Customer Reviews for

End in Tears (Chief Inspector Wexford Series #20)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Gina

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Not Up to Ruth Rendell's Usual Standards

    Ruth Rendell had a great idea for End in Tears, and it held my interest until the very end, where it completely fell apart. Inspector Wexford and her other characters were well-drawn, as usual, and interesting, but the "solution" was so unbelievable, contrived, and weak that it spoiled the book for me. It was very compelling up until that point, and I couldn't put it down. What a disappointment! I have read nearly all of Ruth Rendell's books, and this ending was not up to her usual high standards. I especially recommend Speaker of Mandarin, From Doon with Death, and Sins of the Fathers, all by Ruth Rendell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Ruth Rendell is the All-Time Greatest!

    It's incredibly difficult to choose just one Ruth Rendell novel as a favorite, because they are all so wonderful! End in Tears is flawlessly written, captivating and disturbing. I get so excited when Rendell (and her alter-ego Barbara Vine) puts out another book that I rush out to buy it, turn off the phone and settle in for the weekend. This novel definately delivers; when I turned the final page and read the last paragraph I just sat, stunned.
    If you like her style, I would also recommend: Acid Row, the Devil's Feather, and the Shape of Snake by Minette Walters. Also, you may like Morag Joss, Anita Shreve and Alexander McCall Smith. Under the name Barbara Vine, I loved The Brimstone Wedding, A Fatal Inversion, and A Dark-Adapted Eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner from Ruth Rendell - especially sensitive to us "old folks"

    This is a mystery with characters who are relevant and fascinating to all ages. Ruth Rendell manages to include us all in her tale and also shows a poignant understanding of the social challenges we all have to deal with. The mystery is challenging and the solution somewhat surprising - but shouldn't be...Strongly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    another winner with wexford

    Everyone loves a British whodunit, especially when it comes from the redoubtable pen of Ruth Rendell. This is the 20th story with Inspector General Reg Wexford as the lead character, and time hasn't dimmed his appeal. He may not be a hero to his younger colleagues at the Kingsmarkham police station in Sussex but he is to millions of listeners/readers throughout the world. One reason for his popularity may be his accessability - it's a struggle for him to follow doctor's orders, a losing battle to make him exercise regularly, he has problems with his daughter, and he's not very good at avoiding temptation, although he does sit on his hands when in a pub to avoid the tempting bowl of cashew nuts. As in previous tales he is accompanied by friend and fellow officer Mike Burden. End In Tears focuses on the killing of two young women. At first the deaths seem unrelated. In the initial fatality a hunk of concrete was shoved off an overpass onto a car beneath. Months pass and then another murder - Amber Marshalson is cruelly, almost sadistically beaten to death late at night as she returns from a round of nightspots. Her killer was seen waiting for her, but not identified. Investigation reveals that Amber was driving her car directly behind the car that was crushed. Further, the two cars closely resembled each other. It is also learned that the two women had traveled to Germany together. Burden immediately assumes that drugs are somehow involved. Wexford thinks otherwise. It is now obvious that someone had gone to great lengths to make sure that Amber was dead. But, who and why? Broadway, television and cinema actor Daniel Gerroll has an impressive list of appearances to his credit, including the films Chariots of Fire, Big Business, and 84 Charing Cross Road. British by birth he has a deft way with accents. Gerroll has the voice for this Sussex based mystery. He delivers his tale with polish and just enough world-weariness for the often perplexed Wexford. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Wonderfully complex whodunit.

    As usual with Rendell, she has presented exciting and well rounded characters. Unlike many authors, Rendell provides depth to not only her protagonist, Wexford, but to the other members of his investigative team, creating a very realistic atmosphere. The plot is complex with numerous twists and an unexpected red herring. The lack of use of current technology that most police have available is the only issue that kept the ranking to 4 stars. In all other respects, End in Tears is an exciting and beautifully constructed work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1