Customer Reviews for

The End of Everything

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Innocence Lost

Lizzie and Evie have been friends their entire lives. They share everything, from clothes to sports to thoughts and secrets. They have carved out places in sports, equaling the boys on that playing field.

Now, at 13, everything is changing. They watch Evie's 16 year...
Lizzie and Evie have been friends their entire lives. They share everything, from clothes to sports to thoughts and secrets. They have carved out places in sports, equaling the boys on that playing field.

Now, at 13, everything is changing. They watch Evie's 16 year old sister as she blossoms into a beautiful and feminine being, and her effect on the males in the neighborhood. The boys, other kids, adults, families, or perhaps it is their perception, their awareness that is changing.

Lizzie realizes that Evie is changing, as she herself is, too. Their discussions and secrets have taken on new tones, new topics. When Evie disappears suddenly, Lizzie still feels the connection and a responsibility to find her friend. Her bond with Evie's family gives her strength, but is also a source of mixed comfort and pain.

Lizzie has many revelations and grows up in unexpected ways in Evie's absence. She realizes things about Evie, herself, and the ways of the world. These things drive her to find Evie, but they also put an end to many things that she felt, believed, and thought she knew.

Megan Abbott has written a book that explores the frightening dark side of adolescence, regarding sexuality and what is the end of innocence. The truth is that when we lose our innocence, we lose our childhood.

posted by McGuffyAnn on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the time!!

This book was LONG and drawn out. I read a lot and it took me forever to finish this book. I finished it because I try to finish every book I read, not because I wanted to find out what happened. The premise of a child being open to such violation, and her best frien...
This book was LONG and drawn out. I read a lot and it took me forever to finish this book. I finished it because I try to finish every book I read, not because I wanted to find out what happened. The premise of a child being open to such violation, and her best friend longing for the attention - just seemed ridiculous to me.

posted by LibraDiva on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Innocence Lost

    Lizzie and Evie have been friends their entire lives. They share everything, from clothes to sports to thoughts and secrets. They have carved out places in sports, equaling the boys on that playing field.

    Now, at 13, everything is changing. They watch Evie's 16 year old sister as she blossoms into a beautiful and feminine being, and her effect on the males in the neighborhood. The boys, other kids, adults, families, or perhaps it is their perception, their awareness that is changing.

    Lizzie realizes that Evie is changing, as she herself is, too. Their discussions and secrets have taken on new tones, new topics. When Evie disappears suddenly, Lizzie still feels the connection and a responsibility to find her friend. Her bond with Evie's family gives her strength, but is also a source of mixed comfort and pain.

    Lizzie has many revelations and grows up in unexpected ways in Evie's absence. She realizes things about Evie, herself, and the ways of the world. These things drive her to find Evie, but they also put an end to many things that she felt, believed, and thought she knew.

    Megan Abbott has written a book that explores the frightening dark side of adolescence, regarding sexuality and what is the end of innocence. The truth is that when we lose our innocence, we lose our childhood.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Book nerd

    I read this book and i dearly fell in love with it!!!!!! I got it from my local libary and took it to school everyday my teachers where soo suprise that i wouldnt put it down, i would soooo recomend it !!! It will keep you guessing to the end!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting

    This book was not what I expected. Coming from the excellent, but far more standard thriller The Last Child by John Hart, I was surprised and even disturbed at the depths of brutal honesty our narrator, 13 year old Lizzie, will go. Her best friend and near twin Evie disappears one day after school. Lizzie thinks she saw a car. Soon she is investigating on her own, but this is not the story of a young gumshoe. As she inserts herself into the grieving family of her friend, we learn that not everything is what it seems... or even what Lizzie thinks it seems. A profoundly disturbing look at the dangers young women face on the verge of womanhood, and a story that will defy your attempts to predict its outcome.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting

    I really don't want to give anything about this book away, so I apologize for being vague. All I can say is that there were several events, decisions, and actions in this book that made me so anxious that I had to stop reading and talk to my cat about it. I usually don't discuss books with my cat so this was monumental behavior on my part. At times my anxiety and frustration levels were so high that I didn't know if I could finish the book at all. This author really knows how to write a compelling story and I will definitely be reading more of her work.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    recommeded

    Loved the book and the story line - well written..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Really Good

    This book was really good-couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amazing

    The best book i have ever read. I couldn't put it down!





    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Not worth the time!!

    This book was LONG and drawn out. I read a lot and it took me forever to finish this book. I finished it because I try to finish every book I read, not because I wanted to find out what happened. The premise of a child being open to such violation, and her best friend longing for the attention - just seemed ridiculous to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtful

    Not my favorite book, but I didn't hate it either. Made me think about how I remember my 13th year and my best friend. This is a story that just makes you wonder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Nervous, Edgy and Highly Recommended

    I won't take you through the plot line. I'll tell you how it feels. Sometimes, no often, it's driven by a sexual obsessiveness. Edgy and lurid, it's impelled by a twitching nervousness, you can sense it, you can feel it, you're tempted, but you're not really sure what lies underneath it, but you know it's moving fast, and you're pretty sure, it's not going to end well. Other times, you say, its just a story about a young girl, trying to insert herself into things, trying to be smart, trying to be important, just trying to join in, crying out, "Look at me, I'm here", I'm here". But, the voice is too high pitched, too excited. I think a big step forward for Megan as an author. Although granted, it's not for everyone, Megan always teeters on the edge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Weird!

    Didn't enjoy this book at all. It seemed very odd. The only reason I finished it was to see if it came together, it didn't.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great beginning but then falls flat

    I was totally drawn into this book, but the ending was very anticlimactic and disappoiting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2