BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Encyclopedia of Country Living: An Old Fashioned Recipe Book

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Best Book for Homesteading

    If you could only buy ONE book that would tell you just about everything you need to know about gardening, farming, and food preservation and many other topics this would be it. Jam packed with information and sprinkled with personal stories this is one of the best books that I have ever read. I bought this book shortly after borrowing one from the library and I use it over and over again. This would be the perfect gift for someone who is just starting out their own farm or just wants to be more self sufficient in their life. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Absolutely Outstanding!

    For anyone who plans to 'move back to the land' or if your already there, this book is a must! It will teach you everything you need to know on country living as if you have your grandpa or grandma at your side, showing you how to do it. I loved it and I can't wait to try EVERYTHING in this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Love It

    Seems I have been waiting a lifetime for this book. I wanted it when Carla put in her first add, but with 6 kids I had other things we needed more. I bought two one for me and one for my daughter. She was thrilled. I still wish I had that original the copy I wanted way back in the 70's though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    The answer to all things country

    This book by Carla is a great starter for all who want to get started in country living. A "How To" for just about everything from animal husbandry to gardening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    pleased

    this book has proven to be practical for me. what I haven't yet used, I found to be at least interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Every library should have a copy!

    This book is about living in the country,but it is so much more! I don't know a single person who would not benefitt from something in it. In a crisis it could not only make the difference between life and death but would allow you to live well with extremely limited resources!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    If you own a house, have kids, animals you NEED this book

    Thisis with out a doubt one of the best books you could ever have for your home. It will not only give your easy to follow directions from making homemade doughs and food goods, but will also tell you how to care for the animals and plants from where they come from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    I have the loose paper version printed on the 'Living Room Mimeographer'

    I love this book and refer to it often. It is my mother-in-law's and I won't give it back to her. I love it so much that I went online to find another copy, only to find out that it is now an actual bound and professionally printed book. Our copy is on bright colored paper bound up in an old notebook. I can't wait until my new copy arrives and I show it to my mother-in-law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    With this book even a city girl can go country

    In 1976 I moved to rural Pennsylvania with my husband and 4 small children. My sister gave me this book and boy did it get used. You see my husband was only home 2x per month but he thought we should have all kinds of livestock and a big garden. This book became my bible. It taught me everything I needed to know about putting food by and taking care of livestock. All the info was very easy to understand and the author's way of presenting the info is very entertaining. I am now buying this book again. We had a fire and my original copy was lost. I still want to be able to use it as a reference. It seems everytime I open it I learn something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2