for the solutions. You have to page over to them after the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for Young Boys

    The whole Encylopedia series is a fun adventure for boys. It has action and adventure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Boy Detective And Others

    I loved this book, especially the case of the civil war sword, and Merko's grandson, and the champion egg spinner. Here are some other books in the Encyclopedia Brown series I have read: 1-Boy Detective, 2-The Case of the Secret Pitch, 5-Solves Them All, 6-Keeps The Peace, 7-Saves The Day, 11-Lends A Hand, 12-The Case of the Dead Eagles, 13-The Case of the Midnight Visitor, 16-The Case of the Mysterious Handprints, 17-The Case of the Treasure Hunt, 18-The Case of the Disgusting Sneakers, 19-The Case of the Two Spies. Judging by the time span that the books were written over, Encyclopedia should be 49 now! He never ages! My younger brothers also enjoy these books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    This Book Rules!!

    READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4