Customer Reviews for

Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective (Encyclopedia Brown Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Encyclopedia Brown is still a good choice

My 9 and 11 year old grandsons enjoy Encyclopedia Brown books. The books are fun to read, but they also make them think about different situations. And I like that it's a series of books, making shopping easier for me. I remember buying Encyclopedia Brown books for my s...
My 9 and 11 year old grandsons enjoy Encyclopedia Brown books. The books are fun to read, but they also make them think about different situations. And I like that it's a series of books, making shopping easier for me. I remember buying Encyclopedia Brown books for my son over 20 years ago! Some books (like these) never go out of style.

posted by GCandy on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

StarClan

Spread the word: gathering at the gathering by kelly armstrong tomorrow at 6:30 eastern time.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Encyclopedia Brown is still a good choice

    My 9 and 11 year old grandsons enjoy Encyclopedia Brown books. The books are fun to read, but they also make them think about different situations. And I like that it's a series of books, making shopping easier for me. I remember buying Encyclopedia Brown books for my son over 20 years ago! Some books (like these) never go out of style.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it as a child

    I loved this series as a child, and I was thrilled to introduce it to my 8 year old. He is going around looking for mysteries now! A great - quick read for kids!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    You Too Can Be Encyclopedia Brown

    In Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective, Encyclopedia Brown is an 11 year old boy who knows a lot more than I do, and we are the same age. He lives in a normal sized city called Idaville. His dad is the chief of police department in Idaville. Encyclopedia likes to help his dad with his cases. The town thinks his dad is the best policeman when actually it is the work of his son. My favorite quote from Encyclopedia Brown Boy Detective is, ¿He was like a complete library walking around in sneakers.¿ I like this quote because it describes Encyclopedia Brown so well. It makes me think that he knows everything but he is just a boy in sneakers that could be playing football with me at recess. There are 10 cases in the book that Encyclopedia Brown solves. At the end of each case, it tells you to go to a certain page in the back of the book to see how Encyclopedia solved the case. It is so cool to see how he thought through the events that happened and then decide how to solve the case. I have three favorite cases in this book. In the first one, The Case of the Civil War Sword, a boy named Peter Brown wants to trade a bike for a sword that might have been used in the Civil War. Encyclopedia Brown looked at the sword and says it might be worth twenty bikes if it was given to Stonewall Jackson. This case is hard because I have to find out things about the Civil War so I can see if it is really worth Peter¿s bike. In the second case, The Case of the Bank Robber, the problem is why they can¿t charge a robber for robbery because he only had a loaf of bread in his sack. A robber and a blind man beggar collided on the sidewalk after the bank had been robbed, then began to roll down the street after. I like this case because I did not think that all that the robber stole was a loaf of bread, so I got fooled. While I read this case, I thought that the blind man was not really blind. This case was hard because when the answer key told me the answer, I didn¿t think that it was even possible. I like Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective because every case I read makes me want to solve the problem. I get to be Encyclopedia and solve the mystery myself. Like in the case of the Bank Robber, I have to find out how Encyclopedia Brown knows who did it. I recommend that you read this book because it is exciting. It never gets boring because each case is short and then it is on to a new case. Also, after I read this book, it encouraged me to read more Encyclopedia Brown books and there are lots of them to choose from.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Great with errars

    Pretty good but in order to get to the solotions you have to scroll through the last chapter to readthem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    How to be a detective if you are 10 years old

    This is the first book in the Encyclopedia Brown 28 book series. I read it as research for my novel. I've seen these books for years at the bookstore where I used to work and at libraries. They are all short chapter books recommended for readers aged 7 and up.

    Pretty good. Each chapter concerns a mystery case solved by the well-read and logical thinker Encyclopedia Brown, who is 10. His real name is Leroy but everyone except his parents and teachers call him by his nickname because his "head was like an encyclopedia. It was filled with facts he had learned from books. He was like a complete library walking around in sneakers."

    Mr Brown, his father, is the chief of police for their small town. Idaville, in this first book, is typical for the mid 60s. Kids ride all around on their bikes and are allowed to roam about after dark. After Encyclopedia helps his father solve a puzzling case, using observation and logic in the style of Sherlock Holmes, he decides to go into the detective business himself.

    He makes up handbills (now there is an old term) and a sign, charges 25¢ per day (plus expenses) and eventually takes on a bodyguard and junior partner named Sally Kimbal.

    At the end of each chapter, after the mystery has been solved, are the words HOW DID ENCYCLOPEDIA KNOW THIS? or some variation of that question. The reader is directed to a page in the back of the book for the solution. Of course, I tried to figure out each one on my own first and I imagine a young reader would do the same.

    I wonder if Donald Sobol updates the environment as the series progresses. The 28th book was published in 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Good books, maybe not "cool enough" for today's generation.

    My brother loved these as a kid, 20 years ago. My 9 year old read one story and has not picked it up since. Too bad. I remember this being a really good series. If your kid isn't too caught up in the technology age or doesn't care for "action", this might be a good choice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Easy read - lots of fun!

    My 7-year-old son liked it - it is his 3rd favorite series, right behind Percy Jackson

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1