Customer Reviews for

The End Is Now

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent upcoming author

    Stennett, a rising author gaining quick popularity in the Christian subculture because of his tongue and cheek approach to subjects that are often treated with both pious reserve and outright disdain has given the rapture a humorous twist. Here, God is seen as somewhat of a businessman, seeking to create a test market for the rapture. Goodland, in many ways has a similar local make-up of what one would expect in a Coen Brothers film, and although it's not quite as dark as Fargo, it still retains the same situational humor brought out by the interconnection of Midwest American culture. Stennett's almost satirical approach to the apocalypse, and how it affects people from all sorts of theological and philosophical perspectives is in many ways more effective as a catalyst toward enabling people to reflect on their own views and incorporate a larger perspective on the matter than straightforward dogmatic texts can be. In many ways, the text shows the absurdity, not of the rapture itself, but of people's responses to it. At the same time, there are many references that will only be humorous to people within the subculture, as much of the satire is contextual. For those who are not Christians, it can be an interesting book in that it will show many of the intricacies of a complex and dysfunctional group of people that make up about 25% of America. Also, although this is an adult book, Stennett switches from person to person as the main character of each chapter. Will takes the forefront a lot, which can potentially put this text in a hybrid between adult and young adult literature. -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary.com.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

    No text was provided for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Worth buying!

    I got The End is Now as a free download, so I think the least I owe the author is a review.

    Long story short, I loved it. It is reminiscent of some of Stephen King's best works, or maybe Frank Peretti's Visitation, which start with an average town, find a way to isolate it, and then have something incredible happen. The results not only define the book's characters, but also speak to the human condition.

    This book will especially resonate with people who grew up in church; though I think anyone will enjoy it. It is witty, insightful-sometimes irreverent-but also just plain awesome. It is a character driven work (as the chapter titles clearly reinforce) which could've been boring or slow. However, I didn't find that to be the case at all. The extensive backstory is interesting and spot on in so many places. It reads fast. And the ending is perfect!

    The End is Now is well worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How would I behave at the end of the world?

    That is a frighting preponderance and one I hope that I never have to answer. I was fascinated by this book, the reactions that people had on different levels and what happened to the family. I had a difficult time believing that so many people were able to suspend their belief in the everyday and follow the little boy who brought this on. I for one, even being a Christian, would have been very cautious of false prophets. That was my only problem with the book. I think that this book is VERY good for group discussion. I would like to actually do this at my church.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Page-turner with great characters, cinematic storytelling

    The feel of this story is best summed up by the author's tongue-in-cheek epilogue, wherein he thanks the future cast of the movie that would be made from the book.

    This suits the story, one surrounding a family struggling with everyday turmoil, that builds to an epic climax (albeit a small-town epic) with close friends turned enemies and reasonable folk becoming cruel, blood-thirsty mobs.

    Perhaps most powerful (and what prevents clichés from taking over) is the way the characters are developed: with believable, even relatable, internal conversations of self-doubt and monumental pride and confidence in questionable goals.

    I especially liked the jump-cut like "scenes" that keep you deeply engaged to the story and individuals, rather than long monologues or third-person commentary that would have threatened to become preachy. I could see certain non-crucial details that the story relies on for comedic relief being lost on some readers who may not have a Christian background, though I think they could share that very trait with the father featured prominently in the storyline.

    I have intentionally avoided the rapture/apocalypse/Bible code literature that has become popular with religious types in the last several years, as their premises are weak and what I tried to read revealed one-dimensional characters with uninspired storytelling. Though it may share the topic, this book stands apart.

    And it even dares to tell a story that CONCLUDES at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The End Might Be Sooner Thank You Think

    "Goodland, Kansas, is the test market for the rapture. The ultimate warning sign for all to repent," That's what the locals feel they are anyway.

    "..Once everyone sees how powerful the rapture is, they will hit the floor and repent of their sins. Everyone, everywhere, will know the truth. Not only that, but this event will provide God a chance to see what worked and what didn't. He can watch the good, the bad, and the ugly of the apocalypse so He can know how to improve it when He takes it global."

    I don't know about you but this is funny stuff!! Rob Stennett takes a serious subject many talk about all over the world and puts a "what if" scenario to it. He reminds me of a comedian Steven Wright who said, "I received a post card from my friend. It was a picture of the whole world. My friend wrote, "Wish you were here!". Steven says, "I thought I was!"

    This book also reminds me of Eli, a story written by Bill Myers, that entertains the scenario of, 'what if Jesus were to be born for the first time in our generation.' Sad to say the same things would happen to Jesus, maybe just happen a little sooner in this generation because of instant communication.

    Rob got me thinking about some questions he brought up in, The End is Now. How would we know the end was here? What would it look like? Why has Goodland, Kansas felt that they were the test market for the rapture? This author says stuff out loud-and in print, that we would never dare verbalize to our friends (or anyone else for that matter).

    As you read and start smiling then laughing, you'll be caught off guard by some definite things to ponder- things you hadn't thought of before about the end. For example, "God didn't need the test market for the rapture. After all, He is God. He already knows everything. He was, is, and forever will be omnipotent.. Maybe the testing was more for all of us. This is the age of skepticism. This is the age where the answers to any of life's questions are just a Google search away. So, perhaps humankind will need a sneak preview of what the rapture looks like so they can know how to respond." And ready their hearts (I added the last comment).

    I can now see why God will NOT tell us exactly when the END will happen - we just could not take it. It is way more information than the human race can handle. Thanks Rob, for taking me away into a scenario I haven't thought much about--until now. It just goes to show me that my Father in Heaven loves me so much, wants the best for me; which means He's keeping his mouth shut about the exact moment the END will happen. Rob, I appreciate you making me laugh, look at life, relationships and what's really important. We're here to do more than sleep walk through life. Each chapter in this book is from a different characters point of view on their take as to what is really happening in Goodland Kansas. It's a hoot!! You just have to read this book. So, grab a copy and read about The End! It just might give you the nudge you need to really start living your life. You won't be sorry you did.

    Book Club Servant Leader
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1